Cymax Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cymax Stores Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Arash Fasihi
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management have only the vaguest idea of what they want to accomplish(in 5 reviews)

  • "Customer service department should be called the limited liability department :)(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was very happy while working there. People are very friendly and we keep seeing each other all the time even after everybody left. We created strong friendship.

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful and sometimes management problems.

    Cymax Stores2019-04-30
  2. "Poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

      Pros

      Super flexible in terms of work schedule

      Cons

      Compensation not on par and tough to get raises

      Cymax Stores2019-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Destroyed my Career."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Talented, if under-utilized staff. Big office space (full of empty desks)

      Cons

      Blatant disregard for talent and ideas not originating from the CEO. DO NOT bring external relationships you trust to do business with Cymax. You will be burned. It has taken me over a year to recover from my relationship with this company. They do not honor relationships with vendors and partners and arbitrarily change directions on massive initiatives based on statistically irrelevant, knee-jerk reactions. There is...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Replace the CEO. Rizwan, the COO, is an insightful, smart guy who DOES care and should be leading the charge. He respects the talent and dedication of his employees.

      Cymax Stores2019-04-18
    • "This company needs some direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Employee in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Less management Things don't change everyday Fun staff that likes to work together

      Cons

      You'll work hard for not much pay Lot's of uncertainty all the time Computer systems to break a lot

      Advice to Management

      Use your skills for better company

      Cymax Stores2019-02-26
    • "Cymax review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Cymax Stores full-time

        Pros

        Opportunity to grow within the company

        Cons

        Did not pay employees well, no bonus

        Cymax Stores2019-02-15
      • "I worked as a sales agent at Cymax Group"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Cymax Stores part-time

        Pros

        The company has a great work environment and a great culture. Overall fun place to work at.

        Cons

        The compensation is at par or below market rate.

        Cymax Stores2018-12-12
      • "Great culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

        Pros

        I have been working at Cymax for 5 years. I have experienced the rise and fall as the executive team was trying to figure out the direction. I feel really good about the company now and I see many opportunities for me to grow.

        Cons

        The team doesn't get to gather outside of work.

        Advice to Management

        More updates and keeping the team in the loop. I really liked the townhall meetings. It gives assurance to us about the company and we get to know the things that we are normally dont get to be part of.

        Cymax Stores2018-11-04
      • "Big change"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I worked for the company for 2 years and I can say I have seen a big change. There is room to improve but I like the direction.

        Cons

        You have to walk for 15 min from skytrain. Most of the call center has moved to Philippine.

        Advice to Management

        Annual reviews and training for staff helps everyone.

        Cymax Stores2018-10-12
      • "Good growth potential"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Operations 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Freight club is growing nicely

        Cons

        Not many choices for food around this location

        Cymax Stores2018-10-12
      • Helpful (3)

        "Needs an overhaul immediately"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations in Vancouver, BC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The people are fantastic. Very flexible on your work schedule.

        Cons

        No communication whatsoever by the CEO / upper management. The Christmas party of which we do yearly was not done in 2017. If the company cannot host a Christmas party, it has to be because of financial reasons. When plans were implemented to change the direction of company, everyone was told there would not be a reduction of jobs...until the job cuts came due to 'performance'. No one was hired to replace the position.

        Advice to Management

        Create an environment where people want to be. You know it is a bad company to work for when there were job openings and I would NEVER recommend my friends to work there.

        Cymax Stores2018-08-16
      Found 114 reviews