Coast Capital Savings Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jun 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Coast Capital Savings President and CEO Calvin MacInnis
Calvin MacInnis
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very positive and inclusive work environment(in 17 reviews)

  • "I have met nothing but great people in my few years here(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "top heavy(in 5 reviews)

  • "Many staff are working long hours(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place, but back office support direct to members sucks.

      Jun 16, 2020 - Commercial Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture. Great people. Starting to take themselves seriously

      Cons

      Management doesn’t see a point to creating back office support channels direct to the members.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Proud to work at Coast Capital

      Jul 10, 2019 - Member Banking Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, great benefits, great pension plan if you stay with the company long term. New retail director Chris Maze has done a great job so far. Good company morale, good flexibility. Great retail management within the Metro-Vancouver region (Dennis Kuo, Cherise Nolin, Courtney Roth to name a few) Calvin appears to be a good CEO with a promising outlook. Great VP with Lisa. Coast has done a good job at recognizing efforts of employees, ensuring they have the support of management for career growth as well as rewarding employees who put in effort. Great lending benefits. Strong focus on work life balance, no unrealistic sales expectations. I have met nothing but great people in my few years here.

      Cons

      More competitive pay for Financial Planners and Mobile Mortgage teams should be evaluated as there appears to be strong enough incentive to leave Coast Capital for a position within a private firm. Higher individual compensation for these crucial roles will cost Coast more upfront, but should negate situations where skilled people leave and bring a large chunk of business with them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Coast Capital Savings Response

      Director, Talent Acquisition

      We do have amazing employees that make us proud to work in this organization and we appreciate you acknowledging some of our leadership team. Thank you for your insights regarding the pay structure for some of our roles. At Coast Capital we are continually working on being competitive in the Financial Services industry thought annual benchmark studies with our peers. Thanks again for your feedback.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company and Great culture

      Jan 31, 2019 - IT Service Management in Surrey, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great people to work with, challenging fast paced environment with lot of opportunities to learn new skills. Chance to work with latest technologies and applications. Very good growth opportunities.Very good initiatives by leadership team to grow and the opportunities are boundless. I have seen people working for decades and I've seen many people develop and move into promotions. Employee benefits are very good.

      Cons

      No feedback. The best employer I've ever had. Still need to work on the compensation according current market.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Started out good

      Jul 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture in most teams and a lot of great people. Good benefits.

      Cons

      No opportunities for growth. Some teams can have toxic people, which is due to lack of strong leadership. Slow paced. Parking.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Customer Service Representative

      Feb 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Loved the energy and my team. Everyone is very supportive and willing to help you out when you start

      Cons

      It is difficult to move up within the company. Becoming more about sales and a bigger bottom line.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Coast Capital Savings Response

      Manager, People Solutions

      It’s nice to hear how frequently people love working with everyone here at Coast. It’s a special place to be and that’s only possible because of the people who choose to work here. Thank you for sharing the challenges you experienced with career planning and development. We appreciate your advice as it’s something that we try to keep top of mind by offering support for employees and managers to ensure these types of conversations are happening with a good frequency, solid dialogue and well-rounded perspective setting realistic expectations. Its positive reinforcement to hear such supports are value-add and we look forward to continuing to build our skill sets in this area.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, great people

      Aug 23, 2016 - Customer Service Representative in Surrey, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fairly flexible scheduling, good pay, great people to work with. Good benefits and corporate culture. Expanding company, focused on helping their customers

      Cons

      Personally I hate sales so the role is very tiresome after 4+ years. Can be hard to move into other departments as roles rarely come up for back office

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Coast Capital Savings Response

      Manager, People Solutions

      We wholly agree we are a “great company, with great people”. #smileyface We strive to provide a fun working culture for our employees that offers flexible scheduling, competitive pay and benefits and great people. And we are glad that you are a part of it! Sorry to hear sales has been so taxing on you! Being in sales is not for everyone so good to know you are exploring other opportunities within Coast Capital that are a better fit for you. We know other opportunities might not always be possible in a part time capacity, but you never know what a good career chat and some networking could result in.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Cool Company

      May 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of perks. Banking and lending perks, great people, fairly local.

      Cons

      Management can get caught up in ideas and non-related items that interfere with our goals.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Inconsistent

      Apr 21, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people Not too busy Potential for good bonuses

      Cons

      The quirkiness they pride themselves for can be really annoying and unprofessional Due to the size of the company, not much chance for career advancement Seemingly obsessed with giving things away for free when people are willing to pay Often seemed directionless

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      go nowhere job

      Sep 23, 2009 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, gained knowledge of banking and financial issues, good bank to bank at with the no-fee account

      Cons

      Because of small branches/company, no chance real for promotion or advancement unless someone else leaves the branch or company - better chances at one of the big banks

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      It`s okay

      Oct 23, 2013 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, lots of challenge, great people to work with.

      Cons

      Communication from senior management could be better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Coast Capital Savings Job Seekers

    Member Banking Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Member Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Assistant Manager, Member Services
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Coast Capital Savings? Share Your Experiences

    Coast Capital Savings logo
    or