Compassion International Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 248 of over 325 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Compassion International President and CEO Jimmy Mellado
Jimmy Mellado
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "The mission at Compassion (has) always been forefront to its core, "Releasing Children from Poverty in Jesus' Name"(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great mission, passionate employees(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At times, this leads to unsustainable commitment on the part ministry(in 18 reviews)

  • "Growing pains due to rapid acceleration from child sponsorship acquisitions(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great mission and great place to work

      Jun 1, 2021 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff culture and mission

      Cons

      As with any charity, salaries are lower

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Compassion International

      Thank you for sharing!

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Meh

      Feb 20, 2021 - Sales Associate in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good mission, good people for the most part

      Cons

      Terrible management and foresight, not enough planning and consideration

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Growing and exciting future ahead

      Jan 21, 2021 - Digital Marketing Strategist in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Getting to be a very digital non-profit. Great mission, very engaged staff

      Cons

      A large organization can feel far from the great work internationally

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Compassion International

      Thank you for sharing! We too are so excited for the future ahead!

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing!

      Nov 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      everything. They value their employees, the team connection, the support, opportunity for growth, etc.

      Cons

      honestly not many cons I can think of. They are wonderful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Nov 22, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Incredible benefits -Competitive pay -Great mission -Christian culture

      Cons

      -Lots of growing pains. Lots of strategic changes happening from leadership resulting in reorganization. With that being said, I believe Compassion's best days are ahead of us. This reorg is needed to get us there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A nice place to work

      Dec 3, 2021 - Partnership Facilitator in Guayaquil
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have good health insurance and train their team well.

      Cons

      the work culture is ambiguous.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Upholds the Christian Values

      Nov 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Manila, Manila
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Considerate to the employees' needs 2. Provides good benefits and offers additional incentives (i.e., free counseling, flexible schedule during pandemic, etc.) 3. Not result oriented at the expense of employees physical/mental health

      Cons

      Some teams can be preoccupied with their work and become quite exclusive

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your feedback!

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Workplace culture

      Nov 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career growth and work life balance are highly encouraged

      Cons

      Cut throat and unhealthy competition among staff and leaders Leaders are threatened by great, skilled and professional employees who report to them. The leader will create an environment of fear and raise performance issues with the intent of frustrating and silencing the staff. Eventually staff do not feel passionate about doing their very best and contributing innovative ideas for the fear of being victimized. There is alot of with-hunt and back stabbing even in the national offices. If leaders or fellow staff .don't like you, they will try to destroy your reputation and career. The culture has sadly been fueled by HR and NLTs not taking any action or participating in it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your review. Compassion strives to be a healthy workplace for everyone. We’re sorry if your experience hasn’t been a positive one. The atmosphere you describe below is not one we strive for, obviously. If you know of any specific experiences that we can address, may we suggest you use our Ethics Point channel? You can file the report anonymously, just as you’ve done with this review, while giving specific examples that we can examine. As you pointed out, our five cultural behaviors are for every member of our team. We should be 100% for one another, careful with our words, laser-focused on our mission, invite others in and be serious about personal growth. While we may never reach perfection in any of these behaviors, these are the things for which we strive. One recent example is the way we are addressing the freedom to fail—giving license to try new things, so that we can learn from failures without repercussion, and build on successes. We are constantly working to improve. But the road to improvement is paved by addressing situations as they arise. If you can help us with specifics, we can address those issues and make our workplace safer and healthier for everyone.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Project Accountant

      Sep 28, 2021 - Project Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Releasing children from poverty in Jesus name

      Cons

      low salary working at the projects

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for your thoughts and thank you for your service with Compassion!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A good place to work

      Sep 9, 2021 - Specialist in Bandung, West Java
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees get professional training and developmental programs.

      Cons

      Ever changing policies and strategies, but they are inevitable, so it's understandable.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Compassion International Response

      Thank you for sharing and we greatly appreciate your service with Compassion!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 248 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Compassion International Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Compassion International? Share Your Experiences

    Compassion International logo
    or