Cisco Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cisco Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15778 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VPAM in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, good benefits, learn a lot

    Cons

    Politics can be a bit much at times.

    Cisco Systems2019-09-19
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    Very good company and work

    Cons

    Nothing much as a con to describe

    Cisco Systems2019-09-18
  3. "Culture has changed, but still a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Program Manager 

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cisco is a great place to work but it is not as global as it used to be. It is a fast-paced environment in which one will be expected to be involved in multiple initiatives at the same time and be very productive on all of them.

    Cons

    Requires working hours flexibility as most business is driven by PST hours.

    Cisco Systems2019-09-19
  4. "Cisco Canada review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    industry leader, rewarding, autonomy, great support mechanisms,

    Cons

    high expectations, stressful environment, poor recognition of talent

    Advice to Management

    focus on more than just the numbers and they will naturally result from this

    Cisco Systems2019-09-16
  5. "This is the best company in the world! Hands down, No questions asked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSAP - ASE in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - What I can only describe as the "Cisco Heartbeat". From the minute you start at Cisco, you start to feel part of something bigger. We are one united global team. At Cisco we train hard and push each other to drive business success, so we have the privilege of giving that success back. We are on a mission to impact 1 billion lives globally, and I know thats only the beginning. - Cisco is a world class company,... and an industry leader in networking technology. - As big as Cisco is, they provide each and every employee with the tools and support they need to truly be the best version of themselves. - Hands down the best office culture I have ever experienced. - Incredible benefits for all employees - We have a ping-pong table in the office

    Show More

    Cons

    - It may seem biased but I have no cons about Cisco... - The interview process is VERY TOUGH compared to other companies, but it is only to find people who are driven enough to do great things in this world.

    Cisco Systems2019-08-30
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Customer Support 

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    awesome stuff here it's fun

    Cons

    I like to create things

    Cisco Systems2019-08-29
  7. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with very smart people, high pay, seniors don't treat interns like most big companies do. Get to work on real impactful projects, work from home, and very well paying company.

    Cons

    American company so less opportunity for Canadian interns.

    Cisco Systems2019-08-20
  8. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hardware Engineer 

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    lots of exposure, great company to start

    Cons

    layoff rumors can be demoralizing

    Cisco Systems2019-08-20
  9. "work at cisco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good job and life balance, and good benefit.

    Cons

    less carrier grow in Canada

    Advice to Management

    need more long term vision

    Cisco Systems2019-08-30
  10. "Support Engineer role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits to offset most cons and job security is assured for most support folks since they'll always need more.

    Cons

    - Internal company politics and inane policies prevents a lot of things from getting done. - After working for a few months, it's very apparent that Cisco is a sales-oriented company and would sacrifice the quality of a product in order to pump out something new and sparkly for their investors.

    Advice to Management

    It would be moralizing to work on improving an existing product and make it into something meaningful instead of pushing improvements to the side in favour of creating inane features that'd be only useful to a couple of million dollar customers just because they're generating the most revenue.

    Cisco Systems2019-08-22
Found 15778 reviews