Cymax Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cymax Stores Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cymax Stores CEO Rizwan Somji  (no image)
Rizwan Somji
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customer Service was a joke, too many customer requests and not enough people/hours(in 6 reviews)

  • "Upper management have only the vaguest idea of what they want to accomplish(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "So much change (for the great)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - so many chances to grow and learn, even outside your own team -people here are wicked - such a cool group of people - new leadership has a focus on people, not just money -stability feels really good

    Cons

    communication. it's better but not great yet. maybe more informal meetings with teams so we all know whats going on

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the changes. Its been inspiring to be here and see the changes from 4/5 years ago to today. its a whole new company. especially since the new year.

    Cymax Stores2019-07-09
  2. "No so Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

    Pros

    Good Environment and opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Not good Salary and a lot of work

    Cymax Stores2019-08-09
  3. "New Company = Few Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young demographic, beer nights, collaborative Culture

    Cons

    Cymax was clearly a young company, they didn't have a lot of systems in place so they basically figured things out on the fly. Customer Service was a joke, too many customer requests and not enough people/hours. Managers were basically kind but didn't always give a lot of support. Unclear expectations led to emotional conversations and negative feedback which was often detrimental to the team.

    Cymax Stores2019-08-21
  4. "Amazing group of people and the coolest tech company in BC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth, teamwork, work culture - there is really nowhere like Cymax where you could continue to grow in your profession, enjoy each other company, and being taken care of.

    Cons

    Unclear roles and responsibilities and business direction sometimes - it could make the employee harder to know how well of a job they are doing or evaluate their value and contribution to the team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work you guys are doing to embracing and showing your loyalty and commitment to your employees - outstanding and no like any other organization(s) I've been

    Cymax Stores2019-06-28
  5. "Poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

    Pros

    Super flexible in terms of work schedule

    Cons

    Compensation not on par and tough to get raises

    Cymax Stores2019-05-23
  6. "Very good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was very happy while working there. People are very friendly and we keep seeing each other all the time even after everybody left. We created strong friendship.

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful and sometimes management problems.

    Cymax Stores2019-04-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Destroyed my Career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented, if under-utilized staff. Big office space (full of empty desks)

    Cons

    Blatant disregard for talent and ideas not originating from the CEO. DO NOT bring external relationships you trust to do business with Cymax. You will be burned. It has taken me over a year to recover from my relationship with this company. They do not honor relationships with vendors and partners and arbitrarily change directions on massive initiatives based on statistically irrelevant, knee-jerk reactions. There... is a reason this company's revolving door is constantly spinning.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace the CEO. Rizwan, the COO, is an insightful, smart guy who DOES care and should be leading the charge. He respects the talent and dedication of his employees.

    Cymax Stores2019-04-18
  8. "This company needs some direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Less management Things don't change everyday Fun staff that likes to work together

    Cons

    You'll work hard for not much pay Lot's of uncertainty all the time Computer systems to break a lot

    Advice to Management

    Use your skills for better company

    Cymax Stores2019-02-26
  9. "Cymax review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow within the company

    Cons

    Did not pay employees well, no bonus

    Cymax Stores2019-02-15
  10. "I worked as a sales agent at Cymax Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cymax Stores part-time

    Pros

    The company has a great work environment and a great culture. Overall fun place to work at.

    Cons

    The compensation is at par or below market rate.

    Cymax Stores2018-12-12
Found 118 reviews