Cogo Labs Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 of over 72 reviews

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Cogo Labs CEO Rob Fisher
Rob Fisher
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Technical skill development, work/life balance, great coworkers(in 10 reviews)

  • "Amazing work environment and people(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Design at Cogo could benefit from more organization(in 14 reviews)

  • "Cogo could also be a bit more upfront about their business model which is more advertising focused than is initially apparent(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Rebuilding for a bright future

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cogo is currently in a rebuilding phase in many ways, which has brought some frustration along with opportunity. The CEO has continued to keep transparency his focus, even during remote work, with clear updates in company meetings and emails. Remote work has been tough (at least in my personal experience) - but Cogo has provided tons of flexibility to deal with personal things (unlimited sick time for all employees and unlimited personal time for parents to address childcare needs during the pandemic). My manager consistently gives me timely feedback - both positive and constructive. From what I see and hear, many of the managers at Cogo are equally amazing. If you see a gap that you want to correct or a project that you want to work on, Cogo gives you the opportunity to do so. They stay focused on working on what's impactful, so that means making your case in a constructive and data-driven way. I appreciate this because it means we're always focusing on what's most important and driving us towards our goals. As a woman at Cogo, I haven't faced the issues noted in other reviews here. Cogo is continuing to make strides in diversity (there's work to do here), but I've always felt respected and that my voice is heard.

      Cons

      These aren't exactly cons, but certainly areas for opportunity (which I've seen Cogo working on actively) Some employees feel a lack of ownership regarding culture. There's work to be done refreshing the culture and giving folks what they need to feel ownership. Some of this is likely from remote work/pandemic stress. There is work to do on diversity and it should continue to be a focus.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      White men’s club

      Jun 5, 2021 - Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. This place is the worst. The CEO is a complete self centered, ego maniac, with major trust and transparency insecurities. If you’re a white, straight, male you’ll fit in just fine.

      Cons

      Too many to list, but let’s start with the leadership team, the plagiarized values and leadership principles (stolen from Amazon), or the complete disregard for diversity. The CEO and COO are a completely rude and talk so poorly of others behind closed doors.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for short growth

      Mar 10, 2021 - Generalist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast-pace Opportunities to take on ownership of work and clear show of impact Great benefits and great coworkers

      Cons

      Departure of high level people leadership Leadership attributes all departure to “alignment” issues to the business model and doesn’t address underlying employee frustrations and issues

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible place to work

      May 31, 2021 - Senior Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. No pros. Place is toxic.

      Cons

      There is absolutely no diversity in upper management. They aren't honest with job candidates about what work actually goes on here (marketing).

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If you are not a straight white male this is not the company for you

      Mar 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, minus c level executives were wonderful

      Cons

      A breeding ground for toxic masculinity. Diversity is one of their lowest priorities and if you didn’t go to a “top school” you don’t deserve to work there... according to the CEO Rob Fisher. Rob and Blair Merlino run Cogo Labs like a boys club. Think 1980’s Wall Street.. except their making no money. Truly one of the most toxic places I’ve ever worked.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      99 Problems and Diversity is half of them

      Mar 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Entry-level colleagues are empathetic, kind, and supportive to everyone.

      Cons

      In my experience I've only seen a path to success for straight, white men. Constant disrespect from members of the executive team. A culture rooted in binge drinking and promoting through favoritism. Absolutely no business model concept and poor execution at best.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ask the right questions before you join

      Mar 31, 2021 - Senior Analyst in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great community of smart junior analysts and engineers

      Cons

      Ask these three questions to your hiring manager before you join: 1.- Where does most of the company's revenue come from? How many companies have been launched in the last year? 2.- How many years have they managed people? What is the promotion cycle? 3.- What is the attrition rate for specific team?

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Set to fail

      Mar 26, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing and kind people Decent benefits package

      Cons

      CEO Rob Fisher and COO Blair Merlino take no accountability for their part in attrition or the demise of Cogo This is not Amazon or Netflix. Without brand or success, the shifts will not succeed No longer a culture of support, development or growth No longer a place for innovators or entrepreneurs

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pros

      Decent place for someone fresh out of school just looking for experience. You'll get trained up on analytics or engineering in a year or two but most leave for a legitimate role or business model elsewhere.

      Cons

      Leadership team is high on functional experience but falls severely short on EQ. The CEO, Rob Fisher built this team via cronyism so they suffer frmo group think. Feedback from middle management or analysts are largely ignored if it doesn't align with Rob's vision or they accept people leaving as a way of "phasing out the weak". The exec team also has no woman or people of color represented, which is very apparent in the company's inability to attract and retain talent. Favoritism is super common amongst analytics staff, and people with little to no management ability or interest lead junior analysts and provide poor support.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Cogo Labs Response

      Thanks for the feedback. I realize it how frustrating it can be to feel like you’re not being heard. For us, alignment is everything. We can’t be successful unless we’re all pulling in the same direction. So we do what we can to ensure alignment in every part of the org, even if that means shelving good ideas that are additive in favor of those that are multiplicative. As for the management team, I can only say that it’s a group of highly skilled and experienced people aligned to a common mission. That quality comes from painstaking, diligent, and frank disagreements with a massive helping of mutual respect and psychological safety. I’m glad to hear that the product of all that is viewed from outside the group as a team united, because we’ve worked hard to forge it. I hope that helps, and I’m always available in-person to talk these details through! -- Rob

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Lots of Oppportunities; Excellent Mentorship

      May 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cogo Labs is, without a doubt, the greatest professional opportunity I have been afforded in my career. I feel lucky to work on such interesting business and technology challenges with such amazing people every day. The best thing about Cogo is every employee's ability to step up to the plate and deliver on projects with huge impact. Since we're staring dozens of companies concurrently, the organization is ripe with opportunity - all you have to do is choose an important problem and go after it. From big data to digital marketing to employee engagement, you define your own personal story for success in a rapidly-growing organization. The other best thing about Cogo is its people. From exec to entry-level, the people possess expertise, humility, empathy, and are a genuine pleasure to work with. Everyone is a leader at Cogo; the organization has instilled the value distributed ownership at all levels. Additionally, the high degree of accessibility of top-notch mentorship allows employees at all stages of their career to learn from world-class talent as well as one another. I cannot recommend it highly enough for those who have an appetite for creative problem solving and a positive attitude!

      Cons

      I'm not sure I could name any!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Cogo Labs Response

      HR Generalist

      Hey there – thanks for your response, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your work during your time here at Cogo and were able to find success in growing your career! Cogo’s mission and values consistently attend to our employee’s career development and the development of new incubating companies and overall growth. We agree that a welcoming culture that celebrates diverse groups of people is incredibly important and we are taking active steps towards building and implementing programs to help drive belonging within the organization. That being said, we recognize there’s still a lot of work to be done and acknowledge we are far from perfect, especially when it comes to getting everything right in this work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 60 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cogo Labs Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cogo Labs? Share Your Experiences

    Cogo Labs logo
    or