Combined Insurance Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated Apr 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 899 reviews

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Joe Vasquez
Joe Vasquez
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 35 reviews)

  • "Combined Insurance changes my life through PMA(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It can take long hours in the beginning- still worth it(in 43 reviews)

  • "Door-to-door sales and prospecting is required(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "door to door"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing Opportunity if you are self motivated and care about people

      Apr 14, 2016 - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Products for customers, Amazing earning potential ( The harder you work, the more you earn), and Great Support from management. If you are self motivated and love to help people, this is the career for you!

      Cons

      Not for lazy people. You must be self motivated and love to help people. Door to Door sales is not for everyone, but it really is a small part of what we do

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales Manager

      Jun 18, 2015 - Sales Manager in Charlottetown, PE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I almost tear up daily at the opportunity this company has given to me, my family, my team and my clients. My favorite part of job is explaining to people with cancer we are going to pay them for their hospitalization and treatments, telling them that they have access to some of the best doctors in the world. Telling people that spend weeks in the hospital that got burned that are stressed out about getting back to work....that they have up to three times the days they spend in to recover. I have the best job in the world and I do see some people come and go and have bad things to say about combined, all I have to say is that your attitude defines everything. Please don't lose an opportunity for with this amazing company weather it be a career or coverage over someone else's' negative attitude or experience.

      Cons

      No Cons some people don't like door to door sales....however how are you going to change someone's life if you don't try....? "there is nothing to lose by trying, and a great deal to gain by succeeding" our founder W. clement stone the most amazing man in the world google his accomplishments!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Combined Insurance Response

      HR Representative

      Thank you for your kind review. We are honored to have such a dedicated and caring advocate who is representing us daily. As you mentioned, our goal is to help people but it would not be possible without employees such as yourself. We also appreciate you recognizing our founder, W. Clement Stone, in your post. His philosophies and words of wisdom are still foundational to who we are as a company today – especially his #1 success principle PMA (Positive Mental Attitude). Thank you again for your generous response. It is always nice to receive feedback from our employees in the US and abroad. We wish you many years of continued success with Combined Insurance.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Manager / Insurance Rep

      Dec 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Policies issued very fast - usually payed the following week provide leads payed training easy to move up the ladder only responsible 9 months for sold policies

      Cons

      clients do not belong to you once you leave very old fashioned company - train you mainly to do door to door As sales manager you are also responsible of you teams cancelled policies : must make sure they make good sales that stay in the books

      2 people found this review helpful

      Combined Insurance Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thanks so much for taking the time to share this review. We provide our agents with a week long training session, and we strive to continue to offer training and support in the field. We offer merit-based promotions, and we provide some leads. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t bother. There are better opportunities elsewhere.

      Oct 30, 2019 - Sales Representative in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. If you want to be extremely frustrated, then, by all means, go for it. There’s a reason while they run an agent mill that cranks out new agents a few times a month. Virtually all agents flame out within 6 months.

      Cons

      Everything. If you want to spend all your commissions on gas, fast food, and vehicle wear and tear, then this is the perfect job for you! This company operates with an outdated door-to-door model. Most people don’t appreciate salesmen knocking on their door after dark in 2019. It was an accepted practice in 1949–but not now. Management will harass their sales people. I would get text messages in church at 10a.m. I would get texts from management while I was in bed at 10:30 pm. I’m not a trauma surgeon, and no one was bleeding to death. This manager was predatory in his sales practices and very uncouth in his interaction with employees. There is no such thing as work/life balance. What I have stated to true of probably 95 percent of this company’s sales force, most likely more. I could write for days about the sleazy practices that I noticed while working for Combined.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales Agent

      Mar 9, 2020 - Sales Agent in Mooresville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule, Money is good when you make a sale, Nice trips you can win

      Cons

      Discord in Charlotte and Mooresville regions. High turnover. Advanced paychecks put you at risk for having charge backs. Door-to-door sales and prospecting is required. The leads aren't a good source to new employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Combined Insurance Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. Our sales agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales, as well as other incentives, and they have the flexibility to manage their schedule around what is best for their customers. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't do it

      Apr 11, 2020 - Insurance Sales in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There were literally none management is aweful

      Cons

      Door to door sales Glorified MLM Have to guilt people into buying it

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Remember those door to door sales men???

