Debenhams Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Debenhams Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
331 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This is a credit card) or via a gift card that you have to top up everytime you want to purchase something(in 133 reviews)

  • "21 (wow minimum wage) after I complained directly to my manager(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work your way up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in West Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice management good pay room to improve big team and big store you will learn a lot they will make a retailer

    Cons

    Old out of fashion company dose not look promising to change for better to improve you have to have a good manager or you are not going anywhere

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2015-11-17
  2. "Oxford street Debenhams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long breaks Colleague perks and benefits (£4 cinema tickets, discount at Apple etc) Staff are friendly See new faces and staff every week ( always a chance to meet new people) Shifts are set (you’ll usually have the same days every week)

    Cons

    Management can be rude Managers put extra pressure on staff to meet sales targets Breaks aren’t paid for Customers are extra rude and disrespectful Have to book in holidays extra early. Hard to get time off.

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2020-02-25
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money, friendly people, 20% staff discount,

    Cons

    Opening Accounts Taking emails

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2020-02-24
  4. "Flexible work and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Debenhams full-time

    Pros

    Timetable was flexible, managers friendly

    Cons

    The pay was quite low

    Debenhams2020-02-17
  5. "Sales Assistant at Debenhams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Consistent hours - Option for overtime - Friendly team - No previous experience required

    Cons

    - More till training could be helpful

    Debenhams2020-02-14
  6. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Leeds, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was alright I guess

    Cons

    Can be boring sometimes To

    Debenhams2020-02-13
  7. "Good Part Time Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Discounts - Nice managers - Nice team

    Cons

    - Bad pay - Can be stressful

    Debenhams2020-02-12
  8. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, discount card, always overtime

    Cons

    pressure of opening credit cards, gossiping supervisors

    Debenhams2020-02-26
  9. "Good employer but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Administrator in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time

    Pros

    Great bunch of people , very friendly

    Cons

    Average wages, little career progression

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2020-02-10
  10. "Recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    Good overtime availability in half terms. Work different stations on shifts so mix up what you're doing. Really friendly staff.

    Cons

    Clearing the tables can get a little dull.

    Debenhams2020-02-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1559 reviews