Charles River Development Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Charles River Development Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Development CEO John Plansky
John Plansky
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very smart people, dedicated workforce, self motivated/self starter mentality(in 31 reviews)

  • "Work happens at a good cadence so good work life balance(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lots to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Implementation Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product (CRIMS), OK employee training. Unbeatable work-life balance as work-from-home is greatly encouraged (for the Canada-based employees) Folks in Product Development are highly experienced, great wealth of industry knowledge.

    Cons

    Poor management structure. Unreasonably high emphasis on 'billables' creates an environment where everyone is out for themselves, no team atmosphere. Lack of commitment to fix-and-improve things.

    Continue reading
    Charles River Development2017-06-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Ask around before joining this firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development

    Pros

    smart and talented workers, good benefits and salary

    Cons

    senior management is totally autocratic, company is mature & lacking innovation, line staff and middle mgt are indiscrimately fired, high turnover, senior mgt are not client focused, only care about the bottom line

    Continue reading
    Charles River Development2017-03-22
  3. "everything was good and good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    everything was good and good environment

    Cons

    as per my inf no cons

    Charles River Development2019-10-01
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work ethic, great location.

    Cons

    The technology stack is aged.

    Charles River Development2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Interview your manager before accepting the offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free gym downstairs. The company is expanding

    Cons

    Please interview your manager before accepting the offer, regarding work-life balance. It varies a lot by teams, but ... Some managers will call your cell OUTSIDE working hours, either evenings or even SUNDAYs and need IMMEDIATE response. This happens A LOT! No respect on personal life at all (note: my function is not customer facing or mission critical, but still everything is due yesterday). The managers may also call you for example if he is stuck in traffic. Very common to work 60 hours without any appreciation. Work from home in the team was considered as a Luxury, even though the company claims to offer flexibility.

    Charles River Development2019-10-30
  6. "If you don't care about work culture and prefer to come to work only to do 9-5 and leave, this is the right place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For new grads like me who are on F1, this place is great because they'll file you an H1B. The benefits are great along with package. From what I have heard, the holidays given are more then other industries. If you enjoy Java, this is the right place.

    Cons

    There is no 'after work' life here. Difficult to meet and mingle with other employees here. From my experience here, people here just do their 9-5 and leave. You bring your food, you eat at your desk and leave. There isn't really companies own cafeteria to get to know other employees. While I write this, I feel everyone who is at this company is for the money, nothing else. Cons include a bit on company using a lot of legacy dated tools only such has no Intellij nor Jira. So, if you keep doing what you are told at the company, you'll be left really behind the pack. You gotta be lucky to get a good manager because like it said other people commenting here, micro-management is a thing in this company, BE WARE.

    Continue reading
    Charles River Development2019-09-25
  7. "Room for inprovement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative CO Coordinator in Charles River Station, MA

    I worked at Charles River Development part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    awesome place to work esp food team spirit

    Cons

    could add more diversity indeed

    Continue reading
    Charles River Development2019-08-09
  8. "really substantial work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    Charles River is a good place to work with some very smart people

    Cons

    no work from home option at all

    Charles River Development2019-08-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Really Friendly and Positive Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Burlington, MA

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, Good Benefits, Comparable Pay

    Cons

    Not easy to get to from Boston on public transit

    Charles River Development2019-07-10
  10. "Better since getting acquired by State Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Specialist 

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    Since being acquired by State Street in 2018 the perks have improved. 35 hour week rather than 40. Starting 26 (25+bday off) days holiday rather than starting 20. Private Health insurance.

    Cons

    No bonuses, atleast not yet.

    Charles River Development2019-07-22
Found 214 reviews