Cymer Employee Reviews about "asml"

Updated Jan 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Cymer Chief Technology Strategist of ASML & SVP of Cymer Technologies Division Robert P. Akins
Robert P. Akins
146 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Within a year or two of the ASML acquisition, Cymer lost everything that once made it great(in 19 reviews)

  • "Multiple people in upper management come from low tech background such as automotive industry(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "asml"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Abusive Environment, Overworked Workforce"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cymer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary was high compared to other industries. Majority of colleagues were intelligent, and easy to work with (for the most part).

    Cons

    Easily the most dysfunctional environment I've ever worked in. The only thing resembling a healthy culture at Cymer resides in the break room refrigerators. Within a year or two of the ASML acquisition, Cymer lost everything that once made it great. Top talent left in swarms, which inauspiciously included many of the best and brightest leaders in the company. What remained (and perhaps what still remains) is a cesspool of unenthusiastic employees that have gone through hell to remain in a company that's being actively cannibalized by the company that purchased it.

    Cymer2019-01-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Save yourself from misery"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cymer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of talented young engineers

    Cons

    Poor management. No structure. No planning. Most management cannot work well with asml. Open work space with limited seats have you running around for a place to sit down every day. It's like musical chair competition. No recognition for talented engineers who make things happen. Undeserving people getting promoted. Overall high stress environment which is artificially created. Cymer would have been down the drain long time back if asml did not buy out.

    Continue reading
    Cymer2018-10-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "IT Project manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cymer

    Pros

    Close to home; big cafeteria!

    Cons

    SLOWEST internet ever; no planning in anything; over bearing manager. One Director insist that an action item was on me in a meeting that I never attended or was invited too. Coordination with ASML is horrible; nobody knows what to do

    Continue reading
    Cymer2018-10-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Changing company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cymer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of technical challenges and smart people to work with. Good compensation and benefits (for the San Diego area)

    Cons

    Lots of change since the ASML Merger, More bureaucracy and corporate structure.

    Continue reading
    Cymer2018-05-18
  5. "Great place for engineers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cymer full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, excellent management, good culture and training opportunities, hands on experience.

    Cons

    Owned by ASML, which often pushes bureaucratic procedures and excessive documentation requirements.

    Cymer2017-08-17
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Very Poor Leadership on Cymer Side of ASML... Stay Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cymer full-time

    Pros

    Technology satisfies the inquisitive brain of an engineer. Benefits are a bit above satisfactory. Onsite cafeteria is superb. Great community volunteer relationship.

    Cons

    I am not so sure where to begin here as there seems to be many cons at this company. Culture, senior leadership, Cymer and ASML operating as two businesses under one roof... egos.

    Continue reading
    Cymer2017-09-04
  7. "Great job, allot of upside"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Parent company (ASML) owns the future of chip making technology - Upper management capable and moving in the right direction - Great work and life balance

    Cons

    - Pay not the highest - Lack of new technical challenges

    Cymer2017-08-03
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Not Recommended"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cymer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm not sure I can enunciate any real pros for working at this company. I guess of pushed, their medical benefits package was pretty good.

    Cons

    Completely dysfunctional senior management in this company. In fact, in the recent past, CYMER went through multiple HR VP's in a 4-5 year period. The CYMER management team does not see eye to eye with the ASML (who owns CYMER) management team and fight them whenever a new policy or recommendation for improving the business is made. The Operations team is dysfunctional, starting at the top, while every other aspect of this organization remains trapped in the "glorious past" of this organization. The work spaces are dark and dingy with carpet that has so many stains in it throughout the facilities, that one wonders if anyone cares about a good workplace environment. When I worked there, I would not recommend any friends or colleagues apply. This was literally the worst professional experience of my life. Don't work here if you can help it!

    Continue reading
    Cymer2017-08-28
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Zombie Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, good work environment. The parent company has a great future.

    Cons

    This location is slowly becoming a zombie company. From a vibrant and independent company, Cymer/ASML is becoming nothing more than a second thought division with limited growth for business and promotion. This is a good place for entry level positions to a manager level position, but the opportunity is extremely limited after that and you will need to leave this company for further career growth and personal development. There is little business autonomy and all decisions are made by the parent company. There is a huge culture difference between the dutch parent company and the US company, and this difference outweighs new bathrooms, color schemes and pay reductions. People here are disheartened and go through the motions - zombie like.

    Continue reading
    Cymer2017-06-21
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Cymer Supply Organization"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Professional in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cymer full-time

    Pros

    Innovative technology, Creative People, Product with High Margins. Fast pace environment tailored to the Engineering and development community. Lots of opportunities until they move the facility everyone's roles to the Netherlands.

    Cons

    Supply Organization and Leadership disorganized. People are promoted because they have been there not because they are qualified. Middle Management does not have a clue what it takes to do the job. Jobs are moving to the Netherlands because that is where ASML is.

    Continue reading
    Cymer2017-05-31
Found 26 reviews