Crawford & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Crawford & Company Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Crawford & Company CEO Harsha V. Agadi
Harsha V. Agadi
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has very good time flexibility, and it has the availability to work from home(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great work/ life balance, flex time, great managers(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some adjusters are working over 9hours a day just to catch up(in 19 reviews)

  • "Horrible management, layoff after layoff after layoff, low pay, annual raise of a paltry 1(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ontario in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. Intelligent, caring management and dedicated, mature co-workers. Great training that laid a solid foundation. One of my best employment experiences

    Cons

    Takes time to build up your billable hours

    Crawford & Company2018-12-04
  2. "Claim advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CLAIMS ADVISOR in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Simple Good employee environment

    Cons

    Repetitive tasks Unchallenging enough Unclear expectation

    Advice to Management

    More communication between the management teams

    Crawford & Company2019-10-12
  3. "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Management is reasonable -No micromanagement -Room for advancement

    Cons

    -Compensation and vacation time subpar.

    Crawford & Company2019-09-30
  4. "Best detailed headline with Google; not so good with Yahoo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It a good company in general

    Cons

    Working conditions are very ordinary.

    Advice to Management

    There should be a human relationship between the management and employees.

    Crawford & Company2019-09-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Nothing else to be said.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay Expensive benefits for little benefits Favoritism = advancement Management tells you what you want to hear. High turnover. High expectation of work for low pay Some adjusters are working over 9hours a day just to catch up. Laid off several employees however still has ads for said position. No offer to be demoted. Poor training

    Crawford & Company2019-08-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Call Center - AVOID!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative Call Center in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    According to the full timers, there are health benefits but the premiums are very expensive. Nothing else I want to remember. It was a job that I can manage not to put on my resume.

    Cons

    You're treated like a number. There is no future here, if you are interested in Insurance, try to get a job at the actual insurance company, not this outsourced call center. You will learn lots about working in a call center where your number one customer is CRAWFORD, not the person on the phone. Management, all of them have no engagement with their staff unless it is regarding errors or corrections, are... not approachable even when asked directly for help, it is like you are an inconvenience. They're so BUSY, doing what? It is pure wage theft of having to be at least 30 minutes early to find a computer that works and get 8-10 applications loaded to be on time. The job I applied for did not exist by the time I finished training so I was stuck into the call center. I think I was lied to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises you make to new hires.

    Crawford & Company2019-08-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Run right past this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crawford & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best clients ever and bright cheery office

    Cons

    underaged immature entitled management who don't care about anything or anyone. The nepotism has a stronghold on the office.

    Advice to Management

    Get the right people in the right place at the right time and get rid of the spoiled brats who pretend to run the place.

    Crawford & Company2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very, very few - steady paycheque?

    Cons

    Its not what you do, it's who you know. Terrible company, supervisors and team leads are not qualified for their roles, different rules for different people.

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes, maybe confirm that supervisors are qualified for their roles. Treat people fairly

    Crawford & Company2019-04-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjuster in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience for newer professionals to the insurance industry. Co-Workers were awesome Work from home option is available for some. Large Company with room to grow. Free Coffee in the office

    Cons

    Low pay (most adjusters making less than $20/hr) Paying for parking everyday High Stress Environment Poor Front Line Management HUGE disconnect from upper management to lower management Micromanagement is alive and well. Poor office morale

    Advice to Management

    My experience was rife with micromanagement that did not justify staying and building a career with the firm. Company culture needs a boost to encourage employees to stay. Employee morale is low and with wages to match.

    Crawford & Company2019-03-30
  10. "Okay workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Crawford & Company full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible, able and to work from home.

    Cons

    Management not proactive. Employees over worked.

    Crawford & Company2019-03-02
Found 340 reviews