Centro Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Centro Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 251 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Centro CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
199 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The bonus structure changed almost yearly, never to the benefit of anyone who wasn't upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Company is growing rapidly and as a result it seems some policies are enforced differently by department, creating a inconsistency(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great company/culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Test Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at the location I worked in (Toronto), was amazing. Great team, great atmosphere. My manager was also really invested in helping me improve and learn new things.

    Cons

    Nothing particularly jumps to min

    Centro2019-02-19

    Centro Response

    February 27, 2019Centro

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We appreciate your kind words and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience in our Toronto office. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent & Development

  2. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No significant pros for this comoany

    Cons

    Everything else sucks big time

    Advice to Management

    Care about employee development

    Centro2019-05-27

    Centro Response

    June 5, 2019Centro

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. - EVP, Talent and Development

  3. Helpful (6)

    "No Egos - Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with: + People are willing to listen and take in your opinion (regardless of what level you/they are in) + People do not have huge egos (or at least they manageable) + People do good work (most of the time) Office: + New Toronto office is pretty cool, right at Union Station, part of WeWorks - so unlimited beers, and frequent events. Extra Stuff: + Above average pay (for Canada) + Standard benefits...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Flexible work hours (sometime it gets hard to reach a decision when people are in the office at different times) In the previous years when the company was struggling some of the company goals were unrealistic, which caused us to not hit the bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Toronto is becoming a more attractive place for Tech companies, make sure the salaries keep being updated to reflect this.

    Centro2019-01-23
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Frustrating Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Unlimited Vacation ... But it's to the discretion of your manager. Some people will get approved over and over again, and others will not. 2. Lots of great work to be done ... But not enough people who are actually capable of getting it done, which causes an imbalance of workload.

    Cons

    Management (including the exec team) plays favorites. This is not a new issue, and I've seen it on multiple teams since I started at Centro. Somehow, it is never addressed and it continues to happen. If you are friends with the boss, you will get ahead - whether it's getting that raise you wanted, getting all your days off approved, or getting away with doing little to no work (and somehow still getting rewarded). ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put on your professional hat. Stop focusing on your personal ideas and feelings about your team (including who you like more than everyone else) and focus on what is important: knowledge, dedication, insightful thinking, creative problem solving and hard work. You are ignoring the people who are actually trying to get great work done to hold the team up, and rewarding those who feed off the hard work of others. It is...

    Show More
    Centro2018-10-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Success Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Centro full-time

    Pros

    great management and colleagues, unlimited vacation, room for groth

    Cons

    Pay is not the highest

    Centro2018-09-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    Amazing company culture Great working environment You feel on the forefront of Ad Tech

    Cons

    There is sometimes a large disconnect between departments

    Centro2018-09-01
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I`ve worked in many IT companies, Centro is one of the best. Good work/life balance. Unlimited vacation + home office when needed. Newest technologies. People, people, people!

    Cons

    Not the best location and office building in Toronto (amazing in Chicago). Hopefully will be changed soon.

    Centro2018-06-12
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Sad state of affairs. Job seekers: look elsewhere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time

    Pros

    The employees themselves are great, talented people.

    Cons

    Centro USED to be a great place to work, even winning awards in this particular category. However, the proof is in the pudding and over the past year or two, the culture has declined substantially to a point where it's completely unrecognizable. The last award we took home for best place to work was in 2016. First of all, it feels like some of the female leaders at this company are setting women back 100 years. All...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your leadership team needs a shuffle. Your friendships have become a major conflict of interest and there are certain people in power positions without the appropriate subject matter knowledge and leadership experience just because they've been at Centro since the early days. You're getting away from what matters, which is building a great product and culture, and focusing too much on ego and politics.

    Centro2018-06-01
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Led by a founder CEO who is really passionate about the products, and one of the few executives I've seen that leads the company in a very wholesome way with a focus on happiness, giving, collaboration, and truly caring for our customers and making their life better. Very smart and talented teams that collaborate well, and know how to produce kick-ass products while having fun. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    There's really not much to complain about - I've been really happy working here.

    Advice to Management

    You've built a great culture, so make sure to maintain this, as it helps attract the right folks that make this such a great place to be.

    Centro2018-04-18
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Centro is a Great Place to Work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - super nice friendly colleagues - everyone is respectable and kind - open culture, you can go directly and talk to anyone in the office, even your boss's boss - great culture in the office - amazing minds to work with and learn from

    Cons

    - no con as such - been working here for a while now and every morning i wake up, i look forward to coming to work

    Advice to Management

    - keep doing what you are doing, change is essential and you are on the right path

    Centro2018-03-23
Found 251 reviews