Coast Capital Savings Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Coast Capital Savings President and CEO Calvin MacInnis
Calvin MacInnis
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Healthy, inclusive work environment with an eye of the future(in 14 reviews)

  • "I have met nothing but great people in my few years here(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management is focusing more on sales(in 4 reviews)

  • "Company is shifting to more and more of a focus on sales as opposed to its roots of helping people(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "B Corp Federal Credit Union"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Member Services Representative in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    Healthy, inclusive work environment with an eye of the future.

    Cons

    Struggle to adapt to technological changes.

    Coast Capital Savings2020-04-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership is very supportive and helpful"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Directors and VPs are like family and share whats going on in the company

    Cons

    Need to be more agile in terms of inter team deliverables

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-03-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "EPMO - unhappy staff please leave"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BA Or PM, the Title Doesn’t Matter in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management is approachable and most of the team are great to work with. EPMO management gives us perks of team events, courses, lunch’s brought in for meetings . Management helps those that want to do the work. I’ve never had any issue approaching EPMO management from VP And directors and having candid conversations about how things are going and career pathing. For those considering Coast and EPMO as an employer, if you have a positive attitude and stay away from the negative you will do well and will enjoy working with this team

    Cons

    I wish the constant whiners would leave. You make work an unpleasant place to be, not management. I’m tired of your constant complaining on surveys - promotions given to a particular race, a particular race has favoritism and things are swept under the rug, what race is this,? I see people from all races, genders and ages being promoted in our area., and given opportunities, maybe truly look at yourself and the work you do or don’t do, you’re likely not deserving of a promotion. The constant complaining of parking, give it a break, when did it ever become the employer‘s responsibility to coordinate parking or transportation for their employees? If availability of parking was that important to you in the job interview you should’ve asked. There is available parking in the area maybe just not in the building. If the whiners focused on the work and reduced the amount of chitchat and backstabbing that they do to their fellow employees and management our department and work environment would be better. It’s not EPMO management or coast management that makes the department a toxic environment it’s the toxic employees with in the environment that make it so.

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-03-14
  4. Helpful (11)

    "EPMO needs help"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BA Or PM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    Coast is a great company but not sure with the department.People are friendly and they want to help each you to understand the business

    Cons

    In my all of the work experience this is the worst PMO i have seen . EPMO is fueled with favoritism,racial profiling,ungoverned practices. It is very biased i.e . If you are one of the favorites you will be given opportunities, growth, promotion (without even looking at skill set, performance). However on the other side , if you’re not one of them even if you have everything right and have done an outstanding job it will go unnoticed. Most of the employees who are skilled and talented they either end up going to different lines of businesses or they end up leaving coast.Some of the team members has to work over the clock to cover up .Management level needs to have some sort of reset button.If you try to challenge them or provide clarity by bringing in facts either you will be fired or your hands will be burned.It will be great to see some changes to solve these problems.Coast is a great company but not sure with the department.

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-03-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company Environment/Workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in West Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Environment to start learning and developing leadership skills -Safe, Fun Working environment -Company focus on the culture of care -Gives 10% of the companies bottom line back to the Community

    Cons

    No Detractors for the moment

    Coast Capital Savings2020-02-07
  6. Helpful (9)

    "EPMO’s culture of fear and unethical behaviour- stay away!!!!"

    1.0
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings

    Pros

    Extended Benefits Great digital product team

    Cons

    EPMO uses fear, intimidation and politics to deliver on the backs of people instead of using basic PM methodologies and governance Self-serving bias and unethical behaviour Very cozy relationships with project vendors and consultants Unwillingness to adopt agile to get results

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-03-13
  7. Helpful (7)

    "EPMO is poorly managed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    Lovely company with the exception of EPMO

    Cons

    Terrible culture at EPMO, very biased, toxic and political environment. I have no hope that this department can recover from this state. If you are contemplating of taking up a job within Coast Capital's EPMO structure, please stay away for the sake of your sanity and health.

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-03-06
  8. "Good company with bright future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects and lots of new technologies are always in pipeline for you to explore. One can learn a lot here at CCS. The total compensation is slightly above market average .

    Cons

    Office space is crowded for IT people at headquarter building, and some teams cannot even have a fixed place. You may feel frustrated that you have to find an empty place to settle down.

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-01-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Long time employees undercompensated"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Banking Specialist in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Fun Benefits Culture is very good

    Cons

    Underpaid Not Valued Not enough recognition

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2020-01-04
  10. "Great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MSR/Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Over all it was an awesome company to work for.

    Cons

    There were two assistant managers that were very difficult to work with for many reasons. However, the company itself and everyone else I worked with were amazing.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-11-30
Found 145 reviews