Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
50 Ratings
  1. "Great company with good opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    Exposure to senior management, opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Not very attractive for young professionals

    Advice to Management

    Young professionals are eager and anxious, value them accordingly if you wish to retain and promote internally, which you do so well at now.

    Central Garden & Pet2018-06-03

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 19, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review. We are constantly looking for ways to retain talent from all generations - if you have suggestions you'd like to share, please email recruiting@central.com.

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Commack, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work whatever hours you want.

    Cons

    Very little pay for the intensity physical labor you have to do. You have to use your own car to drive from location to location. You will also have to deal with mouse droppings, rat droppings and bird dropping on a daily basis. High insurance premiums and high deductible. Raises are based on sales, if you do everything right all year round and your stores don’t have better numbers than last year you won’t get a... raise. But if they do don’t worry you’ll get a 2% raise. They will fire you without warning and also with out any clear reasons.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like human beings and not just numbers that you can cut when you need to make a budget.

    Central Garden & Pet2018-06-24

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 19, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry to hear your experience was not positive. Please contact us at recruiting@central.com if you would like to discuss your complaints.

  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Everyone's opinion matters Collaboration between teams Fun culture and work environment

    Cons

    Extra hours necessary to get job done

    Central Garden & Pet2018-05-04

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 19, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great review!

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Unbelievably bad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for about 8 days. PRO would be to let you know not to work there. That's it!

    Cons

    Passed all training test with great scores. Didn't play the game well. I have honesty and integrity. They don't know the meaning. The 1st day I witnessed the trainer sending multiple messages to managers to get employees in trouble then going to those people and being phony to their faces. I was taken aside by my trainer after verbalizing about something I wasn't taught and aggressively told to never say that again.... Was not allowed to take training manually home, finally did and realized only covered 1/2 the book after training. Told by management it takes 6 months to a year to learn the process and they encouraged training to the employees style. Next morning they let me go. Beware! I wondered why the company ALWAYS had jobs available. There it is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honesty. 7 days is not close to 6 months to a year. Teamwork makes for a good company.

    Central Garden & Pet2018-04-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    April 27, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. We have a robust AP training program with a high success rate that we continually monitor. As part of the training, we make every effort to have the employee become operational as soon as possible by providing dedicated one-on-one training for the first ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Professional work environment inviting growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great employee morale and fun co-workers

    Cons

    Sometimes waiting for additional projects to get up and running

    Central Garden & Pet2018-02-27

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    April 27, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    From my experience, very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons.

    Central Garden & Pet2018-02-10

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    February 21, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great review!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stacker in pottery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stacker In Pottery in Madison, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Over time is great and I love the work I do and my boss Mr Jimmy is very understanding with alot of things going on

    Cons

    The people that work there are very disrespectful and don't want to help others when needed and do not know how to talk to others and are very negative about the work place

    Advice to Management

    Give discipline and proper consequences when needed even if it means termination and do not pick and choose or choose a friend over another employee

    Central Garden & Pet2018-03-18

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    April 27, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to discuss your concerns with you. Please send your contact information to recruiting@central.com.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Schedule is easy. Work is easy

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care about anyone but themselves. Only way to move up in the company is to be buddy buddy with management.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees complaints. Turnover is very high. Should reflect on management at each facility

    Central Garden & Pet2018-01-22

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    February 21, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry to hear your experience was not positive. If you would like to speak to Human Resources about your concerns, please email us at recruiting@central.com.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere, easy to talk to everyone, and very productive.

    Cons

    Not always up to speed with Technology in terms of data.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-11-14

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    December 1, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

  10. "Full Time Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ft Merchandiser 

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours, paid time off, benefits, make own schedule.

    Cons

    No support from territory manager(s). Expect you to take on responsibilities of a manager without the pay. Workload. Years without any raises.

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees when they reach out for help.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-11-27

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    December 1, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not have a good experience. If you would like to speak to our SVP of Human Resources, please send an email to recruiting@central.com and we will put you in contact with her.

Found 190 reviews