Cirrus Logic Design Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cirrus Logic Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cirrus Logic CEO Jason P. Rhode
Jason P. Rhode
9 Ratings
  1. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Analog Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cirrus Logic for less than a year

    Pros

    Good teams for an analog intern. Organized intern learning and fun activities. Colleagues are supportive .

    Cons

    There aren't many new hire positions

    Cirrus Logic2019-04-26
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Digital Design Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cirrus Logic for less than a year

    Pros

    Great food and coffee Free guitar lessons Fun and laid-back atmosphere Strong team spirit Excellent modern office with gym and dining

    Cons

    Very limited on-site parking available

    Cirrus Logic2018-11-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cirrus Logic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good projects driven by strong customer demand and requirements. Good work culture. Good benefits and perks. Happy hours, rock concerts organized regularly. Guitar and fitness classes at work.

    Cons

    Commuting to downtown may be a hassle. Getting promoted up the hierarchy can take much longer than other companies. Tight deadlines and project schedules.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Plan for resource crunches well ahead of time. Expand chip portfolio. Higher more software folks. Promote manager from within.

    Cirrus Logic2017-11-09
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Inconsistent and poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Verification Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cirrus Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a nice office building in downtown, and the employees get pampered with many perks, including Happy Hour drinks, and tickets to musical events like SXSW.

    Cons

    The management is terribly inconsistent, fosters favoritism and there is plenty of politics. Good work is not acknowledged. Instead, in many groups, like the Design Verification group, some people in management with big egos target engineers towards their personal agendas. I was not even given a fair performance evaluation. The management can be very sneaky and dishonest. A few years earlier, I was made an offer in... their Tucson, AZ office. When I asked about sustainability of that business in Tucson, I was given a rosy picture. About 3 weeks after I was made that offer, they shut down the Tucson office. I'm glad I had not taken their offer! They have limited product offerings, in only a single market, with only one major customer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would urge you to look at certain groups like the Design Verification group, in which some people get promoted to be managers only because they are technically good. It takes a lot more to be a good manager than technical competence.

    Cirrus Logic2017-05-15

    Cirrus Logic Response

    June 13, 2017Corporate Communications Publisher

    We welcome comments from our current employees as well as former employees such as yourself. We do think that the many perks such as the ones you mention are pretty cool and unique, and we’re always looking at new programs to enhance our corporate culture and employee engagement. ...

    Show More
  5. "Cool people, cool products, cool company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cirrus Logic

    Pros

    Great company culture, people always have your back and are immensely helpful. The atmosphere is laid-back. Genuinely great products the company can be proud of. Very good graduate salary. Free snacks!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Cirrus Logic2017-02-26

    Cirrus Logic Response

    March 21, 2017Corporate Communications Publisher

    Thank you for taking the time to give your review!

  6. Helpful (21)

    "Mixed Signal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mixed Signal IC Design Engineer (Analog) in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cirrus Logic

    Pros

    Free tix, beer, happy hours etc, to attract interns to join full time should they be offered.

    Cons

    The worst work-life balance, constant stress from layoffs (3 last year), unresponsive managers, and concentration on just one customer. Tier 2 managers are somewhat lazy, and are only around to make sure they can let people know their fate literally hangs in the balance. Forget Engg, even the HR got laid off here.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the people you have, hire less, diversify more, use existing technology, and lessen scope for political layoffs and firings. Also, make the HR get better at continuing relations with past interns. No one cares much for the happy hours, beer and tix, if there's an axe waiting to fall on your head.

    Cirrus Logic2015-11-20
  7. "Not sure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cirrus Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is the best I've ever experienced.

    Cons

    Have taken casual dress too far

    Cirrus Logic2014-09-15
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Is it too much to ask for a simple Thank-you?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cirrus Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is great. The perks are nice for single people who want to live in the downtown area. Good rewards from upper management and lots of fringe benefits. Easy access downtown to a lot of food joints. Happy hour on Fridays.

    Cons

    For family guys who don't drink, the perks aren't quite there. Managers need to be trained better. It was literally years between when a manager has said "Good Job", or "Thank-you" even after putting in 16 hour days for a few weeks to meet a deadline. There is a lack of positive feedback. Support from management just isn't there.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management does a good job of trying to convey a sense of caring about the employee. Cirrus needs to get that level of reward and feedback down at the first level managers. There is too much stress on the first level managers to turn in projects too quickly especially for the one big customer. Branch out, find more customers, and ease the stress of having just one customer that could break the company... completely with a decision to go another way. Stop concentrating on the "downtown" feel for the single guy and think about the guys with families.

    Show More
    Cirrus Logic2014-04-29
  9. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cirrus Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits with happy hour every Friday. Lot of nice people to work with and flat management. Coworkers are nice, helpful, motivated and very efficient.

    Cons

    Can't think of it as of now

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cirrus Logic2013-10-12
  10. "Cirrus knows audio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cirrus Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part of life at cirrus is the coworkers. All pitch in to make the work and social life great.

    Cons

    At the time cirrus is a bit single focused. There is a bit of NIH syndrome that hinders smooth developments.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to keep their eyes open as to where the real value in the company is.

    Cirrus Logic2013-05-24
Found 13 reviews