Centro Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 308 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Centro Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
239 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never thought I would ever find a place where I could work on cool problems AND have a great work life balance until I came to Centro(in 30 reviews)

  • "Centro has a great benefits package(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The bonus structure changed almost yearly, never to the benefit of anyone who wasn't upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Ramp-up on the product is a bit steep, but seems to be the nature of ad tech(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A wonderful place to work, grow and be part of a fast paced start-up like environment

      Dec 16, 2014 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced environment. The company is still growing at a rapid speed. So a lot of opportunity to grow and learn and make your own future. Great Benefits Average/Above Average salaries Great work life balance Friday Happy hour . .a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a few drinks after work and mingle with co-workers

      Cons

      Too many amazing things and great people all around. A lot happening all the time. Sometimes its easy to loose focus and get distracted.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Centro - Great Company and Great People

      Dec 21, 2020 - Senior Media Specialist in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are hardworking, driven, talented and friendly. Centro's proprietary software (Basis DSP) is the #1 User-Voted DSP by G2 Crowd. Centro has premier partnerships with Google and Facebook. This makes media planning fun and it also means you have access to a wide variety of resources that you wouldn't necessarily be able to access at a smaller ad agency. The career development paths are clear and the managers/leadership truly care about your training/development. Centro has a great benefits package.

      Cons

      Sometimes you might be required to work longer hours to meet quick deadlines. Some regions and teams are stronger/better than others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centro Response

      Centro

      I appreciate your thoughtful feedback around your experience on the media services team – thank you! We are fortunate to have a great platform and premier partnerships, but are even more fortunate to employ great people who do great work. Thank you for rolling up your sleeves when quick deadlines or long hours are needed! Our hope is that team members continue to feel supported by our benefits package and continue to grow their careers by taking advantage of the many training and development options we provide. If you have any additional feedback about the team or region, please feel free to reach out to me directly or through tellusmore@centro.net. Thank you for all you do and I hope to hear from you. April, EVP, Media Services and Operations

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall Positive Place to Work w/ Room for Improvement

      Jan 12, 2021 - Senior Digital Strategist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits - healthcare, flexible time off, student loan assistance, etc. Strong talent pool of intelligent people Diverse client base offers lots of learning opportunities - each day is different

      Cons

      Lack of transparency from leadership Consistently understaffed means long hours and working across multiple roles at once Sales model means we're constantly pitching new business while also responsible for maintaining and growing existing accounts - too much responsibility with not enough support

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centro Response

      Centro

      I appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback! One of the best things about Centro is that each day is different – our media teams are able to work with diverse clients, different team members, and multiple departments. I’m happy to hear you find this valuable as well and that you feel surrounded by strong talent and intelligent coworkers. It’s disappointing to hear that you feel there is a lack of transparency – even though we move fast, Shawn, myself, and the leadership team are incredibly committed to monthly All Hands Calls and providing company updates on revenue, technology, diversity, and navigating the pandemic. To address your feedback around the long hours, I hear you and am continuing to work with department leaders on workload distribution and we have opened up a number of new roles that will help balance workload. Please be sure to tune in to the February All Hands Call for a more comprehensive 2021 strategy. Finally, Centro doesn’t operate like a typical agency, so the partnership between our media services teams and sales is definitely unique and has its benefits and challenges. If you’re open to sharing additional feedback or ideas around handling new business, please feel free to email me directly! April, EVP, Media Services and Operations

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent place to work

      Oct 19, 2020 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office, great benefits and perks

      Cons

      lack of transparency and training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centro Response

      Centro

      Thank you for taking the time to share your insights about your time at Centro! We are glad that you enjoyed the office as well as the wonderful perks and benefits we offer. As our people work to change the ad tech industry, we want to make sure they feel happy, healthy and fulfilled when they come to work. We are disappointed to hear that you didn’t have an optimal experience when it came to transparency and training since that’s something we work hard on making accessible for all employees. Shawn is incredibly committed to monthly All Hands Calls where our employees get updates on company regarding a number of topics – revenue, technology, diversity, and navigating a pandemic (!). Our Education and Development team works hard on training and development, including a full sales enablement program, and plans to continue to add to those offerings. If you have any more feedback that would help us understand your experience, please reach out to tellusmore@centro.net to discuss your thoughts. - Emily, EVP, Talent and Development

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Benefits, Lacks Diversity & Competitive Pay

      May 15, 2020 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Centro provides some great benefits to their employees including unlimited time off, tons of free food, and a sabbatical.

