Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 164 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
37 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Positive energy led by employees who greatly care about the best interest of the company. The management is great and I felt welcomed starting my first day.

    Cons

    Really have had no negative experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great leadership. I really enjoyed listening to our CEO present our investors deck. The company clearly is on good track.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-07-19

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 18, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    I agree - it was exciting to learn about the strategies that our CEO is focused on to continue our growth!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Order Management Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Order Specialist in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not busy work relaxed no dress code fun job duties when there is work

    Cons

    supervisors don't respect their teams, they talk down to you, and treat you like a child no work very slow teammates don't go out of there way to get to know you lots of gossip

    Central Garden & Pet2017-07-27

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 18, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry you are having some issues in your job. Please contact me confidentially at recruiting@central.com and I can connect you with our SVP of Human Resources.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Most of the people are great to work with!

    Cons

    People who are hired for positions they have no business being in, as they lack formal training. Lack of interest in holding on to long-term employees. What is acceptable behavior for some, is not acceptable for others. HR couldn't care less about the "little" people.

    Advice to Management

    Hold on to long-term employees who have knowledge, skill, dedication, and who show up every day to do the best job they can to make your company what it is. Also, allow people to evaluate their bosses, as it is sooooo one-sided for bosses to be the only ones to do the evaluating.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-07-26

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 18, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to speak with our SVP of Human Resources, please contact me at recruiting@central.com.

  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    I really like CG&P. Management really looks out for the employees, the people in corporate are relaxed and the HR staff is easy to talk to. The benefits aren't bad and upward mobility isn't a pipe dream like most other companies.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. I've worked for them all in all for about 6 years.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-07-08

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 18, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Congrats on 6 years with Central!

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Order Management Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Management Specialist in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked well with my school schedule and were accommodating for other needs in regards to schedule adjustment.

    Cons

    Management micro-manages people in lower positions (and they make you feel like you're a lower level employee rather than a part of the team for the entirety of the company). Verbal abuse has been allowed to where management will publicly humiliate persons in front of their peers and then later buy them lunch or coffee to make up for it which compares to being in an abusive relationship. Management only cares for their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, fight for ways to make them happy, don't suppress people for who they are, and don't act like you care for others when all you care about is making yourself look good. The happier your employees are the better they will perform, the better the quality they will produce, and the better your numbers will become. Think about your employees before you think about yourselves.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-07-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 18, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. I have shared this with senior leadership but if you would like to talk to the SVP of Human Resources directly, please contact me at recruiting@central.com.

  6. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in Boise, ID

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair and honest place to work. But expect to work with integrity

    Cons

    It can be slow at times.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is important. It is better to keep your staff in the loop in order to have the ability to do your job to your fullest

    Central Garden & Pet2017-04-28

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your advice to management.

  7. "Merchandiser rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Insurance for family and full time.

    Cons

    Merchandise a store and manager comes in 4 to 5 days later to survey work.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-04-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free shirts and Jackets. Great Health Care

    Cons

    Lack of direction. Lack of leadership. Yearly review process is fake. Too much micro-management. Austerity programs instituted. HR is a JOKE!

    Advice to Management

    Reward those who DO work and are dedicated!

    Central Garden & Pet2017-04-17

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to discuss your experience with the SVP of Human Resources, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.

  9. "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse business units Dynamic and innovative ideals

    Cons

    Chaotic and micro managed Central control yet diverse lack of control hard for IT and policies

    Advice to Management

    Empower your staff as good managers do.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-03-24

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to discuss your concerns with the SVP of HR, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.

  10. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great brand, people, and location

    Cons

    Lots of old school mentality

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the forward momentum!

    Central Garden & Pet2017-02-13

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 16, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Found 164 reviews