City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
83%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time

    Pros

    Good Place to work, I like it

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about my work

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2019-08-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Civil Engineering L.A County"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great firm to work for if you are lucky to get your chance through the front door. They have all the benefits one can imagine. If you have a good colleague you will get some good training; everything is teachable. No late nights learning the material. They dont expect much of you. If you like city construction, hydraulics, structural and transportation this is the place to be. They really do quite a variety of project per month. There is so many employees there will always be someone to help you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Although getting through the front door is not easy. The interviews are quite brutal and devastating. You will never get a result or feedback on your performance. So always plan ahead and don't throw all your eggs in one basket. Remember Private pays more.

    Advice to Management

    More people are needed for the interview panel.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2019-06-13
  3. "Conscious bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Specialist in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. 40 hour or 9/80 work week available.

    Cons

    Conscious bias on women. Woman assigned medial tasks while the men get the more challenging jobs. Prior experience and education is not considered.

    Advice to Management

    Work towards all an inclusive work place.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2019-06-06
  4. "Not For Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time

    Pros

    You get one hour for lunch. City benefits. You can choose your schedule.

    Cons

    Boring. You'll develop physical issues from sitting at the desk. All your co-workers seem fake with fake laughs. People seem like they're not interested in working but to chat away in the halls about first world problems or some shin dig they did or plan to do in the weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional and put effort into training employees.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2019-03-05
  5. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works

    Pros

    Great work-life balance plus a good pay

    Cons

    none, although work might get a bit boring depending on the department

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2019-01-21
  6. "Civil Engineering Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time

    Pros

    lots of exciting projects from small to large scale. lots of nice people

    Cons

    promotions are based on politics rather than competence.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2018-08-24
  7. "Stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable working place. I enjoy being able to help the community and the ability to Robinhood for those who were wronged.

    Cons

    Takes forever to innovate. Slow bureaucratic change. Slow salary growth. Takes forever to make a competitive private entity salary. Old IT management.

    Advice to Management

    Instruct middle management to effectively manage.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2018-02-06
  8. "TRUCK DRIVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Truck Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm a Great Truck Driver with Experience

    Cons

    I need a job and I would love to work with you your Company

    Advice to Management

    I would love to work n be a team employee with Public Works

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2018-01-10
  9. "Disillusioned assignment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, vacation, and holidays. Most of the people are very friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Employees may be assigned to projects they didn't really want or do not match a person's skill set based on past experience or educational background.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on merit, not politics or bias. Assign work assignments based on an employee's skills and rotate work assignments. Not everyone can tolerate being stuck with the same task for years. If you don't know what an employee's background experience is, ask.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2017-09-24
  10. "Civil Engineer Associate I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Civil Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot in a short period of time. Lots of different training opportunities. Smooth work life balance, and managers who care that want you to succeed. Tons of room for growth and development.. I'm currently in my first rotation in engineering services. It's not the most exciting thing in the world, but I there is a lot of work and I never get bored.

    Cons

    Rotations are about 1.5 years long.

    City of Los Angeles Department of Public Works2017-03-13
Found 22 reviews