      Cons

      Entry and mid-level salaries for most of the company are far from competitive. Promotions are given based on favoritism and it's difficult to navigate unless your team and manager are favorites. Centro also has an alarming lack of diversity for such a "progressive" company that brags about their culture. Almost every POC I knew quit during my tenure.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Centro Response

      Centro

      We appreciate you sharing with your thoughts with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the benefits that we provide to our employees, as we constantly strive to create a work-life balance to help Centrons become the best version of themselves. We are saddened to hear about your experience with our pay, promotions, and DEI efforts however. We remain incredibly dedicated to diversity, equity, and inclusion for all of our employees, and continuously strive for improvement in this area as it is essential for our culture. Our goals surround not just attracting a more diverse candidate pipeline but also ensuring they feel comfortable, safe and welcome when they get through the door. We continue to introduce new ways for our employees and leadership to become self aware through training and company-wide discussions and dialogue surrounding race and inclusion. Our employee-led Community Groups (ERGs) continue to help our company improve through awareness education and a safe space for their communities to gather and support each other. We acknowledge we have a lot of work to do though to improve Centro’s diversity, and the diversity of our industry altogether, and we are taking action on a wide scale. If you have any additional feedback or questions, we would appreciate hearing from you at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Truly the best place to work

      Apr 11, 2014 - Vice President in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Centro is truly the best place to work. The manifesto created by Shawn Riegsecker, and carried out each day by upper management places a tremendous emphasis on the growth, happiness and well-being of all Centro employees, vendors and customers. As it pertains to employee well-being, I am thrilled to come into work each day to work alongside the happiest and most dedicated people in terms of their work and personnel life. Working at Centro is inspiring every day and full of surprises including perks beyond anyone's imagination such as a dream program, yoga on site, leadership training, management workshops, save the world volunteer days, employee recognition (raving fans), great benefits and vacation as well as countless other perks. Centro puts its money where its mouth is by spending a lot of time and money on each of its employees. Happy employees result in significant success and true teamwork in achieving such success. As the company has grown significantly, none of this has been lost since it is a core of the company's success.

      Cons

      There is nothing I can say about Centro in terms of cons. Upper management is very transparent and open for suggestions through many anonymous outlets on a monthly basis. All managers have an open door policy as well. Anything that an employee may identify as a con or may improve the company is open for consideration by upper management and tends to get changed/implemented if it is in line with the Manifesto and company goals.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!!

      Mar 7, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For starters, Centro has some of the nicest and most interesting people I have met in the industry. From day one I was welcomed into this wonderful family. I come in every day knowing that my work is appreciated and that my opinions matter. They strive to make everyone a better worker and better person through training and wellness initiatives. Coming from an agency background, where the hours are sometimes long and tedious, It is very refreshing to work at a place where your home life is as valued as your work life. Great benefits and pay is very comparable or slightly above the industry standard. I work in a regional office so we aren't quite as large as the Chicago office, but as we grow, we have the opportunity to make our office exactly what everyone wants. All in all, I have had a great experience and look forward to seeing the company continue to grow and flourish!

      Cons

      The typical "growing pains," that can be experienced working for a start-up. Slightly long interview process, but for a good reason. Everyone that works here is hand picked and the company wants to make sure that everyone is a perfect fit both professionally and personality-wise. Fast-paced, and Intellectually challenging. If you enjoy a job with those attributes, you will thrive here!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company unless you are looking to develop quality software

      Aug 25, 2014 - Engineering Team in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with great benefits. HR people are very nice and customer support is great.

      Cons

      This is the worst development job in my long career. It is sad because the company has some great potential and some really smart engineers. The problem is that the relatively new CTO (MR) is absolutely clueless on how to manage anything. Yes, he is technically smart and has some good experience. Unfortunately, that has not translated into someone that can lead a team to success or manage people. The tech organization has been stalled for a number of years. The CTO sat on his butt in California thinking about how smart he is and how much better California is than Chicago (where the company is headquartered). Meanwhile a year goes by the tech team has not produced anything and the architecture is a mess. Then the CTO points fingers at everyone else and can't understand why nothing is happening. He hires this "executive wannabe" woman from a consulting company who really screws things up. Bottom line: If the CTO's initials are still MR, do not think about taking a development position here in spite of all of the hype.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The best place to work...

      Dec 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with Centro for many years now and it truly is the best place to work, for many reasons! The biggest reason for me is, it's a place that fosters personal and professional development. Managers really care about the growth and success of their team members. It's an organization that has a clear vision that everyone wants to get behind. The CEO and other Execs are able to motivate and lead their teams so everyone is working towards the greater goal. The great benefits are worth mentioning as well!

      Cons

      No cons to mention at this time

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Cares about employees

      Dec 3, 2015 - Sales in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, great culture, great leadership, great people

      Cons

      None really. Transitioning from a smaller company to a bigger company which has it's share of transition hiccups, but nothing that is glaring.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Centro Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Centro? Share Your Experiences

    Centro logo
    or