Cover image for Commerce Bank
Logo

Commerce Bank

Engaged Employer

Commerce Bank

Add a Review

Commerce Bank Reviews

Updated Dec. 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 779 of over 817 reviews
4.2
87% Recommend to a Friend
Commerce Bank President and CEO John W Kemper
94% Approve of CEO

Found 778 of over 817 reviews

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Commerce Bank President and CEO John W Kemper
John W Kemper
261 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a great work/life balance and recognize achievements(in 48 reviews)

  • "Good benefits including 401K match(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "pay is lower than competitors, behind the curve on work/life balance offerings(in 12 reviews)

  • "Too much emphasis on sales goals(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    17d

    a 

    Commercial Customer Service Representative

    What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

    30

    7 Comments

    Finance

    115K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Commerce Bank~1283
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Commerce Bank and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Great culture and work-life balance!

      Apr. 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is great! It's more than words on a paper as I've experienced at other companies. Our EDGE concepts are part of our language and how we treat each other. The people that work on my team Commerce genuinely care about one another. It's so refreshing to know I can be myself and be accepted for who I am and what I offer to our group.

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind right now.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      This is my Family

      Dec. 2, 2022 - FP&A Analyst in Clayton, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many pros! I've been employed by Commerce for over 35 years. I started as a teller trainee and have enjoyed many opportunities to work in various departments and lines of business over the years, learning our business from many perspectives. Commerce provided educational assistance for me to complete my college degree and offers many other learning opportunities as well. I have witnessed extraordinary passion for excellence, and that passion is contagious. My coworkers truly care about our company and our customers. We are encouraged to share ideas from our diverse perspectives. We assume positive intentions with each other. Commerce is a great place to work. My coworkers are like my family. I truly enjoy going to work every day.

      Cons

      Sure, there are other places out there that pay better than Commerce, but there's more to a job than the money.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Commerce Bank team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good pay, not a good company to work for.

      Dec. 6, 2022 - Assistant Branch Manager (ABM) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to ask for time off. Adequate training. Friendly, amazing Regional Managers.

      Cons

      You get marked off target if you don't use their customer based questionnaire at every account opening. Are expected to hit sales goals every month, or you will be marked off target. Have been asking the retail side to help out with call center duties. Not enough pay for the amount they are asking.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Nov. 21, 2022 - IT Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are treated fairly. Benefits and Pay are competitive Good work life balance

      Cons

      No real cons. Best place I have ever worked

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company and opportunity for growth

      Nov. 21, 2022 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commerce Bank is an excellent place to work. I've appreciated the respect for home and work life balance and the opportunities provided for advancement.

      Cons

      I have none to offer.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Place to work

      Nov. 17, 2022 - Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trustable, Safe, Friendly and Professional Working Environment.

      Cons

      Nothing till now in my idea (as Cons).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I was part of a team acquired by Commerce Bank. It was a very smooth transition.

      Nov. 18, 2022 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I wasn't exactly hired by Commerce, but was acquired by them, and have remained with them for many years. The corporate culture is strong and is a focus; culture is not just lip-service. Diversity, equity and inclusion are in the forefront. Likewise, engagement in and with our local communities is emphasized. The benefits are excellent, and the pay-scale is competitive. Senior management tends to be accessible. Communication overall is a strength.

      Cons

      None. Why a five-word minimum?

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      So-so

      Nov. 29, 2022 - Senior Mortgage Banker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Long standing relationships. Large bank with small community banking fe

      Cons

      Conservative and do little to praise employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Nov. 22, 2022 - Branch Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay. Work/life balance. Modern facilities

      Cons

      Change, direct leadership, Saturday hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Personal Banker 2

      Nov. 3, 2022 - Personal Banker 2 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee focused company when you’re under the right manager, plenty of opportunities within the company, higher pay for a bank.

      Cons

      The only cons I have is with some managers I’ve worked under. Systems run slow, online banking is down a lot. The company likes to add duties to current employees rather than branching out to hire more people for curtain roles.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 778 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Commerce Bank Reviews FAQs

    Commerce Bank has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 817 reviews left anonymously by employees. 87% of employees would recommend working at Commerce Bank to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Commerce Bank employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Commerce Bank. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    87% of Commerce Bank employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Commerce Bank 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Commerce Bank Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Commerce Bank? Share Your Experiences

    Commerce Bank logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Commerce Bank Photos

    + Add Photo
    Commerce Bank photo of: RISE for the Cure
    Commerce Bank photo of: Commerce COVID Kit
    Commerce Bank photo of: Commerce Swag!
    Commerce Bank photo of: Appreciation at Commerce
    Commerce Bank photo of: Commerce loves our teams and isn’t afraid to shout it.
    Commerce Bank photo of: Commerce Bank has been named one of Missouri’s Best Employers! This is the fourth time in 2019 we have been included on a Forbes list
    Commerce Bank photo of: There’s nothing like that morning Starbucks run to put you in a good mood. Great co-workers help a lot, too.
    See All Photos

    Commerce Bank Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Bank of America Logo
    Bank of America

    3.9

    36,199 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 817 Commerce Bank reviews submitted anonymously by Commerce Bank employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Commerce Bank is right for you.