Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 27 April, 2017
120 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
George Roeth
14 Ratings

120 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • They offer competitive pay and benefits (in 4 reviews)

  • Great place to work, people are awesome most associates I work with have been with the company for 15 (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • The upper management seems like it is only in it for themselves (in 5 reviews)

  • when there's a problem, no one takes responsibility, they try and shift the blame (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in Boise, ID (US)
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in Boise, ID (US)

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fair and honest place to work. But expect to work with integrity

    Cons

    It can be slow at times.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is important. It is better to keep your staff in the loop in order to have the ability to do your job to your fullest

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 May, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your advice to management.


  2. "Merchandiser rep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Nashville, TN (US)
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Nashville, TN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Insurance for family and full time.

    Cons

    Merchandise a store and manager comes in 4 to 5 days later to survey work.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 May, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  3. "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Free shirts and Jackets. Great Health Care

    Cons

    Lack of direction. Lack of leadership. Yearly review process is fake. Too much micro-management. Austerity programs instituted. HR is a JOKE!

    Advice to Management

    Reward those who DO work and are dedicated!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 May, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to discuss your experience with the SVP of Human Resources, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "IT Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet (More than a year)

    Pros

    Diverse business units
    Dynamic and innovative ideals

    Cons

    Chaotic and micro managed
    Central control yet diverse lack of control hard for IT and policies

    Advice to Management

    Empower your staff as good managers do.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 May, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to discuss your concerns with the SVP of HR, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.


  6. "Executive Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great brand, people, and location

    Cons

    Lots of old school mentality

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the forward momentum!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    16 Mar, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  7. "Payroll Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were good, as well as vacation time earned per year of employmnet

    Cons

    The commute from out of town may be a deal breaker.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "good benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, Pennington Seed was a family run operation where the employees were treated equally. Room for advancement.

    Cons

    No negative information to give

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Pennington Seed has been part of Central for many years and we are happy to hear you enjoyed working there.


  9. Helpful (6)

    "A/R"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A/R Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Former Employee - A/R Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love working with numbers.

    Cons

    Managers are micro managers and the pay sucks. If your lucky you will get a 2% raise; but most people didn't get a raise or got 1%. Very unprofessional management. Worst company I've ever worked for in the past 30 years of employment. Be prepared to be looking for new employment within 3 months because the working environment took a nose dive in the last year I was there and my ex-coworkers say it's even worse now.

    Advice to Management

    YOUR FIRED!!!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    16 Mar, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry your experience with Central was not positive. If you would like to discuss your experience, please email recruiting@central.com.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, great management can get 401k even though part time

    Cons

    The pay isn't that great, I am making the same part time as I was full time

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  11. Helpful (5)

    "office worker"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jamesburg, NJ (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jamesburg, NJ (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    co-workers are great, 401k, health benefits

    Cons

    Pay scale is very low. Management belittles workers and has no respect for anyone. Several issues have been reported to Human resources in last 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    be respectful to the people that work for you. Making people cry is not good management!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to speak with our SVP of Human Resources, please email me at recruiting@central.com and I can connect you with her.


Showing 120 of 125 reviews
Reset Filters