Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Costa Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 929 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "cleaning and long hours someties(in 67 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Field based role within company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Costa

    Pros

    Excellent company culture. Work-life balance was strong being a contractor for this company and in my articular field-based role. I highly recommend this employer if you love coffee and live in the U.K.

    Cons

    Some evenings or weekends required taking off to complete work. On-call phone availability and "after-hours" availability was required to help with emergency inquiries.

    Advice to Management

    It would be lovely to have an international program where employees can work out of their home country, or in U.K. on a working visa.

    Costa2018-04-26
  2. "Was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and good culture

    Cons

    Bad hours. Early morning starts.

    Costa2019-04-25

    Costa Response

    May 9, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "part-time experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, friendly co'workers, One free drink before and after shift - franchise based shop

    Cons

    Long hours, management don't try to help 'lower down' staff, Low wages

    Advice to Management

    have to build a rapport with all types of workers, consider the time and schedule fo the shift

    Costa2016-09-20
  4. "A busy environment to work in but good team Spotify!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment. Also a good place to work with customer focus. Management really cared about the store that I worked in.

    Cons

    Understaffed at busy times. Sometimes felt like you couldn't give the best customer experience because there weren't enough staff on.

    Advice to Management

    Just to ensure that it is always well staffed.

    Costa2016-06-16
  5. "Good parent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The parent company offers more respect, incentives, training, pay, bonuses. Great company of you work hard. Opportunity to advance can be high

    Cons

    Franchise companies maybe not so much. Pay can still be kinda low, even lower with franchise Kinda strict rule set Costa check

    Advice to Management

    Mirror parent company ideas

    Costa2015-08-18
  6. "Great job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours around study. Great team of young fun employees.

    Cons

    My only con would be the inability to socialise after work due to the smell of coffee beans clinging to your skin.

    Costa2019-08-22
  7. "Amazing company, brilliant benifits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bonus scheme and very well paid with loads of development opportunities.

    Cons

    Sometimes a pain if asked to cover at other stores.

    Advice to Management

    More regular catch ups with SM/AM in stores which are failing.

    Costa2019-08-18
  8. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Kraków
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice teamwork and beautiful atmosphere

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Costa2019-08-14
  9. "Great part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good rewards, flexible to transfer to uni store

    Cons

    Not easy to progress, many staff do not stay longer than a few years

    Costa2019-08-13

    Costa Response

    August 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process

  10. "Good colleagues, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues; Free Drinks; Half price food

    Cons

    Bad Management; High turn over: Could be very stressful sometimes

    Costa2019-08-11

    Costa Response

    August 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process

Found 929 reviews