Cymax Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cymax Stores Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Arash Fasihi
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management have only the vaguest idea of what they want to accomplish(in 5 reviews)

  • "Most of the call center has moved to Philippine(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freight club is growing nicely

    Cons

    Not many choices for food around this location

    Cymax Stores2018-10-12
  2. "This company needs some direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Less management Things don't change everyday Fun staff that likes to work together

    Cons

    You'll work hard for not much pay Lot's of uncertainty all the time Computer systems to break a lot

    Advice to Management

    Use your skills for better company

    Cymax Stores2019-02-26
  3. "Cymax review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity to grow within the company

      Cons

      Did not pay employees well, no bonus

      Cymax Stores2019-02-15
    • "I worked as a sales agent at Cymax Group"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Cymax Stores part-time

      Pros

      The company has a great work environment and a great culture. Overall fun place to work at.

      Cons

      The compensation is at par or below market rate.

      Cymax Stores2018-12-12
    • "Great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

      Pros

      I have been working at Cymax for 5 years. I have experienced the rise and fall as the executive team was trying to figure out the direction. I feel really good about the company now and I see many opportunities for me to grow.

      Cons

      The team doesn't get to gather outside of work.

      Advice to Management

      More updates and keeping the team in the loop. I really liked the townhall meetings. It gives assurance to us about the company and we get to know the things that we are normally dont get to be part of.

      Cymax Stores2018-11-04
    • "Big change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operations 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked for the company for 2 years and I can say I have seen a big change. There is room to improve but I like the direction.

      Cons

      You have to walk for 15 min from skytrain. Most of the call center has moved to Philippine.

      Advice to Management

      Annual reviews and training for staff helps everyone.

      Cymax Stores2018-10-12
    • Helpful (3)

      "Needs an overhaul immediately"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operations in Vancouver, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people are fantastic. Very flexible on your work schedule.

      Cons

      No communication whatsoever by the CEO / upper management. The Christmas party of which we do yearly was not done in 2017. If the company cannot host a Christmas party, it has to be because of financial reasons. When plans were implemented to change the direction of company, everyone was told there would not be a reduction of jobs...until the job cuts came due to 'performance'. No one was hired to replace the position.

      Advice to Management

      Create an environment where people want to be. You know it is a bad company to work for when there were job openings and I would NEVER recommend my friends to work there.

      Cymax Stores2018-08-16
    • "Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time

      Pros

      Great people to work with Always room to grow and explore new possibilities

      Cons

      No clear direction of the company Always changing directions with no plan

      Cymax Stores2018-08-14
    • "Great company to work with if you are young and have lots of energy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Burnaby, BC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Dynamic environment, lots of things going on, great teams and great coworkers, lots of young people to hang out with during or after work

      Cons

      Can get really busy to hectic during busy season, some over time needed during busy hours or weekends, salary and benefits are catching up but still not on par with some more established companies out there

      Advice to Management

      Keep the teams happy, they are a great bunch

      Cymax Stores2018-05-25
    • Helpful (7)

      "A Means to an End"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Some staff are friendly - If you land full-time the work is consistent (at least in Sales) - Not a far walk from the skytrain (beware of crows) If you need work it's a decent place to get your feet on the ground but definitely look for better opportunities on the side.

      Cons

      - Middle management are power hungry (likely because they are pushed around by those above them) - Your hours will be cut without notice if you don't meet sales goals - Hours not always consistent (sometimes scheduled for morning, afternoon, or evening shifts - Pay is sub-par for the stressful nature of the work (14.00$ /h) - Forced to pay into a health and dental plan - Parking isn't free (around 100$ per month)...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Not much because nothing will change. It's a for-profit company and it cares very little for its mid-to-low level employees.

      Cymax Stores2018-03-02
    Found 111 reviews