Connections Academy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Connections Academy Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
75%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Connections Academy Managing Director Tom ap Simon
Tom ap Simon
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home; feedback regularly requested(in 84 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, helpful training, opportunities for advancement(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay - 15-20% lower than average salaries(in 19 reviews)

  • "Do not think that work from home means you have down time(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, work from home most days, supportive staff

    Cons

    lower pay, lots of students to manage

    Connections Academy2020-02-13
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The NCA Administration is caring and listens

    Cons

    Fighting to keep our school open

    Connections Academy2020-02-03
  3. "They don't promote from within. Leadership is a club."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible, remote work from a home office.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Especially considering that most teachers have Masters Degrees.

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2020-02-02
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Coordinator Teacher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, benefits, great people to work with

    Cons

    Have to work in office, pay is lower than most teachers

    Connections Academy2020-01-13
  5. "This school has the best teachers and administration!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Teacher in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teachers are all very professional and truly care about the students.

    Cons

    The work load is often a little too much.

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2020-01-09
  6. "Flexible work environment BUT too not really teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexibility to work from home professional development working with children

    Cons

    too much time reading excel spreadsheets not enough time teaching dealing with uncooperative parents/learning coaches

    Connections Academy2020-01-22
  7. "Do your work well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -work from home -flexible -great colleagues

    Cons

    - lots of data - some upper admin issues - may need to work more than your normal hours - need to travel and attend mandatory in-person events

    Connections Academy2019-12-16

    Connections Academy Response

    January 2, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a Glassdoor review! Connections Academy creates a flexible learning environment for students, and teachers are provided a degree of flexibility as well. There are opportunities throughout the year where teachers get to interact with students and colleagues in-person. These events include field trips, all-staff meetings, and state-mandated testing. If you would like to further discuss your experiences with Human Resources, please email humanresources.obl@pearson.com.

    Continue reading
  8. "Convenient to work from home and fun coworkers but low pay and heavy administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Online Teacher 

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    There are some great kids and families that participate in the program. Work at home for many positions. Good learning management system. Great support for new teachers. Awesome peer relations. Some flexibility. End of the year performance bonus. Student tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Be prepared for lots of accountability. Job requires. cold calling students with minimum quotas to fill that will keep you on the phone dialing for a good part of your shift. Lots of meetings that take away from time to meet call quotas and grading timelines. Flexibility became less and less. Procedures procedures! Administrators demand a lot. In exchange for being able to work at home, you have to go out to sites where state testing is being held and this may include several overnight stays or long drives each week for several weeks. Corporate executives are rude and they chew out all the teachers at least once a yeat at staff events.

    Connections Academy2019-12-12

    Connections Academy Response

    January 2, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Glassdoor! Supporting the amazing families and students you mentioned is Connections Academy’s mission. Teachers are central to this mission and should feel appreciated and valued. If you would like to further discuss your experiences with Human Resources, please email humanresources.obl@pearson.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits. Working from home.

    Cons

    Workload is overwhelming and salary is low. No room for growth. Favoritism

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2019-09-25
  10. "This is an amazing job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love the flexibility of my schedule, my team, and the work I get to do in this company. The work-life balance is so much greater than being in a traditional school setting, and we get to be a part of really meaningful work with students in an online capacity.

    Cons

    Need to be self-motivated and self-disciplined when working from home.

    Connections Academy2019-08-29

    Connections Academy Response

    December 5, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a Glassdoor comment! Your positive feedback regarding benefits is important to us. The dedicated Human Resources team works hard to provide plans which meet the needs of the schools we support to attract and retain highly qualified staff. Connections Academy schools value diversity in its student population and staff. If you would like to further discuss your experiences with Human Resources, please email humanresources.obl@pearson.com.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 235 reviews