Crawford & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Crawford & Company Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Crawford & Company CEO Harsha V. Agadi
Harsha V. Agadi
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has very good time flexibility, and it has the availability to work from home(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great work/ life balance, flex time, great managers(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some adjusters are working over 9hours a day just to catch up(in 19 reviews)

  • "Low pay (most adjusters making less than(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ontario in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. Intelligent, caring management and dedicated, mature co-workers. Great training that laid a solid foundation. One of my best employment experiences

    Cons

    Takes time to build up your billable hours

    Crawford & Company2018-12-04
  2. "Working for Crawford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Management and very flexible with work hours, etc

    Cons

    Company is based in the US with no understanding of Employment in Canada. Very low paying

    Advice to Management

    Bring up the salary and start doing things for your employees

    Crawford & Company2019-11-19
  3. "Endless Opportunities Paired with Cyclical Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Possibilities for career advancement are endless, going outside your department or moving globally, Crawford believes in internal talent. Great opportunity to network and make friends. This environment teaches you a lot if you are able to adapt and keep an open mind.

    Cons

    The same problems remain, never fully being fixed. Everyone can come together to think of innovative solutions, but ultimately what upper management deems is most financially realistic is the one that is pursued. In the end, one solved problem creates a new problem, and the same issue simply remains throughout the years. The work culture is widely spoken about, but it seems like an empty, corporate driven 'priority'..., because there are no actions from upper management to create or nurture a positive work culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Asking 'why' when things go wrong, more than 'who', will help us understand where we need to put our focus. Listen to what your staff are saying without making assumptions or judgments to create a more collaborative environment. Include staff on ideas and decisions before they have been finalized, especially when they affect the staff.

    Crawford & Company2019-11-10
  4. "crawford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good people to work with

    Cons

    no growth opportunities available here

    Crawford & Company2019-11-13
  5. "I enjoy working with Crawford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Crawford & Company2019-10-23
  6. "Claim advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CLAIMS ADVISOR in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Simple Good employee environment

    Cons

    Repetitive tasks Unchallenging enough Unclear expectation

    Advice to Management

    More communication between the management teams

    Crawford & Company2019-10-12
  7. "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Management is reasonable -No micromanagement -Room for advancement

    Cons

    -Compensation and vacation time subpar.

    Crawford & Company2019-09-30
  8. "Best detailed headline with Google; not so good with Yahoo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It a good company in general

    Cons

    Working conditions are very ordinary.

    Advice to Management

    There should be a human relationship between the management and employees.

    Crawford & Company2019-09-02
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Call Center - AVOID!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative Call Center in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    According to the full timers, there are health benefits but the premiums are very expensive. Nothing else I want to remember. It was a job that I can manage not to put on my resume.

    Cons

    You're treated like a number. There is no future here, if you are interested in Insurance, try to get a job at the actual insurance company, not this outsourced call center. You will learn lots about working in a call center where your number one customer is CRAWFORD, not the person on the phone. Management, all of them have no engagement with their staff unless it is regarding errors or corrections, are... not approachable even when asked directly for help, it is like you are an inconvenience. They're so BUSY, doing what? It is pure wage theft of having to be at least 30 minutes early to find a computer that works and get 8-10 applications loaded to be on time. The job I applied for did not exist by the time I finished training so I was stuck into the call center. I think I was lied to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises you make to new hires.

    Crawford & Company2019-08-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Nothing else to be said.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay Expensive benefits for little benefits Favoritism = advancement Management tells you what you want to hear. High turnover. High expectation of work for low pay Some adjusters are working over 9hours a day just to catch up. Laid off several employees however still has ads for said position. No offer to be demoted. Poor training

    Crawford & Company2019-08-12
Found 344 reviews