Covance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Covance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO Paul Kirchgraber
Paul Kirchgraber
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be better(in 100 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult to keep up with the growing workload, especially after the Labcorp merger(in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "GSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Managers that care about your career -good pay - great time off -great coworkers

    Cons

    -on-boarding was a little disorganized -work/life balance may suffer at times

    Covance2018-02-08
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Data Specialist in Bangalore

    I worked at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Team Good Work life balance

    Cons

    New setup and collaboration with new company was tough

    Covance2019-11-20
  3. "CRAssist to CRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance; growth; great management on teams I’ve been exposed to

    Cons

    Decreased spending and micromanagement after labcorp acquisition; eliminated bonuses for CRA pay grade

    Covance2019-11-05
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory Specialist in Huntingdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is fine,

    Cons

    Don't care about you as an employee and pay is well below market average

    Covance2019-11-04
  5. "Good for graduate to gain lab experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly Great location

    Cons

    Salary is low Work life balance not great Management aren't supportive No career prospects

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training initiatives

    Covance2019-10-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It seems okay at first, but the longer you're there, the more you realize is wrong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people make it worth it, they're usually pretty cool. Work isn't hard, but also no t particularly engaging. Not a terrible starting job, but would not stay long.

    Cons

    Depending on department, ridiculous work hours. Work/life balance, what's that? Management doesn't know what they're doing at all sometimes. How some people keep their jobs is beyond me.

    Advice to Management

    Just get better. It's ridiculously chaotic.

    Covance2019-10-15
  7. "Great place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Analyst in Harrogate, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to GMP regulations and best practices, friendly environment to work in, great work life balance and managerial staff always accessible

    Cons

    Little progression opportunity, non meritocratic culture

    Covance2019-10-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Work hard for better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The more responsibility you take on, the better your pay and opportunity for promotions. Management really does try to keep staff happy in their jobs to the best of their ability.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to keep up with the growing workload, especially after the Labcorp merger. When it was just Covance the possibility of a real work/ life balance was much more realistic. Labcorp really changed quite a bit about my job; I don't want to leave, but I can see why many people in positions with lower pay would look elsewhere. Covance offered much better insurance plans before LabCorp took over.... Thankfully my family has not had to meet the extremely high deductibles so far.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your direct reports concerns and try to find helpful solutions. Finding ways for departments to communicate and fix issues earlier would help everyone to be more efficient. Most departments are stretched too thin, or have some employees doing the bare minimum, while others are left with too much work.

    Covance2019-09-10
  9. "Good work/life balance, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Clinical Data Manager I 

    I worked at Covance

    Pros

    I have worked at Covance for almost 2 years. The people at Covance are very kind and helpful. Work/life balance is pretty good. The managers in Data Management are really good and understanding.

    Cons

    Sometimes since the team is remote, gets difficult to communicate in different timezones.

    Covance2019-09-16
  10. "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, work from home, better work life balance comparing to major global CROs; Veterans in Covance global team - provide great support; Great company culture- respect employees

    Cons

    Favoritism; Some company processes/procedures may be long

    Advice to Management

    Leadership is how to support to team and bring them one level up to achieve success; need to watch out those mid- or senior-management who don't walk the talk.

    Covance2019-09-06
Found 171 reviews