Coast Capital Savings Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Coast Capital Savings Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Coast Capital Savings CEO Calvin MacInnis
Calvin MacInnis
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never thought such positive work environment would even exist(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great people to work with, challenging fast paced environment with lot of opportunities to learn new skills(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company is shifting to more and more of a focus on sales as opposed to its roots of helping people(in 4 reviews)

  • "This has instilled fear into team members and discouraged them from sharing their actual honest feedback on surveys(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "2nd family away from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Close knit, comforting and contentment. Never have I worked for a company that cares for you as much as Coast. The ability to advance is totally based on how much you apply yourself and drive yourself to succeed. I read through some of these comments and some make absolutely no sense. I've been here more than 10 years and have had the offers to move companies for more money, but Coast makes it so Money isn't... the only reason to have a job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really a con. We are busy, people that is a good thing. Imagine if you weren't busy?

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, leader by example, thank you for your service.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-03-30

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    June 6, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Firstly, thank you so much for your dedicated contribution to Coast over the last 10 years. We are pleased to hear after a decade of time with Coast you feel that we are a great place to do great work! I am also delighted to share that in May we launched our bi-annual Cultural Engagement ...

    Show More
  2. "Proud to work at Coast Capital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Banking Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    Good company, great benefits, great pension plan if you stay with the company long term. New retail director Chris Maze has done a great job so far. Good company morale, good flexibility. Great retail management within the Metro-Vancouver region (Dennis Kuo, Cherise Nolin, Courtney Roth to name a few) Calvin appears to be a good CEO with a promising outlook. Great VP with Lisa. Coast has done a good job at... recognizing efforts of employees, ensuring they have the support of management for career growth as well as rewarding employees who put in effort. Great lending benefits. Strong focus on work life balance, no unrealistic sales expectations. I have met nothing but great people in my few years here.

    Show More

    Cons

    More competitive pay for Financial Planners and Mobile Mortgage teams should be evaluated as there appears to be strong enough incentive to leave Coast Capital for a position within a private firm. Higher individual compensation for these crucial roles will cost Coast more upfront, but should negate situations where skilled people leave and bring a large chunk of business with them.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster individual growth within your branches. Continue to broaden investment options for members.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-11

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    We do have amazing employees that make us proud to work in this organization and we appreciate you acknowledging some of our leadership team. Thank you for your insights regarding the pay structure for some of our roles. At Coast Capital we are continually working on being competitive ...

    Show More
  3. "Pretty good culture, pretty relaxed, decent pay compared to other FIs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher pay compared to other FIs. Relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Becoming more and more like a big bank all the time. Systems are old.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-30
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, very helpful. Goof resources to learn.

    Cons

    Slow movement upwards. Less chances of growth.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-26
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lending Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great camaraderie with the branch staff, amazing people to work with. Team building opportunities were fantastic. Benefits are good! Hours are good. Opportunities for self improvement for taking courses are amazing!

    Cons

    compensation for hard work was only paid out if the beach reached their totals.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-14

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback. We really are proud of the amazing people we have to work alongside here at Coast and always love hearing when that is reflected in the camaraderie of a branch or a team. We’re also glad to hear that you have been able to take advantage of some of our learning ...

    Show More
  6. "Too much micro managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Services 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefit package

    Cons

    Long hours...extremely busy office. Micro managing.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing, get more staff. Respect your staff and experience.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-14
  7. "Good experience and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - MSR/Teller 
    Recommends

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people who are motivated and willing to help! The culture is close and tight knit. Great place to work.

    Cons

    There is a certain amount of stress that comes with working in a financial institution (knowing regulations, being very detail oriented, etc.) but that’s not Coast Specific and they provide good training for it

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you’re doing! Great initiatives, great work, great place all around.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-27

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback! Past and present employees like yourselves are to thank for our amazing culture. There is definitely a lot to learn in this constantly changing industry and we are always looking for ways to better support our employees. We hope to continue to deliver ...

    Show More
  8. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    everyone is a professional. we cater to our customers like our own family

    Cons

    not much to share. the environment is professional and family oriented

    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-25

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience working. At Coast we are committed to delivering a culture of care in our day to day practices - for both our members and employees.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary within the financial services industry

    Cons

    I worked at Coast Capital for 2 years in total, I worked full time and part time. Management is extremely unprofessional, and nosy. I would ask for a half day off with a months notice, and they would decline my request. Then both my managers would leave early or not even show up to work on the day I had requested off. I had to go to a doctors appointment, and was asked in front of the whole team why I had to go to... the doctors, what my blood test was for, and why I had to go to an appointment so last minute. Coast Capital management made it very clear that they did not care about my privacy at all, and did not care about putting me in an uncomfortable position in front of the whole branch team. Managers were firing individuals with no cause, which put everyone in the branch on edge. The employee culture was consistently going down steadily, and nothing was being done to change it whatsoever. If you expressed you wanted a change in position/department you would not be given opportunities, YET punished for wanting to leave your current role. I ended up resigning due to this toxic work environment, and my manager then proceeded to try and argue with me via email about why I was leaving. I did not reply to these emails, as I wanted to leave on a "good note". The HR department has no confidentiality, and people being terminated or let go was being spread throughout the company. Everyone knew when an individual was being "transferred" out of the company, or when someone was written up. It needs to be understood that people's privacy should be held to the utmost importance. Coast Capital does not take this seriously at all, and needs to be held accountable for the emotional turmoil they have pressed upon their current and past employees.

    Show More
    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-21
  10. "Started out good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    Great culture in most teams and a lot of great people. Good benefits.

    Cons

    No opportunities for growth. Some teams can have toxic people, which is due to lack of strong leadership. Slow paced. Parking.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-23
Found 133 reviews