Covance "labcorp" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Covance Employee Reviews about "labcorp"

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO Paul Kirchgraber
Paul Kirchgraber
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is non-existent(in 107 reviews)

  • "Very stressful, there is a lack of leadership everything has gone down since Labcorp bought them(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "labcorp"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Difficult work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biologist in Greenfield, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do offer Flexible time off

    Cons

    Very stressful, there is a lack of leadership everything has gone down since Labcorp bought them.

    Covance2020-01-23
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, pay, and supportive and smart colleagues

    Cons

    Since Labcorp buy out, things have gone downhill

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-12-03
  3. "Not the same company I joined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A lot of great people to work with, and good opportunity to deal with wide range of clients and products.

    Cons

    Profit before people mindset of senior management. Trying to grow too rapidly, especially since acquisition by LabCorp. Additional workload to integrate acquired companies, and implement new systems being given to already very busy/stressed staff, with expectation for them to cover via overtime (which most are already doing anyway).

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-11-24
  4. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Broad opportunities, growing business, good client base

    Cons

    Owned by LabCorp, a low margin lab service business

    Covance2019-10-31
  5. "CRAssist to CRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance; growth; great management on teams I’ve been exposed to

    Cons

    Decreased spending and micromanagement after labcorp acquisition; eliminated bonuses for CRA pay grade

    Covance2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Work hard for better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The more responsibility you take on, the better your pay and opportunity for promotions. Management really does try to keep staff happy in their jobs to the best of their ability.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to keep up with the growing workload, especially after the Labcorp merger. When it was just Covance the possibility of a real work/ life balance was much more realistic. Labcorp really changed quite a bit about my job; I don't want to leave, but I can see why many people in positions with lower pay would look elsewhere. Covance offered much better insurance plans before LabCorp took over. Thankfully my family has not had to meet the extremely high deductibles so far.

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-09-10
  7. "Decent Company, Processes need streamlining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Study Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Decent benefits (before LabCorp merger) Lots of opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    Promotions can take a while, unless someone likes you Too many systems, not streamlined Workload is heavy

    Covance2019-07-02
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Before merger was a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, decent benefits before the merger. Good project management in my experience.

    Cons

    LabCorp took over and the benefits went downhill fast. Much less investment in employees.

    Covance2019-06-10
  9. "Good position to break into industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Associate in Paterson, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work independently, good work culture, great team

    Cons

    Merger with labcorp caused company to loose some incentives and benefits such tuition reimbursement

    Covance2019-05-08
  10. "Good people make working here all the difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energizing purpose, helping medicine that's on the cutting edge Ability to work from home Fantastic managers, people who really care about the work LabCorp benefits, health insurance isn't bad Global reach, interesting work

    Cons

    Not always having the resources/tools to do what's needed Complacent workers who don't always pull their weight Lack of diversity

    Continue reading
    Covance2019-04-02
Found 68 reviews