Credential Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Credential Financial Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Credential Financial CEO Doce Tomic (no image)
Doce Tomic
8 Ratings
  1. "Good culture, solid pay, great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mutual Fund Administrator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credential Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed my time in this role. It lead to me getting a better role in a management position. Really enjoyed the people and atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't as competitive as other firms.

    Advice to Management

    Keep giving opportunities.

    Credential Financial2019-08-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credential Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People see the real face of the company quickly and leave. It's a big Pros for the employers. :)

    Cons

    tons of unefficient meetings, directors and managers are untouchlable and yet unqualified. Promotion is based on how many years spent. They burn a lot of money on stupid projects. When I say 'a lot', I mean 'A LOT'...

    Advice to Management

    Track your directors, listen to your employers and please pay attention to 'employee engagement surveys'. And HR should be helping the employers. They act like Kingsmen.

    Credential Financial2018-08-21
  3. "great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credential Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice people, good benefits, good culture

    Cons

    not a lot of room for groeth

    Credential Financial2017-03-23
  4. "Good place to work would be better if the pay was more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Credential Financial

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pension love my co-workers

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry standard. Efforts to discuss wage increase not responded to.

    Advice to Management

    Make the pay more in line with what other organizations pay for the same amount of work.

    Credential Financial2017-03-03
  5. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Representative in Midtown Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Credential Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company, good people, good environment

    Cons

    ok, good place to work

    Advice to Management

    good work

    Credential Financial2016-08-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stagnant Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credential Financial

    Pros

    Great people, decent benefits, generally good work-life balance

    Cons

    Advancement and movement within the company can be a bit slow, possible restriction on moving from your current position prior to 1 year

    Advice to Management

    Walk the walk. Belt tightening while execs fly across the country every 2 weeks? Vision for the company seems stagnant. When Credential was going self-clearing, there was an obvious goal, and it was THE goal. Since then priority seems to change every 6 months, so nothing substantial gets done (except the regulatory stuff).

    Credential Financial2016-05-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, great work life balance, pay could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Credential Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good hours, great benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Hard to advance career.

    Credential Financial2016-05-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company - management top heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credential Financial for more than a year

    Pros

    Great career development and support, Great benefits and annual bonus structure, Start off salary great, Going through Lean to improve efficiencies.

    Cons

    Too many Chiefs not enough Indians Micro Management (in my experience) Not enough recognition for great work completed. Too much recognition to the wrong people.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting for the sake of it, good work can still be recognized in other ways, salary increases can be given without title changes. Leaders does not mean management titles. Support your staff at base level and recognize the hours they put in.

    Credential Financial2016-03-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Ok Company - Senior Management could use some work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credential Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits. Offers a firm matching RRSP program up to 6%. Sick days, personal days, and decent vacation leave.

    Cons

    Senior and Executive Management don't walk the talk of the corporate culture. People who are friends with the "right people" are promoted even though they are not qualified for the position. It is more about who you know that what you know. Every one knows who the favorites are in the organization and they can do no wrong!

    Advice to Management

    Do what you say you are going to do. Stop wasting money on frivolous things and fix some of the real issues with systems and processes. Create 360 performance reviews for senior management and hold people accountable.

    Credential Financial2015-08-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Credential Financial

    Pros

    good hours, good management, pay ok

    Cons

    no chance to advance in career

    Advice to Management

    good management

    Credential Financial2015-01-08
Found 22 reviews