Coast Capital Savings Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Coast Capital Savings Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Coast Capital Savings CEO Calvin MacInnis
Calvin MacInnis
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never thought such positive work environment would even exist(in 13 reviews)

  • "I have met nothing but great people in my few years here(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "This has instilled fear into team members and discouraged them from sharing their actual honest feedback on surveys(in 4 reviews)

  • "upper management is focusing more on sales(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "2nd family away from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Close knit, comforting and contentment. Never have I worked for a company that cares for you as much as Coast. The ability to advance is totally based on how much you apply yourself and drive yourself to succeed. I read through some of these comments and some make absolutely no sense. I've been here more than 10 years and have had the offers to move companies for more money, but Coast makes it so Money isn't... the only reason to have a job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really a con. We are busy, people that is a good thing. Imagine if you weren't busy?

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, leader by example, thank you for your service.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-03-30
  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MSR/Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Over all it was an awesome company to work for.

    Cons

    There were two assistant managers that were very difficult to work with for many reasons. However, the company itself and everyone else I worked with were amazing.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-11-30
  3. "Coast Capital Savings Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings part-time

    Pros

    Amazing corporate culture, encourages personal and professional growth and easy to transfer between branches.

    Cons

    Communication between managers and employees.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-11-06
  4. "Pretty good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    I really like the company culture there. Everyone was very inclusive and friendly.

    Cons

    The management in my department was pretty poor as they were introducing lots of changes. They could have handled that better

    Coast Capital Savings2019-10-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Stay far away - doesn’t want to pay for talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings

    Pros

    None really. Only been here for a short period of time

    Cons

    My suggestion to everyone who is considering to apply for Coast under their EPMO structure. Stay far away! They refuse to pay for talent, constantly try to lowball individuals with offers far below market data point. I really don’t understand what they’re trying to achieve as a company since they’re trying to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Overhaul your structure, and your execution mindset. You want to bring in top talent, so you need to start paying for it.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-10-12
  6. "Pretty good culture, pretty relaxed, decent pay compared to other FIs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher pay compared to other FIs. Relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Becoming more and more like a big bank all the time. Systems are old.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-30
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, very helpful. Goof resources to learn.

    Cons

    Slow movement upwards. Less chances of growth.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-26
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lending Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great camaraderie with the branch staff, amazing people to work with. Team building opportunities were fantastic. Benefits are good! Hours are good. Opportunities for self improvement for taking courses are amazing!

    Cons

    compensation for hard work was only paid out if the beach reached their totals.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-14
  9. "Too much micro managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Services 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefit package

    Cons

    Long hours...extremely busy office. Micro managing.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing, get more staff. Respect your staff and experience.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-14
  10. "Good experience and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - MSR/Teller 
    Recommends

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people who are motivated and willing to help! The culture is close and tight knit. Great place to work.

    Cons

    There is a certain amount of stress that comes with working in a financial institution (knowing regulations, being very detail oriented, etc.) but that’s not Coast Specific and they provide good training for it

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you’re doing! Great initiatives, great work, great place all around.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-27
Found 138 reviews