      Oct 25, 2018 - Agent in Madison, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The apps you work with are very simple and easy to understand. The Training was very good. Company Issued Ipad to conduct your business, free business cards. They have some great products also

      Cons

      You do not have any leads like they say you will. The only "leads" are current policy holders and a list of nearby businesses that are only a lead because they are public knowledge. You literally are a door to door sales person. If you cant sell door to door you will not survive. Had weekly meetings.... way too many along with group messages all day and night and multiple of the groups for no reason on your personal cell and not on just on the company Ipad. The Ipad also has group messages so your being bothered all day and night even if your not working that day or if it doesn't even pertain to you.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Combined Insurance Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are happy to hear that you felt training was "very good", as it is our goal to make sure our agents are ready for success in the field. It's true this type of sales is not for everyone, and we regret it wasn't a good fit for you. We will share your comments with the appropriate teams, and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      sales

      Oct 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Latham, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you get to go to a 5 star hotel for the first 2 weeks to hear all the propaganda and learn the sales pitch you are supposed to try to get someone to buy supplemental insurance, they also pay for you to get your insurance sales license, 400 each week for the first 2 weeks.

      Cons

      Mandatory weekly pep talk conferences, cold calling, old leads, driving over an hour to your territory then walking door to door , knocking on doors. pay not commensurate with the hours.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to learn sales and move on

      Oct 17, 2016 - Insurance Sales Agent in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sales school is top notch While I would not recommend to a friend, it is a great entry level sales job to learn how to sale Products are very strong, especially accident policy Freedom to set own schedule W2 employee, so taxes are done and benefits are available, but expensive

      Cons

      Cold-call selling door to door residential is vicious No training on how to build B2B business Very hard to compete in B2B settings - will lose to the Duck more often than not 100% commission Chargebacks - and there will be lots of them. You may find yourself in the negatives frequently and being without a decent paycheck for weeks at a time No support in the field, even with a good TM. Tons of meaningless meetings and rallies that waste time/money/energy Turnover rate is very high; company places no value on employee retention. Average new hire lasts less than six months. No expense reimbursement at all Underwriting is very slow Claims are even slower Life and disability policies aren't priced competitively at all. Absolutely no name recognition as the company does no advertising; actually had a client question whether or not this was a scam while filling out the application. Doing the right thing for the customer isn't always the idea, going against their corporate mantra; helping a customer to get out of an old policy that no longer makes any sense and putting them into a better new product is not only frowned upon, it can cost you your job.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Combined Insurance Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to review our company and for mentioning that our “sales school is top notch.” It is our aim that our Agents will learn the fundamentals of great selling and then stay with us throughout their career, but it’s true that sales is not for everyone. We have an array of products for Agents to offer to their clients. In fact, we have been recognized by the Ward Group on its annual Ward’s Top Performing Life-Health Insurance Companies for the past six years. We are always striving to improve and we appreciate your feedback. We will share this with leadership. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      People are very nice, compensation presented is reaching at best, cult like training.

      Jan 23, 2015 - Insurance Sales Agent in Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Peers and leadership are nice and supportive. The school in Chicago is all expense paid and the instructors promote a genuine care and concern. 55% commission versus typical 30% commission pay structure for worksite products and bonuses earned.

      Cons

      They hire anyone. You are in a room, which extremely unprofessional peers and leadership. The schooling in Chicago, elicits a robotic and cult like feel. They make you memorize scripts verbatim and chant cheesy lines as a form of motivation. You have to hustle knocking door to door on businesses. They present the idea, that leads are provided. By leads, they mean a list of businesses in your designated area which you cold call and randomly door knock. Compensation for worksite is only 55%, versus life insurance which is typically 75-90%. Guaranted pay goes by very quickly and is not enough to sustain a person. The expense of gas is high as you have to drive to random businesses, in your attempt to bombard them with a forced sales presentation. I've witnessed leadership, be overbaring to the point of their very presence creating a high degree of tension by simply walking through the door. It's an embarrassing feeling as well as association.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Combined Insurance Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Combined Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    Combined Insurance logo
    or