College Chefs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

College Chefs Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
College Chefs Owner Kevin Gadus
Kevin Gadus
99 Ratings
  1. "Jolly n creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is one of the best hotel i had worked with

    Cons

    Games room has less games compare to the games around it

    College Chefs2020-02-04
  2. "Best Cooking Job Ever!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Cook in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You're able to enjoy a wonderful family life as well as a great pay and weekly hours!

    Cons

    I haven't found any!!!

    College Chefs2020-01-30
  3. "Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall I think the job is amazing, I work with respectful and understanding people.

    Cons

    I don’t really like the new pay app I feel like it kinda complicated everything even more than UltiPro did because sometimes we all forget to clock out sometimes and it would be much easier if you could just fix it ourselves like we used to be able to.

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2020-01-30
  4. "Incredible company, ran by incredible people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Chef in Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intuitive, understanding, supportive, goal oriented, inspiring, allows culinary creativity

    Cons

    For chefs assigned to Greek houses, no work in the summer

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2020-01-29
  5. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Creative Freedom, Each week it's a new menu that you as the Chef get to create. So you are constantly learning a new trade and advancing your skill set. Holidays you are with your families and it's PAID! Communication with anyone in the upper management including the Owner is incredible. They actually care about the employees rather it be professionally or personally. It's a incredible company. I see myself staying long term and moving up the corporate ladder.

    Cons

    Summer break (usually 8 weeks) is not paid. But I guarantee that they are working on a solution for this.

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2020-01-24
  6. "Perfect for the Independent Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Fayetteville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, create your own menus, run your show with support from upper management .

    Cons

    If your not an Independent Chef that can think on your feet and adjust to the common problems that could arise in the culinary world you could struggle at first

    College Chefs2020-01-26
  7. "Loving what I love to do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great work schedule with lots of paid time off. Working with a wonderful group of young adults. Getting to do what I love; Cooking for people that actually appreciate my work. Having the freedom to create my own menus. What more could I ask for?

    Cons

    Doing my own dishes; good thing I don't make a big mess.

    College Chefs2020-01-04
  8. "Horrible hours and management does nothing about racist house directors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at College Chefs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The compensation is okay and paid holidays are a plus.

    Cons

    Schedule was from 12-8pm, no off days whatsoever unless you’re sick or it’s a super emergency, house directors are allowed to harass and belittle you because as my supervisor told me “we are contracted by them”. If you are black or brown, I wouldn’t recommend this job to you.

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-08-20
  9. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have 34 years in the industry and I have worked the 80 - 120 work weeks ..not any more , I am working 40 - 45 hours a week , paid time off for thanksgiving and Christmas , I am able to use all my experience to bring creativity to the table , my boss is awesome always lending support , always willing to talk and help with any idea or problem . I am in a sorority house i have 50 girls , they are great individuals and they make it all.worth while ,, yes I love my job !!!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons of complaints

    Continue reading
    College Chefs2019-03-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at College Chefs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full support from the management team, Cares a lot about their employees, A lot of vacation time, Great pay, Amazing culture the company has built, and they show their appreciation on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Health and Dental benefits could be better

    College Chefs2019-03-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 131 reviews