DAVIDsTEA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

DAVIDsTEA Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 394 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Herschel Segal
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free tea while your working and 50% discount on everything in store(in 44 reviews)

  • "50% employee discount on almost everything(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management is highly disorganized (there was some issues with the board last year and the takeover was not smooth)(in 31 reviews)

  • "Full time and benefits are only offered to Store Managers(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing place to work and grow as a leader!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DAVIDsTEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Free Tea while on shift - employee discount - thriving environment - development to advance your career

    Cons

    - consistent mixed information being passed down - job can become very demanding and expectations are sometimes not realistic

    Advice to Management

    - Please continue to put your people first specially those in the frontline of the business. - Streamline communication and make it easier for employees - be realistic when setting expectations

    DAVIDsTEA2019-05-08

    DAVIDsTEA Response

    May 15, 2019Careers@davidstea

    We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at DAVIDsTEA. We’re glad you're enjoying working with us and we're so happy to have you on the team! Feedback is very important to us, and your comments will only help us to improve.

  2. "Lots of Changes, but overall a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DAVIDsTEA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Discount - Positive work Environment - Great Co Workers - Understanding management - All the tea you can drink

    Cons

    - Lots is changing throughout the company, that isn't communicated to staff or customers well- so lots of confusion overall - very very sales focused, and that is the #1 priority overall.

    Advice to Management

    I think the company is great, overall. I just think ensuring clear and consistent information is available to both the team and the customers at all times. When you guys discontinued all the teas, the list we got was only about half the teas you retired- and that caused MAJOR issues for everyone at the front line.

    DAVIDsTEA2019-07-04
  3. "Very fun job. Excellent teams, a company that values their employees. Excellent perks & incentives."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DAVIDsTEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of communication between head-office and stores. Plenty of internal promotions. performance bonuses.

    Cons

    Miscommunications & lack of training/follow ups.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to train your ASMs as managers instead of giving them interim positions while waiting to find actual managers externally, and just allowing them to stay as managers after a while, still missing valuable & important trainings.

    DAVIDsTEA2019-06-29
  4. "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DAVIDsTEA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team work, Good Management, Good Resources And Good amount of hours.

    Cons

    Customer is Less in some location means less Sales = Less Hours.

    DAVIDsTEA2019-06-24
  5. "Good part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Tea Guide 

      I worked at DAVIDsTEA part-time

      Pros

      Positive environment, great teamwork and good staff discounts

      Cons

      Once company went public, all focus was on sales and no longer community

      DAVIDsTEA2019-06-24
    • "It's Ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Keyholder in Vancouver, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DAVIDsTEA part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      50% Discount on Teas and Teaware Great if you love Tea Culture

      Cons

      Lack of Congruence Lack of CSR Lack of Employee Retention Plans

      DAVIDsTEA2019-07-06
    • "Tea Guide"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at DAVIDsTEA part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great culture and good people

        Cons

        Can be lonely at times

        DAVIDsTEA2019-06-13
      • "One of the Best Retailers to Work For"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at DAVIDsTEA full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Awesome Products Amazing Upper Management who care about everyone Incredible growth opportunities Awesome discount Competitive pay Good benefits

        Cons

        More admin work than time is allotted for so you will have to work at home occasionally Communications are all over the place

        Advice to Management

        Streamline the communication coming from SSC to the stores It would be great to see some of the in-store tools go paperless and be on a tablet instead of still referring to old books and papers.

        DAVIDsTEA2019-06-09

        DAVIDsTEA Response

        June 12, 2019Careers@davidstea

        Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about working with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your time at DAVIDsTEA, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

      • "It's a wonderful place to work so long as you have the right team in place."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Key Holder in Burlington, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at DAVIDsTEA part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Discount Free tea on your shift Good team

        Cons

        Too many mistakes made by HQ No communication No room to advance

        DAVIDsTEA2019-06-09
      • "Fun but hard to make more money"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at DAVIDsTEA full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        suportive staff, fun environtment, excellent development resources.

        Cons

        raises wernt up for review two years in a row, hard to move up.

        DAVIDsTEA2019-05-23

        DAVIDsTEA Response

        May 29, 2019Careers@davidstea

        We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at DAVIDsTEA.

      Found 394 reviews