Cisco Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cisco Systems Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "People centric culture, flexible work environment, great benefits(in 1264 reviews)

  • "Work is strenuous but timings are also flexible with Work from Home options available(in 1204 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can be hard to get a good work-life balance with late meetings(in 520 reviews)

  • "Big company means less personal care(in 411 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of Cisco Systems

See all divisions
  1. "Great Company | Well Disciplined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales and Marketing Machine - Fast Paced

    Cons

    Some markets are more difficult to align with corporate direction

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2020-03-17
  2. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Best work place verbatim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Consulting Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    Strong international culture allows for a rich network

    Cons

    Erratic work hours due to multiple timezones if not managed correctly

    Cisco Systems2020-03-02
  3. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Developer in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great Place, great people, lots of autonomy.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Cisco Systems2020-02-26
  4. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great people work at Cisco

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Cisco Systems2020-02-20
  5. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Excellent coworkers - Strong support from management in your career goals - Challenging tasks + the resources to tackle them - Great compensation - Lots of resources for learning

    Cons

    You will never come to love WebEx Teams.

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2020-01-16
  6. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Great work/life balance Cubicles (I hate open offices) Smart perks (good pto, onsite gym, no jungle gyms or teddy bears)

    Cons

    Not very conducive to innovation or out-of-the-box thinking. Features and development paths generally set by marketing or sales needs.

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2020-01-23
  7. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Solutions Architect in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great benefits - friendly coworkers

    Cons

    - company got too big - has seen its best days

    Cisco Systems2020-01-22
  8. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Very hierarchical org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Leader, Product Development 

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Huge company and well respected - Annual event is an amazing experience to attend

    Cons

    -After I left, found out that I was the 7th person to leave my team in 2yrs, and the team was only 5 people! -Don't expect to get the time of day from anyone that is above your level -Even if someone is a difficult or bad manager, as long as they have friends within the company, they're not going anywhere, which is difficult if you have to deal with that person

    Cisco Systems2020-01-22
  9. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Good for more senior people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Kanata, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart people, cool projects, gym in building, could work remotely or flexible hours

    Cons

    Stressful, worked long hours, very poor rampup

    Cisco Systems2020-01-16
  10. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ahhh 

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Got work on topnotch technology, encourages growth

    Cons

    There are layoffs almost every year.

    Cisco Systems2020-01-13
Found 16468 reviews