Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Co-op Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
232 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours, great management, good pay, overall great company to work for(in 72 reviews)

  • "Good holidays and benefits as well as flexible working(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Insurance Advio 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefit ,great vibes, Nice environment, room for growing

    Cons

    nothing but very good, lots learning but it is very essential

    Co-op2019-10-04

    Co-op Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thanks for your 5 star review! It's lovely to hear that you are enjoyed your time with us.

    Continue reading
  2. "Working at co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, decent hours if you stick with it long enough.

    Cons

    You put up with the same stuff as any jobs, lazy coworkers, closing shifts etc.

    Co-op2019-10-13
  3. "Employee focused atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low turnover rate. Focuses on community investment.

    Cons

    Co-operative is ran by the board.

    Co-op2019-09-02

    Co-op Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits for full time are exceptional. There are many employee events held monthly available for all to join. Opportunities for advancement are available.

    Cons

    Toxic workplace. Having so many different departments form employee cliques. Staff room is always abuzz with gossip about other members, inappropriate language and swearing. Travel pay is sometimes not fully received and it takes some poking around to get something done about it. Scheduling is an absolute nightmare- based on seniority, managers tracking your absence and non flexible schedules. Under staffing for the pharmacy is also an issue.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2019-04-04
  5. "Stock boy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Stock Boy in Iqaluit, NU
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands on work, cooperate with co workers

    Cons

    To much garbage not worked on

    Co-op2019-03-09
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Not hard work for the money

    Cons

    Management is infuriating as is the union

    Continue reading
    Co-op2019-02-27
  7. "Associate Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Financial Advisor in Sarnia, ON

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing opportunities, and benefits,

    Cons

    Too much service work and not enough time to quote new policies

    Co-op2019-02-07
  8. "Sales/cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Paddockwood, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HR does a good job of hiring team oriented people

    Cons

    Pay tops out low at smaller locations. Very seniority based, as opposed to skill based.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-03-12

    Co-op Response

    March 29, 2018

    Thankyou for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your time at our Co-op and have a positive outlook for our future. ^Catherine

    Continue reading
  9. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op

    Pros

    very good company to work for

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about this position

    Co-op2016-09-14

    Co-op Response

    September 28, 2016Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the great feedback. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed working with us. Best of luck in the future. ^Sophie

    Continue reading
  10. "Life Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance and co-workers.

    Cons

    Cannot move up in the company.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2016-09-20

    Co-op Response

    September 28, 2016Social Media Community Manager

    We're sorry to hear you don't feel like you can progress. Would you like to discuss this further with our resourcing team? Thanks ^Sophie

    Continue reading
Found 1064 reviews