Contiki Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Contiki Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
Contiki CEO Adam Cooper (no image)
Adam Cooper
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendships with coworkers, one free lunch and after work drinks per month(in 6 reviews)

  • "Amazing company culture, incredible work-life balance, super fun place to work(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cliques within management team, low pay, lack of career development, micromanaging style of leadership(in 7 reviews)

  • "Away from home a lot during peak season (but off-set with home a lot of low season so I had no real issues with it)(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working for Contiki for almost 5 years I can say that it has been an adventure. Surrounded by inspiring & fun colleagues ensures that every day I wake up wanting to head into work. With the ever-changing scene of travel I love that Contiki remains on the leading curve and is willing to change it up to stay relevant. Of course the opportunities I have had to enjoy the awesome trips all over the world have been a... pretty great perk!

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are in a sales role you will travel more than other roles which fits some lifestyles well!

    Contiki2015-08-19
  2. "Reservations specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment, commission, great discount

    Cons

    Terrible salary and no raises offered ever

    Contiki2019-04-24
  3. "Only good on the surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    -Fun team activities & parties (incredible Christmas party every year) -Great discounts but (obviously) only applicable on Travcorp products -Good benefits package -They try to hire from within as much as possible, even if the inside hire doesn't posess all the necessary qualifications.

    Cons

    -Poor incentive structure -Tone-deaf executives -Very low pay. Raises are rare. A lot of people struggle financially at the company and work overtime to try to make a few extra dollars -High turnover -Not many opportunities for promotions - mostly just lateral movements to support departments in The Travel Corporation

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees suggestions. A lot of your employees are extremely unhappy and you neither seem to notice nor care.

    Contiki2019-03-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel the world for work on conferences, FAMS and trainings Discounted trips for personal holidays Fun, young company Great co-workers Create your own schedule as long as it benefits the company as well Training and coaching provided to ensure you build your potential

    Cons

    As a travel company, you may be required to be away from home a lot. Not a problem for most but if you have a family, it may not be the right role for you. Plenty of nights and weekends spent working but it can be at parties, campuses , and fun networking events Most of the opportunities to advance require re-locating

    Advice to Management

    The last year has been one of growth for management. They have started to listen to their teams feedback rather than dictate and it has been a very positive change. I hope to see more of that as the company grows.

    Contiki2015-08-19
  5. "Fun but only if you are a favourite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent in Bondi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Contiki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work Good people your team leaders generally care alot about you Friday drinks

    Cons

    Kind of a high school vibe if you aren't a favorite you don't really matter Super low pay The rotating roster is inconvenient

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equally , Listen to your staff about things going on

    Contiki2019-09-18
  6. "Direct Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Perks such as free lunches, drinks and parties. Team nights and meetings help to bond with your team

    Cons

    Definitely didnt feel welcome when I started in my role. Favouritism shown from management to certain people, seems hard to get in with the "in crowd" to get career progression, not much useful training or coaching provided. It seems that management don't have much of an imagination when it comes to helping you get better at your job and progress your career.

    Advice to Management

    Welcome new people so they actually want to work there. Stop showing so much favouritism to certain people and treat people equally. Opportunities need to be shared around and not always given to the same people. Get more creative in coaching and training so people actually learn and it isn't a waste of time. Listen to staff when they want to progress their career and support them - all of them, not just your... favourites.

    Show More
    Contiki2019-05-13
  7. "Great company, average pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of team events free lunch each month fun environment

    Cons

    Minimal opportunity for growth Below average pay Not in central London

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay = higher effort

    Contiki2019-03-05
  8. "Good fun, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    Great people Fun environment Good if you love travel

    Cons

    Very low pay, especially for London

    Contiki2019-02-20
  9. "On site team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Site Team Member 

    I worked at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    Free food Free accommodation Fun team work role All round work on the site Good experience

    Cons

    Pressure to party every night despite health Overworked Not a very experienced on site manager due to it being a very young crew

    Contiki2019-02-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    Free Drinks Free Lunch sometimes

    Cons

    Random distribution of work, biased towards favorites within office. Hell lot of politics, non professional working environment

    Contiki2019-03-13
Found 43 reviews