Chemtrade Employee Reviews about "plant"

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 112 reviews

3.8
84%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Chemtrade CEO Scott Rook (no image)
Scott Rook
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Just joined Chemtrade a few months ago, and I'm positively surprised(in 9 reviews)

  • "Staff are always willing to do their best to make the plant/orders work(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Older buildings for some plant sites(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is a challenge(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "plant"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Aug 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Good management team 2. Manageable workload

      Cons

      1. Older buildings for some plant sites

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Poor management

      Jul 27, 2021 - Coordinator in Valleyfield, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff are always willing to do their best to make the plant/orders work

      Cons

      Regional manager gives you a lot of the plant manager's job, since no plant manager. No appreciation whatsoever nor sympathy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to work

      Jun 15, 2021 - Chemical Process Operator in Fort Saskatchewan, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rrsp matching, high wage, good premiums, lots of overtime, Gain experience in a lot of different aspects.

      Cons

      Small outdoor plant, No free merchandise, Lots of small jobs to do that you wouldn’t have to at bigger plants

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Technical Personnel Review

      Jul 26, 2019 - Electrical and Automation Engineer In Training in Brandon, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive compensation and excellent benefits. Supportive, team based environment on plant sites and at the corporate level. Lots of opportunity to expand personal working knowledge, while contributing noticeable benefits to the company.

      Cons

      Minimal training budget. Decreasing stock price since 2018.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good company

      Sep 22, 2020 - E&I Technician in Shreveport, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      they listen to their employees when they should. good pay

      Cons

      plant is shutting down but its more economy and location based

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Every Job Has It's Challenges, But I Am Enjoying Working Here!!!

      May 28, 2019 - Maintenance Supervisor in Celina, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture of Safety- There is a focused vision of a culture of safety. Emphasis on NOTHING being above proceeding in a safe manner. Incredible opportunity to lead from the front. We are always pushing for individual to be forward leaning rather than waiting for someone to tell them what to do. We are a "manpower efficient" operation. Teamwork is a must. Surrounded by Opportunities to Excel- There is a dedicated effort to increase the material condition and operational capabilities of the plant. There are always opportunities for individuals and teams to excel! Benefits package is really great. 401K 6% match! I actually look forward to going to work everyday! Is it perfect? NO, but I have heard absolute horror stories of situations from friends of mine working at other companies that I have not had to deal with here. Make me feel pretty good about my job! The surrounding area makes it easy to get to work. There are a number of different directions you can live. You want to live in the country (like me) no problem. City life, no problem!

      Cons

      Shortage of Manpower- I am really having a hard time finding qualified maintenance Technicians to apply, but I am building a Maintenance Team designed to work and learn together, building on our strengths and improving on individual skill set weakness by cross training and education. Always 100 items to complete and sometimes 99 of them are priorities, but it really exercises critical thinking skills!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      N/A

      Jun 5, 2019 - Technical Planner/Scrum Master 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits if you are a family.

      Cons

      In terms of pay, its on the lower scale of chemical plants.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Strongly Recommend Chemtrade!

      Apr 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong commitment to environmental health, and safety from the CEO to the plant managers. The company is willing to shut the plant down to do the right thing.

      Cons

      The company grows through acquisitions so it requires you to be flexible.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Chemtrade Response

      Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you very much for your excellent review! We appreciate your input and we are really glad to hear that you enjoy working at Chemtrade. It’s very rewarding to learn that our employees recognize our commitment to workplace health and safety. Thanks again!

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Loved my job

      Apr 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed what I do

      Cons

      Plant closed is only reason I'm leaving

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People First

      Jan 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a high level of autonomy with management type roles as the company values entrepreneurship and reducing bureaucracy. Chemtrade employees are highly engaged and vested in helping to create a great company. It is small enough that disengaged employees are few and far between. Safety is a core value held by all management. Richmond plant specifically has new site management that are strong leaders, good people, and technical experts in their field.

      Cons

      We work really hard. The high level of engagement results in long hours. The job is fun and I enjoy it, but work life balance is a struggle sometimes, particularly with travel. As this is a young company, lack of corporate programs/guidance can be frustrating at times.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Chemtrade Response

      Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful feedback! We are happy to hear that are having a great time working at Chemtrade. It’s really encouraging to read that you enjoy Chemtrade’s fun and safe work environment. We want you to know that we continue to implement programs, systems and processes that provide the tools and structure necessary to support our Value of putting People First.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Chemtrade Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Chemtrade? Share Your Experiences

    Chemtrade logo
    or