Centro Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Centro Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 24 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Centro CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great company/culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Test Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at the location I worked in (Toronto), was amazing. Great team, great atmosphere. My manager was also really invested in helping me improve and learn new things.

    Cons

    Nothing particularly jumps to min

    Centro2019-02-19

    Centro Response

    February 27, 2019Centro

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We appreciate your kind words and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience in our Toronto office. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent & Development

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "No Egos - Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with: + People are willing to listen and take in your opinion (regardless of what level you/they are in) + People do not have huge egos (or at least they manageable) + People do good work (most of the time) Office: + New Toronto office is pretty cool, right at Union Station, part of WeWorks - so unlimited beers, and frequent events. Extra Stuff: + Above average pay (for Canada) + Standard benefits ( RRSP matching upto 4% of Salary, health, dental...) + Good work/life balance + Flexible work hours + Unlimited vacation

    Cons

    - Flexible work hours (sometime it gets hard to reach a decision when people are in the office at different times) In the previous years when the company was struggling some of the company goals were unrealistic, which caused us to not hit the bonus.

    Continue reading
    Centro2019-01-23
  3. "Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Transparent advancement opportunities. Good culture and perks.

    Cons

    Office is very loud and too small, with limited parking.

    Centro2016-12-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome people and great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit and salary and more importantly helpful managers.

    Cons

    old building and far from Union Station

    Continue reading
    Centro2016-09-06
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Great Cutler, great people and great work environment ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, no office policies. People are easy to talk, and willing to help each other. High productive team, won't feel like wasting time at all.

    Cons

    A bit far from subway station.

    Continue reading
    Centro2015-01-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Everyone cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone cares story: Due to bad weather, some flights for the Christmas party got cancelled. We also have missed the year end presentation from the CEO which was supposed to be very important. The CEO responded with a personal email saying that he will is hoping we still are able to make it to Chicago for the party, and that he will come to Toronto ASAP to give us the presentation in person. Great Perks + fresh fruit + snacks (peanuts, pretzels, granola bars, cheese) + pop + 3 weeks off + 10 personal days Company Culture: + Self improvement + encouraged to do physical activity with 500$ a year option + 2 free classes a year (from any University) [after 1 year employment] + Happy Hour every month + Holiday party in Chicago where you meet everyone including the CEO + Orientation in Chicago where you will most likely personally meet the CEO Work: + Great support from Test Engineers and sales people ensures Engineers do not do too much manual work/debugging. + Services written with the best practices. [Pretty much copied directly from the book] Hours: + Very casual, most people arrive at the office between 10 and 11, leave between 6 and 7. [We still do work hard]

    Cons

    The Health and Dental plan could be better. - the Dental plan covers 80% - only ($240) coverage for corrective eye surgery

    Continue reading
    Centro2014-12-16
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A wonderful place to work, grow and be part of a fast paced start-up like environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment. The company is still growing at a rapid speed. So a lot of opportunity to grow and learn and make your own future. Great Benefits Average/Above Average salaries Great work life balance Friday Happy hour . .a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a few drinks after work and mingle with co-workers

    Cons

    Too many amazing things and great people all around. A lot happening all the time. Sometimes its easy to loose focus and get distracted.

    Continue reading
    Centro2014-12-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Dedicated hard-working colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro

    Pros

    The best thing are the dedicated, well educated and hard-working people. It makes such a difference to morale when you spend your days with other people who also want to grow and to share their knowledge and vision. Management have been very receptive to employees' opinions and put a lot of trust into employees. The compensation is decent, the holiday schedule is absolutely amazing (Ferris Bueller days, Sabbaticals, generousness vacation), and the benefits are excellent (pretty much all the US benefits listed on Glassdoor have been mirrored to Canadian equivalents here in Toronto). Somehow our CEO, Shawn Riegsecker, manages to remember the names of hundreds of employees...

    Cons

    The company as a whole has the philosophy that if it helps you grow as a person, that value will be put back into the company. In return, there's an expectation that you should work hard and be prepared to develop and contribute. This is not a job for the lazy or foolish.

    Continue reading
    Centro2014-12-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place and a very friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro

    Pros

    very professional people, great from the business point of view, good salaries and people love to help and more importantly awesome managers we have here.

    Cons

    connection to Union Station is quite hard.

    Centro2014-12-16
  10. Helpful (7)

    "It's definitely the best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    - I've had the opportunity to work with people I like on challenging problems. - My manager cares about my career and has done his best to put me in new and challenging situations. - There's a good energy building with some of the new hires and the product doing well in the market.

    Cons

    Nothing significant. All companies change over time and experiences might be different based on the team, city, or time period. Overall though, I've been happy over the few years I've worked at Centro.

    Centro2019-04-24

    Centro Response

    May 17, 2019Centro

    We appreciate hearing about your experience! We value your input and are so glad to hear that you’re feeling challenged, cared for by your manager, and enjoy continuing to build our product. If you have anything additional to add, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

    Continue reading
Found 20 reviews