Coast Dental Services Employee Reviews about "dentist"

Updated Mar 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 191 reviews

2.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Coast Dental Services CEO Derek Diasti (no image)
Derek Diasti
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "My pay is good and we're a part of the union(in 6 reviews)

  • "At Coast Dental we are committed to delivering excellent patient care, dedicated to ensuring growth and opportunity for our employees(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "More of a factory atmosphere than patient care(in 12 reviews)

  • "Also there are not a lot of the private practice "perks", like the dentist paying for trips, or taking the staff to dental conventions(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "dentist"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Best Family Run Dental Corporation

      Sep 24, 2019 - Registered Dental Hygienist in Port Charlotte, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my 20+ years with Coast I have witnessed numerous changes but the primary directive has always been to provide the BEST possible patient care with the most current materials and instrumentation available. As a hygienist, I have also enjoyed being viewed as a health care provider and not just an employee of the dentist in the practice, which is what winds up happening in private practice settings. There are also many benefits available that are not available in private practice, i.e. 401K, health insurance, paid vacation, etc.

      Cons

      Many equate working for a dental corporation like working in a clinic because of the numerous dental plans accepted, so some may see this as a con of working for Coast. Also there are not a lot of the private practice "perks", like the dentist paying for trips, or taking the staff to dental conventions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Coast Dental Services Response

      Recruiter

      Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working at Coast Dental! While we still have things to work on, we’re glad you share the same feeling, to provide the BEST possible patient care. We have worked hard to make this directive a part of the culture here at Coast. We appreciate everything you do for us and look forward to working hard to make Coast Dental the best place possible to work and build a career!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      We Believe in the Power of Teamwork

      Sep 23, 2019 - Director of Marketing in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Coast Dental you will enjoy a professional and personal work-life-balance and thrive in a culture that supports advancement, training and continuing education. This includes a superior compensation and benefits package and the opportunity to work with a progressive and well-respected dental group that is helping shape the future of dentistry. PLUS, the Coast Family is still managed by our founding dentist and family partnership.

      Cons

      Coast is always looking for ways to make improvements to their processes - if that is even a con.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Easily the worst job I've ever had

      Mar 8, 2020 - Dental Assistant in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No weekends. Usually got a lunch.

      Cons

      Upper and middle management are incompetent. Equipement is broken. Supply budget is unrealistically low. Patient base is overwhelmingly Medicaid and Medicare. Patients are seen as cash cows. Dentists will do ANYTHING to make money and keep corporate off their backs.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Coast Dental Services Response

      Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Coast Dental. I’m sorry you didn’t have a great experience during your time here. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our teams to be flexible serving our patients in an industry that changes daily. Communication and professionalism, we are working hard in this area and looking to increase training and a change in leadership to improve in these areas. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you All the best in your career.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      ZERO LEADERSHIP- ZERO TRAINING

      Oct 1, 2019 - Office Manager in Tallahassee, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NONE- DO NOT WORK HERE_ VERY DISAPPOINTING

      Cons

      This was the worst week of my career- I was told that I had to do a conference call everyday at 5PM that could last to 6PM- I was told take the numbers and read them while driving in the car- REALLy, explain how you could close the day, - with ZERO training and read and drive at the same time- while picking your child up... NO THANK YOU- I should have listened to the staff reviews because they are horrible just as the patient reviews are, with good reason.. The patients are just that " patient" As a patient seeing a different dentist, a different hygienist different front staff truly says it all. I have never left a review in my life.. but this was the worst experience of my life- the DM shows you how to do the process the LONG way- checks everywhere to be deposited but because no one is properly trained there is money laying around everywhere..... because they can't enter the information into the OLD dental software with the SLOWEST computers I have ever SEEN. numbers, numbers numbers, you want to increase the numbers- give your staff a few tools to be successful- THIS WAS ThE WORST corporation I have ever been associated in my entire life....... it was the most embarrassing experience of my life!! another OM quit no notice while having lunch- IT is obvious that management and training in the company doesn't exist... Who has an office master check out their patients and schedule the next appointment while scanning- yes scanning x-rays the oldest slowest flat bed scanner I have seen in my life----- you could save time, and process claims much quicker if you send just al little money ( literally less than $200 ) the x-rays are developed, yes developed there in the office. staff on their cell phones while be paid hourly while they say to the OM, stay til the job is done.... even in the dark in a bad neighborhood. LOL now thats funny, unethical- you will never keep an OM, one week, 1 day NEVER- Your reputation is just what the patients and former employees say.. you have a form " voluntary resignation" on your intra office website.... that should have been my first clue. Am I mad- no very disappointed in being misled and saying that I would have the proper training.... hahaha now thats funny- I promise that your corporate office will be very interested in how you are running these offices, or lack there of.... How many people have walked out of Coast Dental as an employeee-- A LOT- Get a trainer if you can find someone , clean up the practice on E Tennessee Street, and all over the state...... Your staff is held hostage by holding the phone the you could simply get a headset for them..... Seriously this was the worst experience of my life------

