Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2044 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
710 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 107 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Model Risk Manager Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Model Risk Manager 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment and culture. Have great benefits as well.

    Cons

    Nothing really. Overall great company to work for.

    Citizens Bank2019-08-08

    Citizens Bank Response

    August 13, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting, and for running those financial models! Keep up the great work.

  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Risk Management Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Company is moving in a great direction -Great colleagues -Good work life balance

    Cons

    -Hard to discover opportunities within

    Citizens Bank2019-10-09
  3. "Hands down- Citizens Bank is the best bank in the US."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training programs-They give you all the resources you need to succeed. They treat their employees so well... You get coaching from your manager, the regional manager, and even colleagues. If you need help the Colleague assistance line (CAL) is there to help you... Their pay was also not too bad

    Cons

    Not any that I can think of...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Continue to treat your employees well and your employees will treat your customers well.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-30

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 11, 2019Project Manager

    Wow, thanks for your shining review! Agreed — the training here is really valuable and the colleagues are amazing. We're sad to see you go, but know you will be terrific in your next role.

  4. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Medical Insurance and 401k Benefit, Good Work Environment, Better Growth Opportunities

    Cons

    Lower Pay, Sales Pressure and high potential branch colleagues have more responsibilities than other branches but the pay is same for most of each bankers.

    Advice to Management

    Increase Pay Structure

    Citizens Bank2019-09-25

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 11, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We're happy to hear you're enjoying our benefits and work environment — they are both really important for job satisfaction! Keep up the great work.

  5. "Sales Driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, generous PTO, good hours

    Cons

    Too sales driven, goals are high and when you meet them it’s never enough

    Citizens Bank2019-10-09
  6. "Fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Document Specialist in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co workers are friendly and helpful more than management. They go the extra mile to help, while management doesn't support their employees

    Cons

    Management needs more training to work with working with their employees..

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Citizens Bank2019-09-19

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 3, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review. We're glad you enjoyed your coworkers during your time with us. Know that we train our managers to maintain open communication channels with their teams so that team members feel comfortable sharing their feedback. Good luck in your next career move!

  7. "Great starting point for people interested in financial services."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Personal Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a good place to try different roles within the financial services industry. You will get basic exposure to retail banking, business banking, loan origination, and investmests.

    Cons

    You will hit a glass ceiling at some point, once you have been a banker for a couple of years, there is nothing more to learn and you will need to leave the bank if you want to continue to grow and be challenged.

    Advice to Management

    Make the environment less transactional in nature, traffic to the branches continues to drop so dont make coming into the branch such a sales experience!

    Citizens Bank2019-09-18

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 3, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a review! Happy to hear you got some strong exposure to numerous areas of banking. Know that we continue to invest in resources that empower our colleagues to find their next career move. Our new Internal Career Site just went live last week, and our virtual career coach will be launching to the enterprise in October to help colleagues identify the skills they need for their next step. Keep up the strong work in your next role!

    Show Less
  8. "Great Company, A bit strong on the sales side."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They focus a lot on your goals, but give you the training necessary to complete them.

    Cons

    They focus largely on sales.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-15

    Citizens Bank Response

    September 17, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We're glad you appreciated the training you received — we hope you were able to learn a great deal. Sales roles aren't for everyone, but as you know our training is intended help our colleagues achieve those goals. Best of luck in your career, we're rooting for you!

    Show Less
  9. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Resolution Senior Advocate in Cranston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people there are amazing, the pay is pretty good and the benefits are good.

    Cons

    There is some favoritism in certain departments.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-16

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 3, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting. We agree — the colleagues here rock! Know that our policies prohibit favoritism of any kind. Have a great day!

  10. "Great company. Great people. Great advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employer Brand Marketing in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been promoted several times and respected for my opinion and ideas. I am a working mother and they provide me the flexibility to be great at both.

    Cons

    My commute is longer than I would like, but getting to work from home a few days a week makes up for that.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-12

    Citizens Bank Response

    September 17, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! Veteran colleagues like yourself are what make Citizens Bank such a special place. Have an amazing day.

Found 2044 reviews