Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 21 August, 2017
133 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet President and CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
21 Ratings

133 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great people, professional environment, always quick to help out if you need it (in 10 reviews)

  • They offer competitive pay and benefits (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Not a positive work environment with no business plan, no core values, and no growth plan (in 4 reviews)

  • And management has a tendency to patronize us lower-level employees (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "CG&P Has It Figured Out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for other successful large organizations and have never experienced the level of job satisfaction I have with Central Garden and Pet. They really understand the value of their employees and their contribution to the organizations success. While reaching company goals are imperative and key to the growth of this company, flexibility and the promotion of family work place balance are promoted at every turn. Responsiveness and professionalism of the corporate Human Resource team is unmatched and the drive to improve company culture seems to be a focus of upper management.

    Cons

    Several business divisions in this company so consistency in processes can be challenging.


  2. "Great company that fosters a familial environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Fairly competitive pay, job flexibility, growing company

    Cons

    Long and exhaustive interview process

    Advice to Management

    To risk losing good employees stay competitive with salaries and career latitude

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the advice - we are working hard to provide developmental opportunities for all employees. If you would like to share your feedback on our interview process, please contact me at... More


  3. "New employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Clerk in Irwindale, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Maintenance Clerk in Irwindale, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My experience here in the Breeders Choice Pet food Facility has given me a new home, All of my time here in since my hire date has been great, being a part of the team during this time in its growth and change to new machinery has been a great experience. I would not change anything.

    Cons

    I have not had any experiences that I would treat as a con for me with in my position. I have been treated fairly and with respect by all my superiors here.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Welcome to Central and keep up the great work!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work with Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great upper management. Team/family environment. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    They are still growing but that is also a pro!

    Advice to Management

    Management has treated me very well. They allowed me to pursue my passions outside of work while attending classes. They were always flexible when I needed time off. They treat you with respect and truly care about every employee. Linda Null and Gayle Lockerman are amazing leaders and I truly enjoyed my experience with Central Garden and Pet. The only reason I left was to pursue a completely different career which matches my schooling and my passions. Otherwise, I would have stayed.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review-we have some great people in Boise!


  6. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser
    Current Employee - Merchandiser
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    hours are great-plus no nights or weekends and paid Holidays.

    Cons

    It can be very repetitive and traffic is sometimes rough

    Advice to Management

    there needs to be a structured on boarding to ensure everyone has all the forms filled out correctly.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I would like to learn more about your onboarding experience - please contact me at recruiting@central.com.


  7. "Payroll Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Administrator in Santa Fe Springs, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Payroll Administrator in Santa Fe Springs, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone is really friendly and I love ❤️ the fact how pet friendly the whole environment is. Best benefits package I've had in a long time. Look forward to many more years at Central Garden and Pet.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Stay awesome and keep up the good work.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    So glad you are loving your job! Tell your friends - Central has a great Employee Referral program!


  8. "Regional Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Springfield, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Springfield, IL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great support from corporate, good benefits, and co-workers all willing to help. A true team atmosphere.

    Cons

    Lots of travel, however that was laid out initially and that is what i signed up for.

    Advice to Management

    Have new associates in the field with veterans first.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the advice about training new employees in the field - we will pass this on to the sales group.


  9. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great environment with friendly people. The work is new and challenging.

    Cons

    would like to have had vacation time up front instead of accrued.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback on your vacation. I will pass that along to HR.


  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Positive energy led by employees who greatly care about the best interest of the company. The management is great and I felt welcomed starting my first day.

    Cons

    Really have had no negative experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great leadership. I really enjoyed listening to our CEO present our investors deck. The company clearly is on good track.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I agree - it was exciting to learn about the strategies that our CEO is focused on to continue our growth!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Order Management Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Order Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Current Employee - Customer Order Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not busy work
    relaxed
    no dress code
    fun job duties when there is work

    Cons

    supervisors don't respect their teams, they talk down to you, and treat you like a child
    no work very slow
    teammates don't go out of there way to get to know you
    lots of gossip

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    18 Aug, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry you are having some issues in your job. Please contact me confidentially at recruiting@central.com and I can connect you with our SVP of Human Resources.


Showing 133 of 140 reviews
Reset Filters