Cover image for Compassion International
Logo

Compassion International

Engaged Employer

Compassion International

Add a Review

Compassion International Reviews

Updated Nov. 23, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 312 of over 394 reviews
4.4
94% Recommend to a Friend
Compassion International President and CEO Jimmy Mellado
98% Approve of CEO

Found 297 of over 394 reviews

4.4
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Compassion International President and CEO Jimmy Mellado
Jimmy Mellado
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "The mission at Compassion (has) always been forefront to its core, "Releasing Children from Poverty in Jesus' Name"(in 26 reviews)

  • "They are passionate about releasing children from poverty in Jesus' name(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains due to rapid acceleration from child sponsorship acquisitions(in 7 reviews)

  • "Current Senior leadership egos are destroying the love of the mission(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Compassion International and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Compassion International

      Mar. 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff of compassion We are changing lives

      Cons

      I don't have any con

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your review!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great employer

      Jan. 7, 2022 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive environment, good benefits, average compensation

      Cons

      Requires work on Sundays / weekends.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your feedback!

    3. Join the Compassion International team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Christian cult pries into personal lives

      Jan. 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good mission and purpose for existing (helping children)

      Cons

      Cult-like environment- controlling, invasive, campy, no freedom to challenge They make employees sign a code of conduct that says they can fire you if you get drunk, have premarital sex, live with the opposite gender if you're not married, or other behaviour they determine as bad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      We’re sorry to hear your time at Compassion didn’t end well. We strive to create an environment that is challenging, but also allows flexibility to learn and grow. In fact, we encourage staff to push against the norms, and challenge us to expand our boundaries. There are exceptions to that rule, however. Compassion is committed to remaining steadfast in our Christian principles. We believe strongly in God’s Word, and while societal norms may change, His Word does not. We are grateful for this constant, and the fact that we can rest in His promise that He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow (Hebrews 13:8) and never goes out of style.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great mission and great place to work

      Jun. 1, 2021 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff culture and mission

      Cons

      As with any charity, salaries are lower

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Compassion International

      Thank you for sharing!

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Meh

      Feb. 20, 2021 - Sales Associate in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good mission, good people for the most part

      Cons

      Terrible management and foresight, not enough planning and consideration

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Growing and exciting future ahead

      Jan. 21, 2021 - Digital Marketing Strategist in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Getting to be a very digital non-profit. Great mission, very engaged staff

      Cons

      A large organization can feel far from the great work internationally

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Compassion International

      Thank you for sharing! We too are so excited for the future ahead!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place

      Nov. 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work. Lots of PTO, great benefits, and amazing people.

      Cons

      Since moving to remote, it is really tough to build a positive culture. There is also a TON of change happening. I believe the change will lead us to a better place, but in the short term it’s tough.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love working at Compassion

      Nov. 9, 2022 - Business Support Specialist II in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Christ centered Valued team member

      Cons

      Salary is extremely low for this position

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your review. We so appreciate your thoughts!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Assistant Manager

      Nov. 17, 2022 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exposure to wide range experience engagements

      Cons

      None , I feel everything is ok

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your review! We appreciate your thoughts.

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Oct. 23, 2022 - Learning And Development Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Christian so far enjoying my work very much

      Cons

      None so far enjoying everything so much

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      We appreciate your review. Thank you for your feedback!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 297 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Compassion International Reviews FAQs

    Compassion International has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 394 reviews left anonymously by employees. 94% of employees would recommend working at Compassion International to a friend and 84% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Compassion International employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Compassion International. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

    94% of Compassion International employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Compassion International 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Compassion International Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Compassion International? Share Your Experiences

    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Compassion International Photos

    + Add Photo
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    Compassion International photo of: Compassion International
    See All Photos

    Compassion International Job Seekers Also Viewed

    World Vision USA Logo
    World Vision USA

    4.1

    351 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 394 Compassion International reviews submitted anonymously by Compassion International employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Compassion International is right for you.