Centro Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Centro Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 257 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Centro CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
204 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Centro is a super duper fantastic company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Where do I start? People are truly awesome to work with. I don't look at them as colleagues but more like family. For me fit is fundamental and I have found it! Open office concept is great to learn, collaborate and feed off each others energy. SO many benefits such as health, gym, RRSP matching, stocked kitchen, happy hours etc. Bottom line I worked for MANY companies and Centro has been the best experience thus... far!

    Show More

    Cons

    Can get really loud in the office which makes it's hard to hear on the phone. Sometimes there is evil food in the kitchen like cake, cookies and brownies which is quite frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! :)

    Centro2014-12-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "BEST PLACE I'VE EVER WORKED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Media Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AMAZING Culture! Leave your ego at the door, working here has never made me feel so comfortable - I feel myself more so than I do at home! I can't wait to get into the office every day. I've also learned more than I ever have in this space while working here. From industry knowledge to technology hands-on skills!

    Cons

    There isn't a ball pit - this would be cool :)

    Advice to Management

    STAY AWESOME

    Centro2014-12-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place and a very friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro

    Pros

    very professional people, great from the business point of view, good salaries and people love to help and more importantly awesome managers we have here.

    Cons

    connection to Union Station is quite hard.

    Centro2014-12-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Its not just a company, its a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales (SiteScout) in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The comradery here is incredible. Its the team that brings this company to the front of the pack. Centro employees ("peeps" as we lovingly refer to each other) genuinely care about each other, about our clients, and about our direction. Its shows in our work everyday and the results we achieve. Centro boasts a large and powerful sales force combined with industry-leading technology, but its truly the people that... make the difference here. Between the industry we are in, the compensation and benefits we get, and the culture and values we live by within our own walls, you couldn't ask for more.

    Show More

    Cons

    Its a fast-paced environment. You have to learn and adapt daily. I am not saying its a con for me, but if you aren't flexible and open-minded, it will be difficult to keep up with the challenges.

    Centro2014-04-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A very special place to learn, grow and thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved working at Centro - best job I've ever had. Working with a mission-focused, value-focused company to make the industry better means a lot to me. I'll take those lessons, friendships and connections with me wherever I go and be a better person for it.

    Cons

    Lot of pressure now to get Basis adoption...it will happen, but Rome wasn't built in a day.

    Advice to Management

    Keep scaling team growth with new-account growth...you're the best services company on the planet...those employees will also make SaaS partners very happy as long as they're not stretched too thin.

    Centro2019-08-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work in Chicago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have never worked for a company that is so supportive and encouraging. Everyone here, regardless of role or title, should feel like they have a voice within Centro and can make an impact and a difference, you can. Centro is a special place that will allow the opportunity to grow your in your career and personally.. They invest in their employees and genuinely care about personal and professional satisfaction.... There are lots of opportunities to move into different careers and gain new experiences, you just have to take advantage of them. I have grown more in my time at Centro than I have at any other company. To succeed and grow, you will need to work more than 9-5 some days or weeks but one at the company feels work is the most important part of life. The benefits are good and I like the Flexible Time Off policy. The Chicago office is always well stocked with snacks, drinks and various alcohol. The layout and decor is welcoming and wonderful, and the office is filled with amazing people building and using a technology that can change the industry. Things at Centro will only get better in the near future.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes Centro is too nice in an effort to keep the culture the way it is. We need to be better at recognizing certain employees aren't a great fit for their role, even if they're great people. It negatively impacts the rest of us to keep them around. There are also a lot of people at higher levels of the company who have "grown-up" with Centro, and don't see things from different perspectives. The pay isn't... great, but it's fine and there are a lot of other benefits. People can also be pretty cliquey and gossipy. It's intimidating and not always welcoming, but it's not usually harmful or mean. Overall, people are very nice and I have very few complaints about anything to do with the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring in a few more outsiders, but don't stray from the culture and initiatives that you have put in place. This is a special place, and you all should be proud.

    Centro2019-08-07

    Centro Response

    August 16, 2019Centro

    Thank you for getting in touch with your feedback! It’s wonderful to hear that you’ve been able to grow so much during your career here at Centro. Empowering our employees to make an impact, take the lead on their own growth, and build and work with a world class technology is so ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here! I think management fully believes in individual growth and if you work hard you are rewarded for it. The company has so many resources and internal collateral that helps you learn quickly and is wonderful to have at your fingertips. The benefits are unbeatable and are truly put in place to make you grow as a person too (free yoga, free gym money, amazing health insurance, etc!)

    Cons

    This company is very advanced and constantly growing, so you will have to work hard but that is the case in most advertising companies, so why not do it at a place with great people and great benefits.

    Centro2019-08-05

    Centro Response

    August 16, 2019Centro

    We loved hearing about your experience in the Dallas office! It’s great you feel supported by your managers, have abundant resources, and are taking advantage of our great benefits – all things important to us to set our people up for success. We appreciate your hard work and part ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "GREAT Benefits and Investment in Employees - Culture can be difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    leadership and management training, focus on employee growth and development

    Cons

    the culture is entirely cliquey the focus is on "having fun" and not getting work done, leaving managers unable to address management issues (any sort of addressing of issues is often seen as "punishment" or "dictatorial")

    Advice to Management

    the philosophy is amazing. but exec team and leadership need to be less worried about "being liked" by employees and remember that everyone is there to do a job, and expectations are high that it should be done well.

    Centro2019-08-05

    Centro Response

    August 16, 2019Centro

    Thank you for the feedback and we’re happy to hear you feel the investment in leadership and management training is valuable. With respect to “having fun” and “getting work done”, you bring up an important point and, candidly, something that is always a struggle for companies. There ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Love going into work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Media Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Centro's culture is unlike any other place I've worked. My co-workers are incredible, and I'm surrounded by high achievers who give 100% and challenge me to be a better professional and person. The benefits are outstanding, and our Chicago office is one of a kind. On-site yoga and meditation, fresh fruit, healthy snacks, and cold brew are just a few of the perks we enjoy! Plus flex time and unlimited PTO :)

    Cons

    No place is perfect, but I am so grateful to have found a company that really cares. No real cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work!

    Centro2019-06-09

    Centro Response

    July 15, 2019Centro

    It’s great to hear your feedback! We agree with you that Centro’s people are amazing (followed closely by our cold brew!). Co-workers who challenge and push us forward, and who are also great and caring people are the gold standard - and we’re proud that many of them call Centro home. ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Most Depressing Office in Santa Monica"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are absolutely no "pros" to working at this company, especially in the Santa Monica office.

    Cons

    Showing up in the morning. Everyone is miserable.

    Advice to Management

    Pull it together.

    Centro2019-08-01

    Centro Response

    August 23, 2019Centro

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We’re disappointed to hear that you experienced the office this way and are open to hearing any additional feedback if you are willing to share. It is important that our offices create a positive environment where our employees are happy to come ...

    Show More
Found 257 reviews