Centro Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Centro Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 257 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Centro CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
204 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Centro is a Great Place to Work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - super nice friendly colleagues - everyone is respectable and kind - open culture, you can go directly and talk to anyone in the office, even your boss's boss - great culture in the office - amazing minds to work with and learn from

    Cons

    - no con as such - been working here for a while now and every morning i wake up, i look forward to coming to work

    Advice to Management

    - keep doing what you are doing, change is essential and you are on the right path

    Centro2018-03-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place To Learn About Programmatic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome people; there's definitely a "family" vibe here - A great hands-on learning experience for all things programmatic (if you would've asked me what a "pixel" was 3 years ago, I would have thought you were asking me about the quality of my phone's camera...) - Flexible time off - Great work/life balance - Snacks and bevvies (yay!) - Above average salary - Open-door policy with management (speaking for... the Toronto office; I've never worked in the other offices) - We're encouraged to give feedback on product updates, and share feature requests from clients The people I have worked with both in the Toronto office, and [virtually] within the offices in the US, are friendly and knowledgeable in what they do. There are people here who I will miss, and I wish I could pack them up into my laptop bag and take them with me to my next adventure.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Snacks and bevvies (I've gained 10 lbs since being here... thanks a lot...) - Bonuses are not consistent. We're paid well, and a lot of companies don't have bonus structures anyway, but this is still worth acknowledging. - Changes in "structure/management/product focus/etc." is exciting in my opinion, but can understandably be confusing at times. This seems to be the norm at a lot of tech companies. Not quite a... "con", but it's something to be aware of if change makes you uncomfortable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not just to management, but to everyone: - Always be transparent; bad news is better than being kept in the dark. - Be open to change, and be willing to accept that companies face challenges when they grow. No matter where you are - things won't be perfect 100% of the time; understanding of this will help you appreciate the highs, and brace for the lows. - Rather than speaking poorly of a company, be thankful... for the learning experience. - If you feel as though your voice isn't heard when you have a problem, speak louder.

    Show More
    Centro2018-03-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Centro is an incredible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people. They are second to none. I have been able to grow so much professionally and personally from the amazing individuals who work across all our offices. We have amazing benefits, compensation AND lots of snacks ;)

    Cons

    There is truly nothing that I have to complain about, sure I could complain about how many emails are sitting in my inbox but in terms of the company... I am extremely happy to be here!

    Advice to Management

    Continue being open and sharing with the organization. I have never really felt "blocked out" by our management and executive teams since they have been very open about the company, issues and changes coming down the pipe.

    Centro2018-03-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "All considering, this is a great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's clear that the company, as a whole, makes an effort to invest in their employees. My experience won't be the same as everyone else's, as I lucked out with an incredible manager.

    Cons

    Nothing noteworthy here - a lot of the hires can be quite young, so there's a certain amount of immaturity/communication challenges that come along with the territory. This isn't something you can necessarily escape from from a lot of companies so you might as well get used to it!

    Advice to Management

    No advice - just, thank you.

    Centro2017-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Centro

    Pros

    nice coworkers. okay parking, bathrooms are small

    Cons

    not much room for growth

    Centro2017-08-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ample opportunities for growth for driven and knowledgable people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro

    Pros

    - Great culture - Work on the latest and greatest in ad tech - See the products you deliver in action internally and externally

    Cons

    Not many negatives to cite. Maybe that some of the higher management is too conservative in their approach to team management, communication, and project delivery.

    Centro2017-06-18
  7. "Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Transparent advancement opportunities. Good culture and perks.

    Cons

    Office is very loud and too small, with limited parking.

    Centro2016-12-09
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    - Generous unlimited paid time off and benefits package - Great culture - Coworkers are fun, young and positive - Nice office and a great variety of snacks

    Cons

    - Politics, politics, politics. - As long as you are friends with your manager you are rewarded with raises and promotions. I have witnessed people who pawn their work off onto others and do nothing but sit on facebook all day get rewarded while others who work their tails off go unnoticed. - Hard to grow your career when they would rather hire externally at a lower pay rate. - Pay is not good and raises are... difficult to get. If you fight for a raise you are lucky to get 2%. - Bonus' are a total joke.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want different results, do something different! Take the genuine concerns of your employees seriously. I am unsure of what the executive team actually does but holding them accountable for their actions and unrealistic forecasts would be a start.

    Centro2016-11-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro

    Pros

    -Great people -Interesting projects and challenges -Lots of opportunity to learn new things

    Cons

    -Not great office space -Toronto office is not as great as

    Centro2016-10-03
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome people and great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit and salary and more importantly helpful managers.

    Cons

    old building and far from Union Station

    Advice to Management

    Continue your job as niow.

    Centro2016-09-06
Found 257 reviews