Commissionaires Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Commissionaires Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Commissionaires Executive Director J. Douglas Briscoe
J. Douglas Briscoe
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "and benefits better than most other security company(in 5 reviews)

  • "They pay above the industry average and offer decent benefits, offer free training, and provide free uniforms(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "Management practices follow ISO only in theory, are an "old boys club" and are sooo far behind the times its embarassing(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly good management, good sites, lots of hours

    Cons

    lower pay compared to other companies, somewhere bad managements.

    Commissionaires2019-11-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ok pay, good sites, horrible dispatch and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commissionaires full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good sites, usually indoors and warm

    Cons

    The pay was ok and the dispatch and management was horrible. They are way too strict and treat themselves like they are the military. Also kinda racist

    Advice to Management

    Please kindly fire your dispatchers out of a cannon

    Commissionaires2019-12-06
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time

    Pros

    Nice experience so far, and lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    Salary depends on your site.

    Commissionaires2019-11-02
  4. "Stay away from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commissionaires full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Don’t have to be at head office

    Cons

    Big boy club. Got written up because I wouldn’t give a switch blade back to a client on site. Tried to explain that it was an illegal weapon but client alway right.

    Advice to Management

    Have some consideration for staff. You can’t force a guard to give back an illegal weapon. What is wrong with you guys.

    Commissionaires2019-12-07
  5. "Good cadre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Steady work. This review asks for more than 5 words. Good pay and benefits. Steady work is 5 words. This algorithm for the Glassdoor, sucks donkey balls.

    Cons

    Too many supervisors, not enough grunts

    Advice to Management

    Don't trade your labour with other sections, for less pay. I feel that my captain sees me as a number, not as a valued member of the team.

    Commissionaires2019-10-29
  6. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissionaire 

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity, flexibility , benefits, variety, relations

    Cons

    Slow to change and evolve

    Commissionaires2019-10-21
  7. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Security and Scale House Agrium/Nutrien in Redwater, AB

    I worked at Commissionaires full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience! Great partner! Enjoyed the work at the scale and scale staff!

    Cons

    Lower wages then what was posted

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Commissionaires2019-10-30
  8. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Detention Guard 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commissionaires part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, flexibility, co-workers, support, duties

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to reach management

    Commissionaires2019-10-15
  9. "Good for the semi-retired."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Alarm Room Attendant in Courtenay, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good responsive management People slightly respect Commissionaires more then other security companies.

    Cons

    Not very good benefits Barely okay pay

    Advice to Management

    Raises.

    Commissionaires2019-08-24
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Entry Assistant 

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time

    Pros

    creative space down to earth management

    Cons

    Not really a con but standard industry pay

    Commissionaires2019-08-13
Found 122 reviews