Deluxe Corporation Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 778 reviews

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Deluxe Corporation CEO Barry McCarthy
Barry McCarthy
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've only been with Deluxe for a few months now but the company is amazing(in 65 reviews)

  • "Good company, with good benefits(in 55 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing bad to say about Deluxe(in 67 reviews)

  • "Upper Management only cares about the almighty(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company, great people

      Feb 15, 2020 - Senior Quality Engineer in Waterloo, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, people, benefits, good employee rewards program. Leaders encourage people to learn new things and work on different challenging projects. Free lunch and fruits bi-weekly. Free pop and coffee. Monthly office events make it a fun and relax work environment. Leaders are very transparent in almost everything about the company. CEO has great vision for the future of the company.

      Cons

      Lots of meetings which sometimes interfere with real work done.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Closed now but was great

      Aug 12, 2020 - Developer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people, good pay, great work environment.

      Cons

      Huge workload and not enough people to handle it so extreme levels of stress. Closed down due to new CEO

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A decent place to work, but not a ton of upward mobility

      Oct 25, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home (depending on location) A relatively flat hierarchy Not overbearing A decent PTO amount if you've worked here for a while Friendly work environment Very rarely on call Decent work-life balance, as long as you set boundaries

      Cons

      Not a lot of upward mobility

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Deluxe Corporation Response

      Employment Brand Marketing Specialist

      We appreciate your recognition of our culture at Deluxe! We are proud to provide our employees with generous paid time off, volunteer time off and holiday leave. We are working hard on our internal mobility strategy so we can continue to move Deluxers into new roles and projects that offer career development and advancements.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company to Work for

      Sep 15, 2021 - Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid Benefits Package Inclusion/Diversity are encouraged Safe work environment promotes from within

      Cons

      while pay is reasonable at times, in other areas they are behind many companies when it comes to competitive salaries

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're a great employee, don't work here

      Oct 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you look hard enough, there are some smart and driven people.

      Cons

      Terrible work environment. No respect between internal teams. Managers are put to manage teams and don't understand what they actually do on a day-to-day basis and they aren't held accountable to actually learning it. There is zero culture. Decisions from upper management are only made to improve revenue. No accountability for bad work or bad attitudes. Zero formal training or learning. The only time you'll move up is when they dump extra work on you with no additional support or training and then they expect you to be appreciative.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love the work, but scared for my future

      Jul 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My managers stress work-family balance and provide reasonable accommodations for a variety of situations. I can't say that is the same in all departments, but it's been wonderful for me personally. The work is engaging and interesting. There are a lot of ways to further your career with learning opportunities, and there are so many amazing employee groups that encourage networking and socializing outside of your team.

      Cons

      3 years with no raise and way too long without a 401k match. A lot of employees quit because of this. Layoffs layoffs layoffs. Never know who's going to be next. There is a large portion of the employee base that has a "knowledge is power" mindset. This can make it very hard to learn new things or find information sometimes. These employees can be very catty to work with and make the work environment very unpleasant. There is a very heavy executive presence. The company feels very top heavy, with a lot of these VP's having titles that sound made up and unnecessary.

      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company

      Feb 22, 2021 - KEY CONTACT Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous Time Off, Good Work Environment

      Cons

      Some Communications difficulties between management and front line workers

      1 person found this review helpful

      Deluxe Corporation Response

      Employment Brand Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback in regard to your time at Deluxe! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed some of the many benefits we offer to our employees – generous PTO and strong company culture being two of them. We appreciate your consideration for better communication amongst management and front-line workers and will forward this information to our leaders to ensure this improves. We highly value our front-line workers at Deluxe, and it is important that those feelings are properly conveyed. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A good place to start. Marketers are the best rewarded staff

      Jan 20, 2021 - Project Architect in Lagos
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very big projects. A lot to learn.

      Cons

      Work environment is unstructured. Reward for staff asides marketers is not based on performance but relationships and internal politics.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Most people are great

      Oct 27, 2020 - Senior Manager, Product Management in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people trying to create interesting solutions.

      Cons

      Predominantly male work environment. Female voices are often discounted.

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible Company

      Jan 22, 2020 - Product Manager in Shoreview, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people to work with and depending on your job, can be a flexible work environment.

      Cons

      Benefits very average, terrible PTO, holiday schedule and 401k match compared to many companies (Deluxe does the bare minimum which shows how they treat employees), toxic work environment, management/leadership manages up not down, and people are very disposable. I knew with a few weeks I had made a career mistake. It is a revolving door of layoffs and people stab each other in the back to keep their job. Employees are "yes" people in fear of speaking up and that they will be next. The layoffs are constant and it's an unsettling environment. I saw it throughout the company, not just certain areas. And for people that had been there a long time, they coached me to keep my head down because of the layoffs and don't rock the boat. It's not a culture of being open and honest and sharing ideas. And the fact that the CEO prior to the one now called it "Fall Festival" which was the big layoffs in the fall was a huge sign on the culture. There are many companies in the Minneapolis area, this is one I wouldn't waste my time applying at. And even though there is a new CEO, he came in and wiped out hundreds and hundreds of employees and kept it under the radar by spreading it out over 5 months and doing small increments at a time. The list goes on and on.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Deluxe Corporation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Deluxe Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    Deluxe Corporation logo
    or