Commissionaires Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Commissionaires Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Commissionaires CEO J. Douglas Briscoe
J. Douglas Briscoe
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "They pay above the industry average and offer decent benefits, offer free training, and provide free uniforms(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good training opportunities are possible if you are lucky(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "Management practices follow ISO only in theory, are an "old boys club" and are sooo far behind the times its embarassing(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Security Guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time

    Pros

    Very respectful work environment. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    I did not like working night shifts but that is negotiable

    Commissionaires2019-02-22
  2. "Room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commissionaires full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very much enjoy the people I am working with, they seem to have the same enjoy their jobs. We all have the same goals, we all have the same struggles.

    Cons

    Wish we had some sort of team building, and room for advancement with in our division. It seems to be very limited.

    Advice to Management

    When you come to the sites get to know the guards, we are the people the make the company. We are the people that make the company what it is. It seems very impressionable, when some site managers come.

    Commissionaires2019-07-19
  3. "OTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photoradar in Edmonton, AB
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commissionaires full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work independently most of the time.

    Cons

    Rotating shifts, not always full time.

    Advice to Management

    no comment

    Commissionaires2019-07-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was a bitter sweet moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Matron At RCMP Detention in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Commissionaires part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed supervising prisoners and getting to know the great men and women of the RCMP police force

    Cons

    I'm not as young as I used to be and body couldn't get used to working night shifts.

    Advice to Management

    They need to ask the employee if they are willing to and able to do shiftwork and respect the employees choices.

    Commissionaires2019-07-01
  5. "No room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Gatineau, QC
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commissionaires full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Unionized works environment with fair pay.

    Cons

    Unionized advancement program with very limited recognition for experience and or skikk

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Commissionaires2019-06-16
  6. "controlling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Dispatcher 

      I have been working at Commissionaires full-time

      Pros

      work in team that wants to learn

      Cons

      can be boring at slow times

      Commissionaires2019-06-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Upper management are bullies"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Commissionaires full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      guards were fantastic to work with as were the clients

      Cons

      They do not care about their employees at all. No matter how hard you work for them you are not rewarded fairly. Females are paid less for the same job their male counterparts are performing. It is a cesspool of gossip and the upper management and middle management devulges confidential information after an employee has been terminated or leaves on their own terms. If you have a different opinion than the management team,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Act a bit more professional with your staff and refrain from sharing personal information on ex-employees.

      Commissionaires2019-07-05
    • "Commissionaires"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Guard in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Commissionaires part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly, Good training, Good sites

      Cons

      Not enough sites for jobs

      Commissionaires2019-05-03
    • "Security Guard - long term employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Commissionaires full-time

      Pros

      Employs many veterans in a variety of jobs. Largest employer of veterans.

      Cons

      None - jobs are what you make of them

      Commissionaires2019-04-23
    • "Dentention guard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Detention Guard in Vancouver, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commissionaires full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Training is good and informative

      Cons

      Pay is not too good

      Commissionaires2019-04-05
    Found 104 reviews