Connections Academy Online Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Connections Academy Online Teacher Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Connections Academy Managing Director Tom ap Simon
Tom ap Simon
0 Rating
  1. "Convenient to work from home and fun coworkers but low pay and heavy administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Online Teacher 

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    There are some great kids and families that participate in the program. Work at home for many positions. Good learning management system. Great support for new teachers. Awesome peer relations. Some flexibility. End of the year performance bonus. Student tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Be prepared for lots of accountability. Job requires. cold calling students with minimum quotas to fill that will keep you on the phone dialing for a good part of your shift. Lots of meetings that take away from time to meet call quotas and grading timelines. Flexibility became less and less. Procedures procedures! Administrators demand a lot. In exchange for being able to work at home, you have to go out to sites where state testing is being held and this may include several overnight stays or long drives each week for several weeks. Corporate executives are rude and they chew out all the teachers at least once a yeat at staff events.

    Connections Academy2019-12-12

    Connections Academy Response

    January 2, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Glassdoor! Supporting the amazing families and students you mentioned is Connections Academy’s mission. Teachers are central to this mission and should feel appreciated and valued. If you would like to further discuss your experiences with Human Resources, please email humanresources.obl@pearson.com.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy

    Pros

    Everyone there is an amazing person and great to work with! Everyone is also willing to help you out. It's nice to have the option to work from home.

    Cons

    Many teachers complain about the pay and end up leaving for this reason, but I know it could be worse, so I'm thankful.

    Connections Academy2017-05-22
  3. "Very positive so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Teacher in Suring, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy

    Pros

    Work at home. Decent pay and benefits. Can work from anywhere with wifi. Equipment is provided. No travel time. Can work in comfortable clothes in surrounding of my choice. Parents are very involved in their children's success. Online help and guidance from the company easily accessible when needed.

    Cons

    Connections are all online. Limited personal face to face interaction. Prefer higher salary. Need to manage own schedule and stay on top of grading and paperwork

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2017-04-15
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Connections Academy Ohio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Teacher in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy

    Pros

    Work from home after a year! Some great fellow teachers! No classroom hassles. Good opportunity to start a career but not the same pay or benefits as a public school.

    Cons

    They promise more than they can deliver to the students they serve. Very high workload. Some of the students are not very engaged. Some travel for testing. Pay is 25% less than the pubic schools. You also get labeled with being a virtual charter teacher, something that is not very helpful in the job market.

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2016-07-23
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Online Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Teacher in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy for less than a year

    Pros

    It was at home, so there were no commuting such as car issues.

    Cons

    Poorly led, administrators attempted to model after public schools that alienated teachers and built up communication gaps due to lack of trust. Shadow enrollment of students communicated or interacted with, funny numbers at the end of the school year on students completing the school year?

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2016-06-01
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Excellent people, difficult job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Teacher in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent and supportive colleagues. I felt admin responded to my needs and were helpful as I got my footing.

    Cons

    The population of students and families can be challenging. There is a high population of students with special needs and not enough support instructionally from special education teachers. It's not their fault; their caseloads are very high. There is also an issue with student engagement. Many students and families don't do their work and are truant. The problem is that the sole responsibility of getting these students on track is in the lap of the teacher. With 130-150 students in a class, continually reaching out (phone calls many times) is just not a reachable expectation when you consider the other responsibilities of holding lessons and grading. Ultimately, the work expectations just couldn't realistically be met and this hurt my sense of efficacy and upped my stress levels.

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2015-07-23
  7. Helpful (7)

    "I have been working at Connections Academy for less than a year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Teacher in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the work at home option. The support I receive in the office is amazing.

    Cons

    The work load is different than what I was expecting.

    Connections Academy2015-02-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Online teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Online Teacher 

    I worked at Connections Academy

    Pros

    Part time employees can/must work from home. Flexible schedule. No lesson planning (but this is also a con because I was not a huge fan of the curriculum I taught)

    Cons

    Very low pay, not so great curriculum.

    Connections Academy2015-02-17
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Online teacher - lots of data"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Teacher in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy

    Pros

    Communication is great. Everything is logged.

    Cons

    Difficult to get students to attend live lessons

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2015-02-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company focused on being decent and respectful of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Teacher in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Connections provides excellent work-life balance for the employee with life, health, and financial insurance. Also, many employees are able to work from home allowing for the comfort of a great salary and working in one's own environment.

    Cons

    At times professional development must be found by the employee instead of the company. I have had not had any training since the on-boarding process. Re-imbursement of changes to the home for working from home was not provided.

    Continue reading
    Connections Academy2014-06-13
Found 12 reviews