Deluxe Corporation Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 778 reviews

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Deluxe Corporation CEO Barry McCarthy
Barry McCarthy
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've only been with Deluxe for a few months now but the company is amazing(in 65 reviews)

  • "Good company, with good benefits(in 55 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing bad to say about Deluxe(in 67 reviews)

  • "Upper Management only cares about the almighty(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great colleagues, not so great management

      May 9, 2020 - Web Design 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My direct supervisors and all of my colleagues were wonderful. Work was easy.

      Cons

      Upper management was not great. No appreciation for the work you do. Long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A pretty good place to work

      Sep 18, 2019 - Logo Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good, staff are very friendly. Creative freedom.

      Cons

      Upper management don't know anything.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're a great employee, don't work here

      Oct 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you look hard enough, there are some smart and driven people.

      Cons

      Terrible work environment. No respect between internal teams. Managers are put to manage teams and don't understand what they actually do on a day-to-day basis and they aren't held accountable to actually learning it. There is zero culture. Decisions from upper management are only made to improve revenue. No accountability for bad work or bad attitudes. Zero formal training or learning. The only time you'll move up is when they dump extra work on you with no additional support or training and then they expect you to be appreciative.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not bad, but not great

      Jul 22, 2021 - PCI Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not a bad place to work if you end up on a good team. I was offered a competitive salary so the lack of pay raises that other more tenured employees have flagged hasn’t affected me yet. I have flexible hours, am able to work from home, and a manager who cares about keeping their employees happy. So a good place if you land in the right spot.

      Cons

      401k match still frozen. CEO and upper management seem aloof to employee concerns. I also started during the pandemic when everybody was remote and there was absolutely no virtual orientation for new employees to learn about the company, so I still can’t say I know what the office culture is like or what all the lines of business do.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Deluxe Corporation Response

      Employment Brand Marketing Specialist

      We appreciate you leaving feedback. The pandemic weighed heavy on our Deluxers, but we are excited to be in a position to bring back many of the benefits our employee-owners appreciate and deserve such as; 401(k) match, merit increases and YouShine recognition points. As you know, we are beginning to gradually transition our workforce to a hybrid model and are excited to give our Deluxers the opportunity to safely work face-to-face with colleagues again (or, for the first time!)

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Horrible - STOP OUTSOURCING JOBS!

      Jul 19, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home Nice employees Good 401K

      Cons

      After 20+ years of service, pay is NOT in line with other companies that offer a higher hourly rate for new employees...making years of service obsolete. In the last year, a ton of jobs have been outsourced to off shore countries, such as India and Dominican Republic. Employee years of service and skill set is NOT appreciated by upper management AT ALL. Hard to get time off. Minimal slots are given and you have to fight for days off. If you need one and it is not available, you get an absence. The point system for absences is ridiculous. Completely micromanaged environment. Changes to company guidelines are not considerate of employee needs. The systems they use, such as the point system for absences was changed recently and is VERY strict. Not only that, it was communicated a WEEK or less before the start date. This is not a family or a team oriented company. Everyone is just a number.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Ok Place to work

      Feb 4, 2021 - Senior IT Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Immediate Manager was the best I ever worked for

      Cons

      Upper Management only cares about the almighty $

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Deluxe Corporation Response

      Employment Brand Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your experience, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed working with your immediate manager at Deluxe. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible Company

      Dec 8, 2019 - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Lancaster, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sometimes there are bonuses if you meet the impossible sales goals.

      Cons

      Impossible to meet sales goals. Really poor benefits and wages. No work-life balance. Upper management is on a power-trip. HR Rep is rude and doesn't care. No opportunity for growth. Training is long and boring.

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Solid company - 5+ year employee review

      Nov 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have been here over 5 years and it's done very well for me. Was able to move from a basic inbound sales job and have had 3 pay grade promotions along with yearly salary increases. If you don't mind doing the same thing all day long inbound sales or customer service may be for you.

      Cons

      Very sales focused on the sales floor. Some disconnect between what upper management wants versus how it goes for sales reps and customer service reps. Not flexible at all with emergencies as they use a point system for absences.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Out of control as the company still struggles to determine direction.

      Sep 8, 2018 - Marketing in Shoreview, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary, benefits and and some good people.

      Cons

      Lack of company purpose and brand creates misguided direction by leadership. Upper management frantic to keep their jobs. Always emergency status where teams drop everything and put all focus on a pet project yet still try to maintain current project deadlines. Chaos, confusion and a toxic environment. To much time required documenting and protecting self in this (CYA) environment. Some unethical business practices. It's time to clean house.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Deluxe Rewards was good- but now a failing business

      Feb 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and atmosphere were amazing- until all of a sudden it wasn't. Pay is decent. Benefits were awesome.

      Cons

      Every 2 months there is a major strategy change. Pick a strategy and see it through. If you can't keep clients, sign on new ones or grow the business something is majorly wrong. Upper management thinks they are amazing but since they took over the reigns the only thing to show is a failing business with no growth in site. Not something I would be proud of or a company I would want to join. No positions are being backfilled and they are hoping for natural attrition to avoid layoffs.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Deluxe Corporation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Deluxe Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    Deluxe Corporation logo
    or