Conversant "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Conversant Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Conversant Chief Executive Officer Bryan Kennedy
Bryan Kennedy
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent health and retirement benefits. Work/life balance, on my team anyway, was always good.

    Cons

    Has become slow and stagnant. Projects take an absurd amount of time to go from planning to implementation. The metrics used to measure client success are, at best, dubious and (even within the company) still a source of much argument and rancor. Is very slow to adopt new technology. Some of the senior engineers actively fear change. (In a tech company.) Clients going out of business as more and more retail flows down the Amazon. Attempts to introduce new verticals have had modest success, but the tide is still negative. The recent buyout, by a firm notorious for having difficulty integrating acquisitions, has brightened few spirits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hard to know where to start, but the place needs a shake up. Keep up with technology. Speed up your development cycle. Make sure clients, especially internal clients, want what's being developed. (I've seen far too many conversations of the form: We've built you X. Uh, okay. What for?... ten minutes explaining why this system we spent three months on is useful... Okay, we'll try it. I guess.) Above all, decide on some consistent and plausible client success metrics. A lot of them lack credibility internally; it's only a matter of time (if that) before they start getting questioned externally. And finally, a promotion and review system that grades people on a curve, and then rations out promotions based on quotas (i.e. one team might only get one promotion regardless of performance) is more or less an invitation for good people to take their trade elsewhere.

    Show More
    Conversant2019-05-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Unique Tech and Data"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conversant full-time

    Pros

    -In such a crowded space of "me toos", they really do have clear differntiators. -Very smart people and SME's -Challenging work -Great benefits -Great work life balance

    Cons

    -Weak commission structure -Not very nimble or flexible -President sides with engineers and product over sales every time -SVPs are dinosaurs who are know-it-alls, but when it comes down to it they are far from that. Have had several clients ask me not to bring some of the SVPs to meetings. -Marketing is a joke

    Advice to Management

    -Reevaluate how to keep top talent -Make commission structure reflect the role and not just cookie cutter so its easy for you -Cut the fat of non-producers and duplication. They are way too accepting of mediocrity and just "wait it out" for people to leave on their own

    Conversant2019-02-15
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not a fan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Some people genuinely care and will try to help you.

    Cons

    A lot of people have left and it's a bit of a sinking ship.

    Advice to Management

    Try to come up with some new technology that's unique to the marketplace.

    Conversant2019-02-11
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Get experience and Get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Delivery Manager in Westminster, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, flexible schedule, good work/life balance, beautiful brand new office in CO

    Cons

    Low pay, no compensation/ overtime for working on weekends and holidays, takes a long time to get promoted, unequal pay between male vs female, poor senior leadership (SVP and above).

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN to your managers and employees. There's a huge disconnect between managers and and senior leadership - everything from pay and promotions to team orientation (specifically for those teams NOT located in Chicago).

    Conversant2018-10-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great work environment with a few needed changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Delivery Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. Conversant does a great job of hiring competent people who, for the most part, are enjoyable to work with. All of the teams that I worked with were fantastic and the general sense that I got was most everyone enjoyed working with one another. The work/life balance is also great at Conversant, but at certain times of the year you can feel bored which is always something to consider. Conversant also takes care of the employees with what I consider to be a very fair benefits package that includes unlimited PTO! In addition to benefits they also have a summer and winter company party which are always high points in the year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Conversant gives promotions and raises during what they call "cycles". The problem with this is it tends to breed a culture of incompetence where if you stay long enough you'll get promoted. This is not true in every case, but there are instances of it. The promotion cycles also leads to Conversant losing their best talent because when someone gets passed over for a promotion they know exactly how long they have to wait to be eligible again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the promotion periods. You will continue to lose talent as long as your giving promotions and raises in cycles.

    Conversant2018-10-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros This is a great place for your first Job in Chicago area. The people are nice and smart. Work life balance is very good, free breakfast every Friday.

    Cons

    The personal growth will be slow. An inconsistent direct manager will make you uncomfortable and less productive. Very often, you work on your manager's task that was actually assigned to her without any credit.

    Advice to Management

    As a manager, please be consistent on your team member's task and your own task, care about team member's individual growth.

    Conversant2018-08-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Conversant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Leaders in the digital ad space. Awesome benefits. Excellent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of meetings. High work volume.

    Conversant2018-05-14
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ashburn, VA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Conversant has a great work life balance, unlimited vacation and great benefits. Alliance Data which Conversant is an umbrella under I feel truly cares about the company.

    Cons

    Management needs some work. Really! How these people got into their positions is really surprising. A lot of good ole boys club, women really don't count. #metoo.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your high horse. We all work for the same company!

    Conversant2018-03-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place To Start A Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great work life balance - Unlimited PTO - Culture is great. Conversant is filled with intelligent, hardworking people - Managers really care about your development as an employee, depending on who you are reporting to - Competitive 401k matching

    Cons

    - Upper management insists that this is a tech company first, but salaries do not reflect that in the tech departments - Your experience here depends heavily on what manager you report to

    Advice to Management

    The only advice I could give is to limit losing talent. Brainstorm ways to keep people around.

    Conversant2018-01-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Data scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Conversant full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, nice people

    Cons

    projects are not interesting, not research side

    Conversant2017-12-22
Found 39 reviews