Deluxe Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Deluxe Entertainment Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 593 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Deluxe Entertainment CEO John Wallace (no image)
John Wallace
172 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Professional and Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    The company provides lots of resources including food, drinks, supplies for every task. Well equipped facility for most needs. Friendly co-workers and professional admin.

    Cons

    Located in an area that can feel unsafe to travel around in at night.

    Deluxe Entertainment2019-01-20
  2. "The review you'll want to read - Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deluxe Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If we do well, we get rewarded. Those who complain are typically the ones who don't do well, and are still kept on the teams. Just got our yearly merit increases, extremely fair, in my opinion at least. Yes, it's standard in this industry for there to be long hours (this happens one week every 3-4 months or whenever a movie is being released). I completely understand that this is not up to Stereo D and out of their... hands, their clients work hard on movies and provide a week or so to return a movie quickly, so the hours get long in order to finish them. But it was worth seeing our names on the credits of Avengers End Game! When this crunch time happens, I find the company does whatever is in their control to make it as fun and bearable as possible (free food, games, meditation, etc). I love that about them. We also have our managers stay overnight with us, not because they have to, but because they want to be there with us. They do so much to help in an industry that can have long hours for the artists. Also, it's mainly the artists that require long hours once in a while, if you are looking for other positions, the hours are standard. They have free breakfast daily. The people are incredible. I cannot be happier with everyone who works here. Yes, there are the ones that complain, but I try to avoid it as I find they are typically the ones who aren't working on par and are not understanding how much the company is doing that's in their control for the employees. The growth happens very quickly here if you want it and work for it as we all should in any position. Anyway, I couldn't be happier with Stereo D and Deluxe.

    Show More

    Cons

    My advice would be for those who complain for not getting a high merit increase, or not growing into other roles: There are way too many employees here that do grow quickly and get high increases, so if you don't, don't blame everything and everyone else, try to analyze why and improve yourself. The management really recognizes when this happens.

    Advice to Management

    The management have an overall great vision and really care about the culture of this company. Any large company have their complainers, but the managers recognize and aim to grow the employees that contribute to the positive culture. That's what every company should do.

    Deluxe Entertainment2019-06-12
  3. "Paint/Composite Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paint/Composite Artist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deluxe Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They want everyone be happy while working there. They provide fruit/snacks weekly, and dinner for crunch time.

    Cons

    Pays are not good. Almost no merit increase no matter how hard you work.

    Deluxe Entertainment2019-04-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    the work-life balance is good

    Cons

    low pay, lots of lays off and restructuring

    Deluxe Entertainment2019-01-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the people were amazing to work with, from all over the world. Interesting work. Local office tried to care.

    Cons

    Management were severely disconnected from the day to day. Copious amounts of overtime needed. Promotions were rare and took a long time for approval.

    Advice to Management

    Stop and listen to your employees. They have a wealth of knowledge that you are ignoring in chasing the bottom dollar, and losing them and the expertise they have, leaving you with more of a mess that is now impossible to fix.

    Deluxe Entertainment2019-01-04
  6. "Great Job, Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Really fun work with some great people from around the world.

    Cons

    Upper-management is too removed and unfamiliar with the day-to-day, leading to poor decision-making.

    Deluxe Entertainment2018-12-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and company but salaries can be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deluxe Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. The downtown location with direct access to the metro is super convenient. Very interesting and exciting industry.

    Cons

    Salaries are low compare to competitors and many employees have to do overtime so work life balance is somewhat of an issue

    Advice to Management

    Allow work from home when possible with vpn access. Allow flexibility in schedule and more benefits are needed in order to compensate for the lower salaries.

    Deluxe Entertainment2018-05-03
  8. "Lots of big egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, freebies, free parking

    Cons

    bad company culture, lots of big egos, elitism, micromanaging

    Advice to Management

    get off your high horse and actually listen

    Deluxe Entertainment2018-03-02
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Account Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Best colleagues ever! The atmosphere between colleagues was always really great. Interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great and there was very little opportunity for promotion unless working in the head office. Decisions from upper management were not communicated well. The adoption of new systems was done without consulting the people on the ground who would actually be using these systems.

    Deluxe Entertainment2018-01-19
  10. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Deluxe Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Management is mostly fair and easy to get along with. Liked the flexible hours

    Cons

    Would like to see more room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Hire within whenever you can.

    Deluxe Entertainment2017-12-16
Found 593 reviews