Covance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Covance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO Paul Kirchgraber
Paul Kirchgraber
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "GSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Managers that care about your career -good pay - great time off -great coworkers

    Cons

    -on-boarding was a little disorganized -work/life balance may suffer at times

    Covance2018-02-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Given Misleading Job Information"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Study Technician I in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overtime is typically abundant. 24 days PTO!

    Cons

    Work-life balance: There is no balance. You will work 12 days in a row regularly. You work 4/12 weekends in a quarter. You work more than 40 hours typically to around 50 a week. In the interview, I was given 6:30-3:15 as normal work hours. This is not true at all. Most people are to work before 6 and 5:30-5:45 is a good start time if you'd like your day to not be a mess. If you are lucky you get out around 3. Apparently, you get two 15 min paid breaks but if you get one a month you are lucky. Lunch is a 45 min non-paid break. You'll definitely work through it sometimes and be on your feet for 10+ hours a day. 401k: The match rate is okay... but... Covance isn't vested in the 401k until you've worked there for 4 years. It's their tactic to keep people there longer, and I doubt it does anything to help with that. Essentially the 401k is useless in my case. Healthcare: For a large corporation the benefits are very disappointing. The premium for the standard health insurance package is about $150 a month. Preventative screenings and birth control are completely covered though. Office visits mostly range from $25-$60. The prescription plan is difficult to navigate and for a company that works with many pharmaceutical companies very overpriced. I know people at small-mid sized family businesses that have better insurance... Dental/eyecare: I didn't opt-in because it's costly. You are expected to work at the same level as people who have worked there longer than you. You make a mistake, good luck, tons of confusing paperwork for you. Then you make a mistake on that and the cycle continues. The works itself is okay. I work with small animals and like them. A lot of the work is repetitive and is all fine detail motions with your arms and hands. You don't get to know much about studies you work on and as a lover of science from what I was told I thought I would know more. My physical and mental health have been destroyed from working here and it was not worth it.

    Continue reading
    Covance2020-02-19
  3. "Overall a Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Study Director in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Colleagues Salary PTO Career Opportunities Tuition Reimbursement Flexible Work Schedules

    Cons

    Work Life Balance Health Insurance Benefits

    Covance2020-01-11
  4. "Good, but bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Statistical Programmer II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with amazing people Work assigned is really fulfilling and enjoyable

    Cons

    Work-life balance is non-existent Get paid much more for the same job at other companies Staff retention is incredibly bad

    Continue reading
    Covance2020-01-22
  5. "Covance Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sample Collection Technician 

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, nice environment, fast paced, easy to learn

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, poor communication, long hours, not many opportunities for advancement

    Covance2020-01-19
  6. "Good for graduate to gain lab experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly Great location

    Cons

    Salary is low Work life balance not great Management aren't supportive No career prospects

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-10-31
  7. Helpful (4)

    "It seems okay at first, but the longer you're there, the more you realize is wrong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people make it worth it, they're usually pretty cool. Work isn't hard, but also no t particularly engaging. Not a terrible starting job, but would not stay long.

    Cons

    Depending on department, ridiculous work hours. Work/life balance, what's that? Management doesn't know what they're doing at all sometimes. How some people keep their jobs is beyond me.

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-10-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Work hard for better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The more responsibility you take on, the better your pay and opportunity for promotions. Management really does try to keep staff happy in their jobs to the best of their ability.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to keep up with the growing workload, especially after the Labcorp merger. When it was just Covance the possibility of a real work/ life balance was much more realistic. Labcorp really changed quite a bit about my job; I don't want to leave, but I can see why many people in positions with lower pay would look elsewhere. Covance offered much better insurance plans before LabCorp took over. Thankfully my family has not had to meet the extremely high deductibles so far.

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-09-10
  9. "Worst company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    No pros of working here

    Cons

    Biased management Oversmart HR No work life balance No regard for employees Toxic work culture Extremely political environment No experience in handling tough projects

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-09-26
  10. "Cra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Covance full-time

    Pros

    Behavior changes according to sponsor

    Cons

    No work life balance according to sponsor

    Covance2019-09-01
Found 106 reviews