City of Edmonton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

City of Edmonton Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
City of Edmonton CEO Don Iveson
Don Iveson
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "In order to be considered for any permanent, full time positions you have to be considered permanent Staff Support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making by upper management, does not listen to the people who are the experts in their area, no recognition(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laborer in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady work easy enough plus being outside

    Cons

    Unorganized management no preparation at all

    City of Edmonton2019-09-12
  2. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Planning Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    a professional environment, fairness, diversity

    Cons

    The pay raise is bad. Also, there is no reward for working hard

    City of Edmonton2019-09-10
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth and advancement

    Cons

    None I can think of, between all circumstances can be changed for better

    Advice to Management

    Mentor those below and help them grow. Create more growth opportunities.

    City of Edmonton2019-09-10
  4. "CTO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Chief Technology Officer 

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    good for single persons who are available 24/7

    Cons

    split shifts are not for me

    City of Edmonton2019-09-23
  5. "great place for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Labourer I (Turf) in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of camaraderie great hours (6am-4pm) 4 days a week easy and straightforward work, hard to look bad supervisors are easy going yet hard working

    Cons

    nepotism leads to some bad workers can be dangerous when working on the side of roads management does nothing about workers who make others uncomfortable

    City of Edmonton2019-08-30
  6. "Good stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Technician II in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job is stable and not really affected by economic down turns.

    Cons

    Management is in chaos and doesn't know how to fix it.

    City of Edmonton2019-08-28
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Coop in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Friendly workers Great hours Nice building Lots of training Nearby Mall

    Cons

    No parking Not much room for promotion

    City of Edmonton2019-08-27
  8. "Geographical Survey Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Systems Surveys Technical Survey Assistant in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of survey projects from Residential Rehabilitation, Construction, Beautification, Special Projects and Bridge Surveys.

    Cons

    Had too many upper managerial positions that didn't understand the scope of our projects.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the departments that you manage and the scope of work the department entails.

    City of Edmonton2019-08-03
  9. "Method Analyst 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Earned Days Off program and benefit packages. And it’s a large organization with a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    Union members are overprotected, some members are taking advantage of the protection and not working at their full capacity.

    City of Edmonton2019-07-25
  10. "work life balance but no clear career growth future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, can have more time with families

    Cons

    Bottle neck for immigrant with technical skills.

    Advice to Management

    Strive to be respectful to the employee under

    City of Edmonton2019-07-21
Found 185 reviews