College Chefs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

College Chefs Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs CEO Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
92 Ratings
  1. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have 34 years in the industry and I have worked the 80 - 120 work weeks ..not any more , I am working 40 - 45 hours a week , paid time off for thanksgiving and Christmas , I am able to use all my experience to bring creativity to the table , my boss is awesome always lending support , always willing to talk and help with any idea or problem . I am in a sorority house i have 50 girls , they are great individuals and...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any cons of complaints

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing ! This company rocks !!!

    College Chefs2019-03-28
  2. "Good place to work if you enjoy being a chef and traveling for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good management support staff Ability to travel for work Good pay Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Can be highly stressful throughout the year On call 24/7 Medical benefits could be better

    Advice to Management

    Continue pushing positive culture and teamwork.

    College Chefs2019-03-19
  3. "Best Culture Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture, solid pay, management will make sure they put you in best position to succeed.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits could be improved.

    College Chefs2019-03-19
  4. "Great company to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Full support from the management team, Cares a lot about their employees, A lot of vacation time, Great pay, Amazing culture the company has built, and they show their appreciation on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Health and Dental benefits could be better

    College Chefs2019-03-19
  5. "Great challenging place to grow as a individual team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Corvallis, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Monday thru Friday for the most no earlier than 7a.m. and no later than 6.p.m. weekends off for the most part. 1week off paid for turkey day 4weeks off paid for Christmas 1 week for spring break and four to five 3 day weekends through the year. I was sold on this aspect alone. Oh and did I mention the summer off which college chefs does not deny unemployment for the summer. 2. Great leadership that is knowledgeable,...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. The way we communicate is a bit challenging at first, but I got it done and became more tech sauce because of colleges chefs. 2. Can be quite challenging at times and the work load can be alot, but as chefs we rise to the occasion and it just makes you stronger. 3. Accepting the fact that you can't make every client happy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and come see us more.

    College Chefs2019-03-17
  6. "Fun Job, Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Lexington, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Benefits, Paid Vacation, Creative Freedom

    Cons

    Being laid off all summer

    Advice to Management

    Incentives for meeting semester budget goals, winning contests, etc, etc, etc.

    College Chefs2019-03-16
  7. "Great Managers, Cool Food!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Moscow, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm treated like a respected professional, who knows what they're doing. I get to write my own menus and do my own ordering, all within a clearly stated budget. Can't go wrong w/ paid breaks during the school year, and we have actual usable benefits.

    Cons

    Summer lay-off can be a minor drag, but that is inherent in the business model. Unemployment for the seasonally laid off attached worker is an easy mitigation.

    Advice to Management

    As far as my own experience so far, just keep doing what you're doing, and don't try to fix things that aren't broken.

    College Chefs2019-03-16
  8. "Great company, great people, great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Work with great chefs with a shared goal of providing ridiculously good food service Ability to be creative and always feel supported Opportunity for advancement Fast paced, adrenaline rush, travel Work as a team where input is expected and valued, generally we collaborate and are not dictated to

    Cons

    At first the unknown, the unexpected calls, 24/7 availability and the sudden change in plans, After a while it becomes a lifestyle you crave and it's the down time that feels awkward

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have been with College Chefs for right at 3 years. I love my job. I get to be creative and take suggestions from the house. Set schedule sun-thurs. Occasional later evening for an event. Paid winter break of over 4 weeks plus holidays and spring break

    Cons

    Unpaid summer break but job placement with summer camps is available

    Advice to Management

    Reward or incentive for maintaining budget

    College Chefs2019-03-15
  10. "You Can't beat The Vacation time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working for this company, it has truely allowed me to be able to hone my passion and have a life. I love that I am my own real limiter and I can make my own decisions without being micromanaged. Small crew, Great hours, Great Pay, Gr Vacation time!

    Cons

    No summer placement, but they are upfront about this so it can be managed with proper finacial management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on communication, it is getting better than it was!

    College Chefs2019-03-15
Found 123 reviews