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Company went down in the last 2yr

      Apr 20, 2017 - Dental Assistant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked for 12 years for them great benefits, had good hours until recently used to have a great bonus system had some seasoned employees and dentists

      Cons

      Started working with the company in 2006 they used to give raises.hadn't received once since 2011. Had to take a leave for a death company was very rude about me returning telling me if I didn't hurry back I would lose my job.upper management picked favorites hired new doctors right out of school and wanted assistants to train them saying that was our job😳. I asked if I could transfer to the front desk om told me I would have to take a pay cut! What made me leave the company no progression and lack of care for there loyal employees they don't care ,want assistants to break their backs to help dentists produce no lunch break literally every day dentist has all the say so if they don't want to let assistants break never had been wrote up in all my years in till I work with a dentist she was right out of school and wanted to blame the assistants for everything and upper management believed her CRAZY PEOPLE ,LEAVING WAS THE BEST THING I COULD HAVE EVER DONE . Also over worked there assistants meaning making the them take multiple X-rays (fmx) had to work alone seeing to many patients with no help from lazy front desk management she wouldn't even seat patients if I was running behind and to 2hr lunch breaks but she was a favorite so it didn't matter

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      RDA

      Oct 4, 2017 - Rda in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My pay is good and we're a part of the union. Not working on Saturdays and only one day we work until 7. Union pays for medical and other benefits. Gives a 25 cent raise every year I believe. lol

      Cons

      The office and old and run down. Equipment old and barely holding up. There is no janitorial service so the employees take out the trash stock the restrooms and mop floors in the offices. Their budget is ridiculously low so it's almost impossible to get the supplies an office needs to run smoothly. We've run out of gloves, sterilization pouches, masks and lab coats. You put your order in for supplies and they send what they want to. Short staffed they have one person doing a job for 3 people. They hire dentists out of school that really aren't trained or have the experience to keep these offices a float.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      RUN FAR AWAY

      Aug 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll get your paycheck on time. That's about it!

      Cons

      If I could give a negative 5 star rating I wouldn't hesitate to do so. The culture of the company has to be one of the worst I've ever encountered. They make me feel very unappreciated as an employee. They go above an beyond for their dentist and they treat them like Gods, and the rest of us are peasants. The dentist says jump and Coast asks how high. It's the most ridiculous circus ever. They have blackout dates for the last two weeks in Nov and the entire month of Dec. Your time off will not get approved and they won't let you take it unpaid either so if you're not a native in the state you work in oh well for spending time with your loved ones. Yet the execs and dentist will be enjoying their holidays with their loved ones. The pay is ok but they can certainly do better. They low ball you to start with and I personally don't know anyone who gets raises. The benefits are a complete disaster. They doubled the premiums on everything from 2017 to 2018 and the coverage is much worse. The 401k might as well not be a 401k, because they don't contribute or match. There are no performance reviews (but there are write ups), there are no raises, there is no formal training, and there are no career growth opportunities. I know people in different offices in other states as well as a couple of people in the corporate office in FL.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Dental assistant

      Jan 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to home. Great hours.

      Cons

      Toxic office manager that expected the moon and did not provide training. Dentist did not care and his work reflected it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A good place to work

      Jul 25, 2013 - Dentist in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A large peer group. Good continuing education. Employee issues handled by management. Very easy to get replacement or substitute employees on short notice. I've been there for about 10 years and most of the staff for over 5 years. Very high quality of the staff members. Very low turnover in this office. Quality materials used in treatment. Modern facility.

      Cons

      Occasionally dealing with middle management can be annoying. Balancing the budget can be challenging, but overall this is a minor issue. Having read some of the negative reviews, I would counter that these issues are "office specific" and not "company specific". The same negative comments could be said about many private offices. The quality and ethics of an office is determined by the dentist working there, not the company that does the management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Would Not Recommend

      Aug 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coast only values numbers and production so if you are a dentist who produces even a small amount, you will be valued.

      Cons

      Any other position within Coast, from management to front desk to corporate, you are not valued and are treated as disposable. Coast Dental offers average pay with poor benefits, the premiums are extremely high for plans that you still have high deductibles for. PTO accrues as you work but management makes random exceptions for some individuals who get more PTO. Coast also enforces a 'blackout' period where employees cant take time off during holidays. There are no annual review procedures in place. No opportunity to discuss your wage or duties or advancement. There is no opportunity for growth. When a position becomes available management immediately opens a position to external applicants and fails to consider anyone internally and also fails to develop their staff into becoming a viable option for promotions upon positions opening. Human Resources is disconnected and the only time they are involved is with a complaint or write up. Therefore, you do not feel supported. The culture within Coast is so disappointing because of all of these factors as well as upper management being completely unapproachable. Coast Dental is one of the most disappointing places that I have ever worked.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Work at Coast Dental Services? Share Your Experiences

    Coast Dental Services logo
    or