Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
763 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 111 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Model Risk Manager Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Model Risk Manager 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment and culture. Have great benefits as well.

    Cons

    Nothing really. Overall great company to work for.

    Citizens Bank2019-08-08

    Citizens Bank Response

    August 13, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting, and for running those financial models! Keep up the great work.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team Innovation Emerging on Cloud Work life Balance Collaborative team

    Cons

    Lot of legacy App No Full Stack Culture Old personal Machine

    Citizens Bank2020-03-30
  3. "Extremely Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative/Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Citizens truly cares about their employees safety. They are very supportive and willing to help in any way.

    Cons

    I’m a fairly new employee, and I haven’t come across any cons so far.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-03-30
  4. "treated well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Mechanicsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really care about their employees

    Cons

    Make it hard to get compensation

    Citizens Bank2020-03-30
  5. "Good company but lots of frequent changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, decent benefits, coworkers are very friendly

    Cons

    Lots of constant changes to upper management

    Citizens Bank2020-03-23

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 31, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a review! Glad you enjoyed your time with us and your coworkers — it's such an important part of the job. Best of luck in your next role. Have a nice day, and stay safe.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Company with Bad Apples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Security Professional in Johnston, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay, for me anyway.

    Cons

    I was laid off three years from retirement. My severance agreement prohibits me from disparaging Citizens Bank and it's employees. I would if I could.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-03-30
  7. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience with ok benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is not the best

    Citizens Bank2020-03-28

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 31, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback, and for 3 great years with us. We're sad to see you go, but happy you had a good experience. Know that Citizens is committed to pay equity, meaning we ensure our compensation and benefits are competitive. We regularly evaluate our practice to ensure they are fair for all colleagues. Have a great day, and stay safe.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great training - not a good fit personally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Wilmington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great commission opportunity if you are good at what you do

    Cons

    Company culture is very dependent on the branch you are at

    Citizens Bank2020-03-11

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 18, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and for the thoughtful feedback. We're sorry to hear we were not a good fit for one another. Either way, we enjoyed having you aboard during your time. Best of luck in your next opportunity!

    Continue reading
  9. "Moving in a good direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements and can work remotely. Good leadership, company is moving in a competitive direction. Talent and experience are usually noticed and appreciated on a micro level.

    Cons

    Generally get the feeling you are just a cog in the wheel and replaceable on a macro level. Pay and benefits (health primarily) are lacking in some cases. Opportunity for career mobility, but you need to take charge if you want change, the "company" does not do much to help you. Environment of constant change and senior management is not transparent in a meaningful way. (I.E. "We are going to try to cut expenses" as opposed to "We are going to reduce the workforce")

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-03-10

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 18, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback. Taking charge of your career is something we encourage at Citizens. While we provide ample resources to help our colleagues learn new skills and find out what their next move might be — like our recent career coaching pilot — driving their career is ultimately in their hands. Our colleagues have a solid record of it though — over 2,400 colleagues we're promoted and over 2,100 colleagues took on new roles in 2019 alone! Have a great day, and good luck in your next opportunity.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Manager in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people

    Cons

    No Leadership direction from the top.

    Citizens Bank2020-03-06

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 10, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for over 3 great years with us! Glad you appreciate the culture at Citizens — it's one of our favorite things, too. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
Found 2152 reviews