City of Ottawa Reviews

Updated May 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
97%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
City of Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson
Jim Watson
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, worked a student and gained valuable experience in the field of civil engineering(in 14 reviews)

  • "This job has good pay, and decent hours(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "no cons, it is a good summer part time job(in 8 reviews)

  • "hard to get full time (recreation)(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work for part-time or summer jobs"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aquatic Shift Supervisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Ottawa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Transparent Accepted feedback and implemented it in a timely fashion most of the time

    Cons

    Lots of politics and things would move slowly especially if there was an issue with management and the City of Ottawa would be hesitant of fixing the problem or getting rid of the issue

    Continue reading
    City of Ottawa2020-05-13
  2. "Don't let the pension suck you in"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Ottawa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great colleagues, pension and benefits

    Cons

    no transparency, very bureaucratic, no recognition, infighting

    Continue reading
    City of Ottawa2020-05-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CSR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Ottawa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being involved with your community on a daily basis, supportive middle management

    Cons

    Little ability to implement change despite being on the front lines, significant difference in pay between ft and pt workers as per union agreement

    City of Ottawa2020-03-17
  4. "Firefighter"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Ottawa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best career I could have imagined

    Cons

    None That I can think of

    City of Ottawa2020-03-03
  5. "Flexible hours and free bus pass"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Ottawa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, choice of shifts, working outside. Also get supplied with hand warmers and hot chocolate

    Cons

    Having to endure the elements

    City of Ottawa2020-02-23
  6. "Decent Experience"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Programming Coordinator in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at City of Ottawa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - fun staff - Convenient - good high school job

    Cons

    - poor management - dead wood that you have to support

    City of Ottawa2020-02-14
  7. "NA"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Aquatics Lifeguard/Instructor 

    I have been working at City of Ottawa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule opportunity Nice staff Good work environment

    Cons

    Low staff Limited work hours opportunity

    City of Ottawa2019-12-15
  8. "Great first job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intermediate Sports Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Ottawa part-time

    Pros

    - Could use previously learned skills and sports experience - Friendly team and ample support within work environment

    Cons

    - Locations for work may vary, may require a significant commute

    City of Ottawa2019-11-29
  9. "City"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Ottawa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent Employer, hardworking mayor, great benefits

    Cons

    Huge municipality, sophisticated environment and complicated zoning bylaws

    Continue reading
    City of Ottawa2019-11-25
  10. "Great Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Leader in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Ottawa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work environment, good pay and benefits. Lots of opportunity to explore various roles in a municipal environment.

    Cons

    Strategic vision isn't always apparent, departments tend to work in silos at times.

    City of Ottawa2019-10-16
Found 138 reviews