Classy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Classy Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Classy CEO Scot Chisholm
Scot Chisholm
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company culture and management support is really what I love about my job(in 19 reviews)

  • "Product is best in class and you can stand behind what we are asking nonprofits to invest in(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to be type of person that is okay with growing pains and constant changes (literally, by the hour)(in 21 reviews)

  • "401k matching not yet available(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I found my dream, I love the work and I am not stressed out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Executive Management in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Classy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wow! Best of all worlds, industry leading software disrupting the legacy player, interest in the market from SFDC, MSFT and Google (means great things for Classy), authentic culture, the presence of excellence, social awareness and engaged leadership. Did I mention the incredible office overlooking Petco park in downtown San Diego, access to cafe's, bars, restaurants, incredible work/life balance, bring your dog to work, no corporate dress code and incredible team?

    Cons

    We will grow intelligently when we chose quality over quantity. Let's do less things but do them well. Slow is smooth and smooth is fast.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-08-17
  2. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Classy

    Pros

    I love my co-workers and my manager is one the best people to work with. I have made some incredible friends at the company and it’s a true family. My manager cares about me as a person and has my back. My manager shoots me straight when I have areas I can improve in, but is incredibly encouraging at the same time. Our VP of Sales has regular meetings with Account Executives to understand what hurdles we are facing and he takes action to make the job better for us where he can! He is very approachable and open to new ideas.

    Cons

    No company is perfect! Classy has been through a lot of change over the last couple of years, but that is normal.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-08-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Classy review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Classy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    unlimited PTO, company culture, connection to the mission, DOGS, good work/life balance

    Cons

    there is no matching 401k

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The greatest people in San Diego!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renewals + Expansion Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Classy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People: great workplace environment that celebrates diversity, hustle and respect - Work/Life Balance: unlimited PTO with a focus on volunteering and giving back - Salary: competitive for the market and fair for work

    Cons

    - Change: as a start-up there are changes and movement

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Entering its next phase as a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Classy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people and culture, our nonprofit clients, our mission, the dog friendly office and again the people at Classy are amazing!

    Cons

    It was hard for a while, you could tell there was a lot of pressure coming from the board of directors on goals. A lot of the sales goals were unrealistic for our market and they were being pushed down by investors. The culture was slipping and becoming less Classy. Very recently we learned that the problems at the Board level and the main investor causing the problems is gone.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-06-15
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company and even better people but definitely challenging at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Classy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people make it great, I've never been surrounded by more genuine, caring and supportive people in a workplace. CEO is awesome, truly cares about his employees and that attitude is reflected in a lot of the work place. The office is epic. Great culture and people definitely like to have fun along with performing well. Leadership for the most part is very transparent, open and willing to listen to feedback from anyone. I'd like to think that none of the leaders have a large ego here which makes them very relatable and easy to get along with. The work itself and the partners make things rewarding, you get to see the work you do has a profound impact on nonprofits and ultimately helping people in the world

    Cons

    You read the other reviews, there's definitely been hiccups along the way, growing pains. Its not perfect and that's no secret. I'd like to think it's exciting working at a company at this stage of their life and the challenges that come with it, you learn so much. Those challenges can have negative impact on people though which can be tough. There is also a lot of pressure from investors and the board and that can definitely be felt within the company. Also working with nonprofits can be a grind, really tough to work with at times in terms of how they operate.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-06-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Company has potential, but the work environment is toxic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Classy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office, great view, dog-friendly, young & hungry sales team. Great resume builder. A place to cut your teeth on the sales floor if you're okay with a little emotional abuse in exchange for work experience.

    Cons

    No stability, unprofessional managers, unrealistic job load expectations and no work/life balance. Goals were constantly changing and unreachable within expected time frames. The judgement was unreal. Managers unabashedly bad-mouthed low-performing employees or those that quit from the constant pressure to put out. Sales team was routinely pacified with pizza parties, ridiculous sales spiffs, and shares of company "stock" in lieu of raises or commissions. Routine demotions, high-turnover rate and layoffs galore. HR is a joke. They're aware of the issues with management but can't/won't do anything about it -- as was made abundantly clear in my exit interview. Glad to be heading to greener pastures with an employer that actually provides a 401k match and a fosters a culture of respect. Avoid at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-07-02
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great product, great people... in the beginning..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Classy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented engineers, great product, incredible people, great mission, amazing culture (in the beginning).

    Cons

    Morale started to tank after the CPO replaced the CTO. Management became a lot less transparent. There was less room for engineering input on features/projects. It slowly became more about process over people. CPO is completely out of touch with the engineering team, and fails to connect with people in a genuine way. There were a bunch of process changes that slowed productivity for a while, and a ton of useless meetings where the CPO would provide vague and unsatisfactory answers to legitimate questions we had as a team.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-06-14
  9. Helpful (9)

    "You are better than this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Classy full-time

    Pros

    Staff Culture/Coworkers and what was presented as the "Mission"

    Cons

    Empty promises, poor leadership, poor talent management, lack of product innovation

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-04-19

    Classy Response

    July 18, 2019SVP - People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. It's always nice to hear that you enjoyed your co-workers and culture during your time at Classy. Regarding the improvement areas, I'd love to have more context so we can learn and grow from your experience. If you would be open to chatting more, you can reach out to me at drulli@classy.org.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Employees don't leave a company, they leave (or get fired) because of Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Classy full-time

    Pros

    Great office location: 13th floor of downtown SD high rise coffee and kombucha on tap Revamped people's operation to meet tech company standards: unlimited pto, good health, dental, vision benefits, more recognized holidays Product is awesome Amazing mission

    Cons

    If you're reading this and considering applying to Classy, I don't know if you want to join a company who recently implemented a company wide motto of "One Team One Dream" then fires 10%+ of their workforce 2 weeks later. During my time at Classy there were 2 instances where they let recently hired and/or tenured employees go due to a "restructure in business strategy". The first time they hired a class of about 12 employees and after 3 weeks they let them go and soon after many quit because that's not how you treat your newly hired employees. Everyone on the sales team was told that this was an upper management mistake and that they were moving on from it to make sure it won't happen again. 2 quarters later (1st week of March 2019), the same thing happened. There is very little transparency from upper management down. Not even sales managers knew that people on their team were getting fired until an hour into the day on a Tuesday. Not a Monday morning, not a Friday afternoon...Tuesday morning. Sales quotas are always changing because they just can't get it right.

    Continue reading
    Classy2019-03-10
Found 170 reviews