City of Calgary Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
City of Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi
Naheed Nenshi
135 Ratings
Pros
  • "City of Calgary help us to maintain a healthy work-life balance and help us to grow as well(in 45 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and work life balance(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Business units still operate in silos, which is often quite wasteful and inefficient(in 8 reviews)

  • "Heavily unionized environment that has minimal, if any, flexibility (e(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Calgary full-time

    Pros

    Greatly enjoyed my position at the City.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about my time with the City.

    City of Calgary2020-05-12
  2. "Move around to get the best experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Calgary full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package with defined benefits pension plan and health spending account

    Cons

    Highly political environment where you may not be able to do the right thing but the politically correct thing.

    City of Calgary2020-05-25
  3. "Solid job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aquatics Lifeguard in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Calgary part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, lots of opportunity to get more hours, fun coworkers

    Cons

    Some bureaucracy, keep your head down if you don't want to get involved in workplace politics

    City of Calgary2020-04-22
  4. "great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Calgary full-time

    Pros

    1.Work, life, balance 2. Flexible 3.Awesome City of Calgary has great training benefits and opportunities, i totally enjoyed working for the city of calgary

    Cons

    1.this is a great company to work for, i sure enjoyed my stay with the city of Calgary

    Continue reading
    City of Calgary2020-04-02
  5. "Fun job"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Recreation Programmer in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at City of Calgary part-time

    Pros

    Great for getting your foot in the door

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement

    City of Calgary2020-03-10
  6. "People who care about Calgary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Calgary full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dedicated employees who truly care about supporting the community and making it a better place.

    Cons

    Exempt staff work around the clock. No employee recognition, perks. I understand salaries are taxpayer funded but the city loses highly qualified hard working staff to private industry that pays better/gives bonuses.

    City of Calgary2020-03-20
  7. "My experience as a Lead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Calgary full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, Nice people. free parking, Every third Friday off

    Cons

    Lot's of red tape

    City of Calgary2020-03-02
  8. "Great room for growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Calgary full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety of work nice offices

    Cons

    Very Unorganized files and data

    City of Calgary2020-02-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Firefighter"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Calgary full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension, benefits, union, competitive wages

    Cons

    Big city, traffic, budget rollback

    City of Calgary2020-02-06
  10. "Impound lot"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Calgary Parking Authority in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Calgary full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Pleasent people to work with.

    Cons

    Not much overtime per week!

    City of Calgary2020-01-31
Found 232 reviews