Children's Aid Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Children's Aid Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
37%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Children's Aid President/CEO Phoebe Boyer
Phoebe Boyer
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "MDFT Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Children's Aid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an entry-level position and the majority of the staff at my office were very supportive. There was very little micromanaging (depending on your supervisor). Office made an effort to do team-building retreats and celebrate holidays.

    Cons

    Unfortunately my office had a tendency of complaining about the work constantly (including higher management) which really affected my motivation to do this job. Extremely high turnover - every month another person resigned. There was a lot of misleading information communicated between the counselors and directors/supervisors. This included a promised pay-raise, which was delayed for months until it was officially revoked. The therapist position is challenging because you do go into shady neighborhoods to fulfill home visit requirements. My supervisor seemed to prioritize fulfilling the numbers rather than my safety.

    Continue reading
    Children's Aid2018-10-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Aid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission of providing the community with the best resources to excel. The attentive details to the children. Health insurance was a plus even though towards the end they were forced into higher premiums with higher deductibles.

    Cons

    Salary. Once you're in and get a promotion your salary won't go up as much. But let an outsider was to apply and get the job their salary may be close to the market valur.

    Children's Aid2018-08-24
  3. "Great family orientated non-profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Children's Aid full-time

    Pros

    Family orientated non-profit that is focused on helping the inner city youth of all ages

    Cons

    With the potential loss of funding due to this current presidential regime - sites and programs are at risk of closure

    Children's Aid2018-08-02
  4. "flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Aid full-time

    Pros

    flexible, small class ratios, willing to work with continuing education schedule.

    Cons

    expensive health care plans, low salary

    Children's Aid2018-08-11
  5. "program director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Children's Aid full-time

    Pros

    Children show you the way of life.

    Cons

    Money is a issue for the company

    Children's Aid2018-05-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Overworked & (ridiculously) Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Aid full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You are trusted to do the job that you were hired to do, meaning there was very little micromanaging . The agency is laid-back and does strive to do really impactful work.

    Cons

    SALARY. This agency REQUIRES its staff to have all of these qualifications but refuses to pay them for it. Staff work extremely hard to carry out the mission of the agency, but aren't appreciated or compensated. Yes, many people are for great things that they can accomplish for underrepresented groups, but the staff still need to make ends meet. It's a shame when we are expected to help support our clients but we (the people at the "bottom" who are fulfilling the agency's mission) can't pay our own rent or bills. Pretty sure the people at the top always pay their rent on time though. Shame on Children's Aid.

    Continue reading
    Children's Aid2018-06-15
  7. "Evidence-based Model Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Evidence-Based Model Therapist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Aid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great HR department. - An overall sense of unity within the agency. - Very knowledgeable coworkers and supervisors (people know their stuff). - Room for growth within Children's Aid. - Good for an entry level experience. - Great benefits package. - Flexible hours (within the evidence-based arena).

    Cons

    - Low pay with little opportunity for earning more, despite credentials. - Little room for growth within the evidence-based model positions. - Less diversity in "higher up" positions. - Work-life balance is awful; you will be worked to death. - Not enough genuine support in this position (which was extremely stressful). - Need more bilingual therapists within the evidence-based models.

    Continue reading
    Children's Aid2018-04-25
  8. "Family Advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Children's Aid full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with families pursuing adoption, and helping children find their forever families .

    Cons

    There were challenges in communication, as well as receiving beneficial supervision and guidance on how to handle some challenges that arose.

    Children's Aid2018-04-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Aid

    Pros

    Great work schedule and working environment.

    Cons

    Pay not enough Need to hear more the employee

    Children's Aid2018-03-21
  10. "Decent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Aid full-time

    Pros

    A lot of vacation, work-life balance

    Cons

    Pay Location Hard to make change

    Children's Aid2018-02-23
Found 130 reviews