Cielo Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cielo Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cielo Founder & CEO Sue Marks (no image)
Sue Marks
269 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility to work from home, positive and fun culture, vast opportunity to grow, great leadership(in 44 reviews)

  • "Love the flexibility in working at Cielo, remote options available, great work life balance(in 40 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "cielo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    home office opportunity, work time flex

    Cons

    low level people management, no revision of salaries

    Cielo2020-02-05

    Cielo Response

    February 5, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Tara Cassady, EVP of Client Services for the Americas. I’m glad to read that you’ve had a general positive experience with Cielo. I would be interested in understanding more details around your comment about low level people management. I am motivated to address gaps in our business that make it difficult for our people to feel successful, fulfilled and driven. If you’d like to talk more about your experience with Cielo, please contact me any time at tara.cassady@cielotalent.com or 262-439-1428.

    Continue reading
  2. "Resources. Diversity. Family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Advisor in Budapest
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cielo is the type of place where you have the liberty to tell your ideas and ask for advice from the top level management. I am not micromanaged. My ideas are listened and implemented. I strongly recommend Cielo as an employer.

    Cons

    The clients will ask you to find unicorn candidates. This keeps your blood running. Be ready for challenges.

    Continue reading
    Cielo2020-01-21

    Cielo Response

    January 31, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi! This is Fiona Doyle, SVP of People and Culture for EMEA and APAC. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your comments reflect our way of working and the culture we have built at Cielo, where we encourage employees to be bold and be the best. We hope that your career with us continues to grow.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Business Partner 

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company ethos is great, you are encouraged to own your career.

    Cons

    The working hours could be more flexible

    Cielo2020-01-14

    Cielo Response

    February 7, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Fiona Doyle, SVP of People and Culture. Thank you for your review. It’s great feedback that our approach to encouraging employees to take development and career enhancing opportunities is having a positive impact.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Major issues with pressure to fill openings..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy access to the freeway.

    Cons

    You know there’s an issue when someone refers to their positions as “so entry level, all they’re looking for is a warm body with a heart beat.” This is NOT good recruiting! The demand for fast fills was unreal and I was constantly asked to cut corners. I was told to skip behavioral questions during phone interviews and only go over the basics (example: “What compensation are you seeking?”) just so we could get the candidate on the hiring manager’s calendar as soon as possible.

    Continue reading
    Cielo2020-02-18
  5. "Great place the develop your recruitment career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace cultures led by some inspiring leaders

    Cons

    A little bit of work burnout from time to time but not a major

    Cielo2020-01-09

    Cielo Response

    January 20, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Fiona Doyle, SVP of People & Culture. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are passionate about creating an engaging and positive culture where our leaders make a difference. We know that at times client demands can increase, and we encourage you to discuss this with your line manager to ensure that we provide the support we can to manage through those occasions.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Please Read: Do NOT work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cielo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I met some great people.

    Cons

    If you're on this site it's probably to gain a better understanding of how Cielo treats their employees and, above all, if the employees are genuinely happy. I worked at this company when it was still called "Pinstripe" and I've seen dramatic, negative changes spanning over half a decade. One of my biggest regrets was staying at this company for as long as I did. There were days when I felt physically ill from working in Cielo's fear-based, toxic work environment. I remember asking my friends if they ever felt afraid to go to work and seeing baffled, concerned looks on their faces. That was a huge red flag. Cielo's management is nothing like I've ever experienced before. Calling employees out on the spot in meetings to make examples of them, giving mixed messages regarding expectations and goals, and severe micromanaging. Would you like to log every single task you complete into a computer system, note the task, note how long it took, and quantify how many of those tasks you were able to get done? And then discuss it at length in weekly team meetings... and then be required to keep a daily log of your candidate contacts... and then be required to write an end-of-the-week weekly report... and then discuss all of this in mandatory bi-weekly meetings? You'll be required to report on every single task you complete and how long it took you to complete it. And if something doesn't look right, you'll be reprimanded. If you question management, you'll be reprimanded again. Also, beware of job security here. If there isn't a company-wide lay off then you have to make sure you're exceeding your manager's performance expectations. I never felt comfortable simply meeting expectations. The pressure they put on their employees is unbelievable. Please consider what I'm saying in this review. Unless you really need the money, I promise there are better companies out there.

