Chase Mortgage Banker Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Chase Chairman and CEO, JPMorgan Chase Jamie Dimon (no image)
Jamie Dimon
32 Ratings
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, excellent management teams, top-notch benefits (PTO, health insurance, etc.)

    Cons

    Frequent changes to compensation plan - common in most sales roles

    Chase2019-10-23
  2. "Mortgage Banker"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training , benefits and pay.

    Cons

    I did not find anything negative about the company.

    Chase2019-07-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private Client Mortgage Banker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chase full-time

    Pros

    Experience working for one of the largest banks

    Cons

    Difficulty closing loans in a timely fashion , horrible mortgage software and processing and underwriting located in different states and time zones

    Continue reading
    Chase2019-01-15
  4. "Great Benefits, Stressful Work Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits like healthcare, retirement, pension, and free fitness classes on site. There are cafeterias in the main corporate buildings that carry many different options. The pay isn’t terrible compared to the rest of the industry. Many different opportunities to move up within the company.

    Cons

    Work/life balance isn’t the greatest, as you are expected to work overtime to be viewed as a dedicated employee. Internal promotions are heavily favored and many times unfair, but at the same time I’ve seen a lot of promotions be fairly selected based upon experience needed. Changes in the department are rapid and without much warning. Sales quotas are high, but the leads are low. Compensation structure keeps changing, which isn’t aligned with the ever-changing market/lower leads, making it stressful to make a good commission check.

    Continue reading
    Chase2018-08-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mortgage Banker"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chase has a very strong reputation and Client flock to Chase when there is uncertainty

    Cons

    Chase is very very very conservative and slow to adapt to change.

    Continue reading
    Chase2018-05-03
  6. "Sr. Mortgage banker"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mortgage Banker in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everyone is nice to work with. If you wortk hard you can make money.

    Cons

    Hard to get to management level. No diversity in Management level.

    Continue reading
    Chase2017-12-04
  7. "Mortgage Banker"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits are close to the best around

    Cons

    You are just a # due the the size of the firm and job security is not there.

    Chase2017-10-05
  8. "Home equity loan officer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Good hours, no ability to take work home. Good time off allowances and paid vacation time.

    Cons

    Questionable work environment with fluctuating upper management. Stressful environment. Redundant day to day duties. Difficult to be recognized positively for performance.

    Chase2017-07-27
  9. "Mortgage Banker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Management and support. Good opportunity from a network around you. Good structure. The harder and smarter you work... the more you earn. I listed the commission as a range. "Up to" $6k commission plus base, depending on work ethic and smarts! It was also a fun environment within the branch and other team members.

    Cons

    At the time processing was backlogged. That may have changed by now! That was a few years ago. Please contact someone working there for more updates.

    Chase2017-06-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "So glad I got out!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banking Shared Services in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits were amazing. I worked in a support role for the Mortgage Banking organization and pay was good for the work I did, and health/time off benefits were terrific.

    Cons

    In my last position, it was a sorority. I'm a woman, and I support women in the workplace, but this was ridiculous. Uneducated people were running the show and it was a good ol' boy/good ol' girl system if I ever saw one. They didn't want to hear rational, intelligent thoughts. I had to get out, and I am so glad I did.

    Continue reading
    Chase2017-04-14
Found 78 reviews