DNE Resources Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find your next job here

DNE Resources Reviews

Updated 7 February, 2018
67 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DNE Resources Co-Founder & President Wayne Burke
Wayne Burke
46 Ratings

67 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • DNE is a great place to wort at (in 5 reviews)

  • The camaraderie with fellow employees, the break room had with a ping pong table, a pool table and a PS3 (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Can be tough in harsh weather conditions, due to door to door sale job (in 4 reviews)

  • You work long hours on a 100% commission (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time

    Pros

    Good officer culture
    Clean Kitchen
    Supportive team weather on the residential or commercial side

    Cons

    A bit more straight forward training on the commercial may be good, if your a good sales person tho you don't need really need it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing great work :)


  2. "Awesome Company, Great opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNE Resources full-time

    Pros

    All inclusive trip once a year, awesome team, great office, lots of opportunities for growth, flexible schedule, 1 day work from home

    Cons

    Like any growing company, could use more organization

    Advice to Management

    Keep working closely with your top employees.


  3. "Energy Consultant DNE Resources Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Energy Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Energy Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great management team, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    - Door to door sales with purely comission pay (could be pro depends on you)
    - DNE Resources is primarily a staffing company that works under parent company Direct Energy
    - Direct Energy is a horrible energy company, they tell lies to clients that DE has better energy plans but in reality they don't
    - Most clients that you sign up door to door cancel after they do research and so you don't get paid for those clients

    Advice to Management

    - Work for a better employer


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Hard to Say.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Door to Door Sales Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Former Employee - Door to Door Sales Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Well the people who worked there when I was there was awesome! It became like a family with the staff Eskimos football game, hanging out and vibing. And the training was really good, pushed me wayyy out of my comfort zone, but in such a good way. I had such low confidence going in an after so much high!

    Cons

    It became stressful very quickly cause your livelihood was dependent on getting a min. About of sales a day to really know if you can pay rent, eat, drive your car. I think there should have been a base pay of even $10/he. So those days where I would get only 1 sale or no sales, I could still have some income for the long 9-10hr days

    Advice to Management

    Jus to see that no everyone was born with that sales bug. Also, if we found a style at the door, not to push your own ways on us! That confused me a lot an I lost tons of sales. Other than that, have more employee get togetherness outside of work!

    DNE Resources Response

    21 Aug, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your time at DNE Resources. While we are pleased to see that you enjoyed the fun vibe of working in a dynamic environment and enjoyed the training... More


  6. "Sales Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DNE Resources full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits and perks. Trips, suits, lunch.

    Cons

    Drink the Koolaid or suffer the consequences

    Advice to Management

    none

    DNE Resources Response

    27 Jul, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your work life with us, we've noticed you've ranked our Culture & Values as well as... More


  7. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time

    Pros

    Nice office location and good work-life balance.

    Cons

    I found that the management was not invested in seeing you thrive long term.

    DNE Resources Response

    27 Jul, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for reviewing DNE Resources. We are sad and disappointed that you have left us partially due to the lack of long-term development. We believe this can have been easily addressed and handled... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Dne is possible the worst company ever please avoid at all cost!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - If you like party this is definitely the company that you would probably like to join and enjoyed. There's free beers on every Fridays and there's a lot of activities within the company. All the employees within the company work in a more or less relax environment.

    Cons

    - If you're looking for a more serious career please avoid this company at all cost. It's a very young small-mid size company with a lot of young people and hence there's no such of thing of being professional. All employees use poor languages at work with unprofessional communication. Dne resources is definitely one of the most disrespectful workplaces. The only reason why they got the best workplace is probably because they force every single employee to rate for their company (which it's not the right thing to do)

    - Insecurity, salary based on commission

    - No training, either you are working as a sales person or admin, you won't get any training they will just give you the job and you can start.

    - Poor/unsafe work environment, the building where the office is located is at one of the old/antique building at Atwater.

    - Employees can be drunk at work, need I say more?

    - Managements make poor decisions due to lack of experience.

    - I believe I can just go on and on with the list here....

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to management but advice to all the future employees!!! Please avoid at all costs!!!!

    DNE Resources Response

    19 Jun, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. We truly hope that both your listed cons were not the deciding factors for no longer being with us. We believe that each and every one of your concerns and perceptions... More


  9. "Best Team I've Ever Had The Pleasure To Work With."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Energy Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Energy Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNE Resources full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The consultants actually care about their clients and solve real problems from their customers perspectives. With the current energy markets going through so much transition the job feels more like a public service than a grueling 9-5. It makes for a real positive working atmosphere when you have a great team and your clients are actually thankful for your services.

    I'm surprised at the amount of knowledge and experience I've picked up working here over the past two years. It takes a lot of self discipline and perseverance to get past the initial hurdle of learning a new trade on the job. Many people have started with DNE since I've been here and left within the first month due to lack of income. This is a career that builds over time based on personal efforts. The statement " You get what you give" has never had a more honest outlet than DNE. The consultants that focus solely on the value they can consistently provide for their clients succeed. Many have been here for years and earn a very good income doing something they love. Myself included.

    Other pros are: The team atmosphere, the integrity of our services, the company trips, constant training related to evolving market conditions, goal setting exercises, regular team outings, incentives, bonuses and the general confidence that comes with creating your own financial freedoms.

    Cons

    They should screen new hires a little more aggressively, some of them seem to think they should be experts in the first 2 weeks and don't survive the reality of of building a lasting business.

    The coffee could use an upgrade.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the team's strengths and lead by example. Try not to invest so much time in keeping people who don't have the drive to guarantee results for themselves.

    DNE Resources Response

    9 Mar, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are happy to see you grasp the concept behind the DNE opportunity as an Energy Consultant, as you work like a true entrepreneur with a “You get what you give... More


  10. "Can find better opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - social activities are great
    - camaraderie and friendship between colleagues is great
    - good stepping stone

    Cons

    - frat mentality - have to fit in to suceed
    - poor management - can be out of touch with reality
    - unfair pay

    DNE Resources Response

    17 Mar, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We hope that you have enjoyed your time with us as we wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors.


  11. "Energy resellers for hydro and gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DNE Resources full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work, with room for advancing fast. Market has been saturated alot now but energy is always needed. deregulation or regulated.

    Cons

    low commisions pay for awhile until you know product knowledge. Market has been saturated alot now but energy is always needed. deregulation or regulated

    Advice to Management

    nothing much

    DNE Resources Response

    30 Jan, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review. More importantly, thank you for your time and effort as a Sales Manager in Calgary. We hope that you have enjoyed your time with us as we wish you nothing but the best... More


Showing 67 of 72 reviews
Reset Filters