    Continue reading
    Cielo2020-02-11

    Cielo Response

    February 17, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Marissa Geist, COO. Cielo has gone through a lot of change during your time here, and it’s disappointing that you read that you felt them as negative. We’re growing up as an organization, and employees with tenure like yours have been instrumental in helping us make a lot of positive changes across the company. I know we’ve made some mistakes along the way, but we’ve learned from each of those and the projects we’re working on now to evolve our operating model, accelerate our growth, and enhance our technology roadmap will give us an even stronger foundation for long-term success. Each of the tracking mechanisms you referenced is intended to measure activity to ensure appropriately-staffed teams and balanced workloads – not to micro-manage or measure performance. We’re working to automate our core systems and update our reporting tools to avoid the manual nature of how we currently track activity. The goal is to use the data from this reporting to grow our team members’ versatility, leverage their expertise and ultimately, empower them to focus on the aspects of their job that they love. I hope you know the impact you made during your time here – for your candidates, your client and Cielo. Surely you accomplished a lot in your 6+ years and I hope the skills and experience you built here will serve you well in the next chapter of your career.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Planner in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organizational philosophy, remote opportunities, high base salary sacrificing comission ability.

    Cons

    You are at the mercy of other companies HR teams that can take you off of their accounts at a whim. Cielo is a great company though

    Continue reading
    Cielo2020-01-07

    Cielo Response

    January 13, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Tara Cassady, EVP of Client Services for the Americas. I’m glad to read that you’ve had an overall positive experience with Cielo. Account transitions happen in our industry, and when they do, we do all we can to assist our people in finding internal positions that match their skillset and/or desired career path. I understand what you’re saying about the structure, and will share your comments with the leadership team to consider for future compensation planning. If you’d like to talk more about your experience with Cielo, please contact me any time at tara.cassady@cielotalent.com or 262-439-1428.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Check your different country offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Specialist in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cielo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    USA Upper management is nice and open, always asking about how you are and if you are happy with what is happening to you in the firm.

    Cons

    There are lots of proceedures when it comes to promotions. But it seems favoritism and favoring external talent is becaming a trend in regards to promotions. Compensation does not equate your professional background, whether you are new or tenured in the industry, it does not make a difference. You all receive the same compensation. When promotion or higher post is open, external can easily apply while making it hard for internal.

    Continue reading
    Cielo2020-01-17

    Cielo Response

    January 29, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Dan Bates, SVP of Operations. I’ve truly enjoyed the time I’ve spent at the Manila office and look forward to the time I’ll get to spend there in the coming months! It is amazing to see how much the office has grown in such a short amount of time, and that growth has opened a lot of opportunities for career development. Our Manila Delivery Center has a structured program for career progression within each role, reviewing and promoting internal talent, as well as a structured merit and performance review process. Since you’ve not quite been here for a year, perhaps you haven’t experienced this yet. Our clients’ needs differ by account, so as you can imagine, the processes and procedures for carefully building our teams for each account are complex. We encourage our employees to seek internal opportunities when available, and depending on the timing and changes in client expectations, we may not always be able to fill roles with internal candidates. Every situation is unique, but please know that we always want our people to have the opportunity to accelerate their career at Cielo! If you’d like to talk more about your career path, please contact me any time at Daniel.Bates@cielotalent.com or let’s connect when I’m in the office! I’ll be in Manila a lot this month and next!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cielo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, decent clients and a range of accounts.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, awful account management from account directors and feelings of uncertainty.

    Cielo2020-01-12

    Cielo Response

    January 13, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Tara Cassady, EVP of Client Services for the Americas. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with more about your experience with Cielo. I’m happy to read you enjoyed your team and the variety of clients you had the opportunity work with, and would like to understand the specifics behind your comments about communication and account management so we can make improvements where possible. Even though it looks like you’ve already left the company, please consider reaching out to me at tara.cassady@cielotalent.com or 262-439-1428.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Planner 

    I worked at Cielo full-time

    Pros

    flexible work schedule, incentives, employee recognition for hard work

    Cons

    benefits were average at best

    Cielo2020-01-13

    Cielo Response

    January 20, 2020Corporate Communications Manager

    Hi, this is Tara Cassady, EVP of Client Services for the Americas. I’m glad to read that you’ve had an overall positive experience with Cielo. Account transitions happen in our industry, and when they do, we do all we can to assist our people in finding internal positions that match their skillset and/or desired career path. I understand what you’re saying about the structure, and will share your comments with the leadership team to consider for future compensation planning. If you’d like to talk more about your experience with Cielo, please contact me any time at tara.cassady@cielotalent.com or 262-439-1428.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 461 reviews