DRW Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
DRW Founder & CEO Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very little collaboration with traders(in 10 reviews)

  • "If you are very early in your career or if you want to have a very good work/life balance, this is a good company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DRW full-time

    Pros

    - Great work culture - Smart colleagues - Exposed to lots of cutting edge technologies - Amazing benefits

    Cons

    - Not possible to work from home

    DRW2017-12-09
  2. "Good culture, unorganized work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A lot of perks - Good culture

    Cons

    - The work is all over the place - Managers are promoted based on seniority, not competence

    DRW2020-01-05

    DRW Response

    February 4, 2020Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    While we appreciate the positive feedback on our culture and perks, your insights on what was challenging are even more helpful, so thank you. Certainly the nature of a trading firm is to be opportunistic, which brings some amount of pivoting but we also want to make sure our teams feel those shifts are intentional when it affects their priorities. Our hope is that some of the new tools we’ve put in place help drive that alignment and awareness but it’s something we’ll be mindful of moving forward. If you’re open to sharing more about your situation, HR or your manager would benefit from hearing more details.

  3. "Fast paced"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Real Time Trader in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment and good team

    Cons

    unsustainable work culture due to odd hours

    Continue reading
    DRW2019-12-30

    DRW Response

    February 4, 2020Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing your feedback. Having a good team and a laid-back environment are important to us and part of how we actively seek to balance the demands of the job. We recognize that some of the assets we trade create atypical schedules and appreciate you sharing your perspective.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Anonymous"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DRW full-time

    Pros

    - good benefit: RRSP matching, catered breakfast and lunch, snacks, coffee - good work/life balance - downtown location with a beautiful office - nice people - if you are free out of university, it's a good place.

    Cons

    - not much career opportunity - management stays forever, makes it hard to advance so does the salary - certain unqualified people in management seem to live in their own bubble. - lack of meaning in work - teams are silo'ed and like to keep secret In general, the company positions itself as a trading company but they hire a lot of undergrad with no experience in trading. Certain desks rely heavily on technologies. At the same time, the company wants to attract top tech talents but fails to provide good projects or competitive salaries compared to top tech companies. If you are very early in your career or if you want to have a very good work/life balance, this is a good company. If you are seeking challenges, learning opportunities and career advancement, this company is too niche.

    DRW2019-04-24

    DRW Response

    May 13, 2019Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are glad to see you have a strong work-life balance and find DRW to be a solid opportunity upon graduation. While our career advancement may not come in the form of titles, employees here take on more responsibility as their skills grow, and we are proud that this has resulted in very high retention rates at all levels. We encourage you to talk to your manager about what new projects you can take on to keep yourself challenged. We also encourage you to explore our internal and external learning opportunities to help you build new skills - you can contact HR to get more information about what is available.

  5. "Agile management, friendly working environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big space for individual growth

    Cons

    a little confusion about management

    DRW2019-02-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "System administrator at Vigilant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DRW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Breakfast and Lunch provided by company Cool office Plenty of snacks Great benefits Excellent coworkers Amazing projects and technologies

    Cons

    Long and weird working hours Goals are always changing, resulting in projects being abandoned

    DRW2019-01-08

    DRW Response

    March 14, 2019Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor. We’re happy to hear you had a positive experience at Vigilant. We’ll use your feedback to help guide our employees as they set goals, and put plans in place to achieve them.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "My experience with Vigilant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sys Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DRW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice building - Nice team activity - Nice benefits

    Cons

    - Weak technical level in certain team - Doing the same thing day after day (get bored) - If you are looking for challenges and improve your career so this not the right company.

    DRW2018-12-19

    DRW Response

    March 14, 2019Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Glassdoor. Our employees are constantly working to learn and build their technical skills, and we are sorry to hear you did not experience that. In the future, we will try to do more to ensure employees have the resources to learn and continually challenge themselves.

  8. Helpful (8)

    "All that shines, is not gold!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * great perks, benefits and big bonuses * friendly environment with amazing colleagues from other teams

    Cons

    * not a lot of smart people around you * amateur managers with little experience, tends to lead towards stunted learning and career growth * not enough market impact for your job experience, as its an exclusive "PRIVATE" hedge fund * frequent firing all year round, fear of job security looms over everybody's head

    Continue reading
    DRW2018-05-05
  9. "Great place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide you with all tools you need. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Stressful working environment for a few employees because of the nature of work.

    DRW2017-12-04

    DRW Response

    December 11, 2017HR Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review Vigilant on Glassdoor. Getting feedback from our employees means a lot to us, and we use it to look for ways to improve. Working in the global financial markets does entail periods of stress, but also excitement, for some of our employees, but we’re happy to hear that you have the tools to be successful and you feel well taken of by our benefits and perks.

  10. "Software Dev Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer Intern in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I worked at DRW for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great perks - Friendly people - Flexible work hours - Flexible work environment and technologies

    Cons

    - Some work can be repetitive - Depending on the project, you could working with some legacy code

    DRW2017-10-17

    DRW Response

    November 20, 2017HR Coordinator

    Thank you for telling us what you think and for your contributions. We’re glad that you enjoyed our perks and culture as much we do! We believe internships are for growth and improving your skills – that might sometimes mean repetition or working on legacy systems, but it also always means a chance to make something better.

Found 102 reviews
</>Embed