Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 3 May, 2018
148 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet President and CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
28 Ratings

148 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great people, great job, hard working people (in 11 reviews)

  • Good pay and benefits, Pennington Seed was a family run operation where the employees were treated equally (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Not a positive work environment with no business plan, no core values, and no growth plan (in 4 reviews)

  • And management has a tendency to patronize us lower-level employees (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Everyone's opinion matters
    Collaboration between teams
    Fun culture and work environment

    Cons

    Extra hours necessary to get job done


  2. "Unbelievably bad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked for about 8 days. PRO would be to let you know not to work there. That's it!

    Cons

    Passed all training test with great scores. Didn't play the game well. I have honesty and integrity. They don't know the meaning. The 1st day I witnessed the trainer sending multiple messages to managers to get employees in trouble then going to those people and being phony to their faces. I was taken aside by my trainer after verbalizing about something I wasn't taught and aggressively told to never say that again. Was not allowed to take training manually home, finally did and realized only covered 1/2 the book after training. Told by management it takes 6 months to a year to learn the process and they encouraged training to the employees style. Next morning they let me go. Beware! I wondered why the company ALWAYS had jobs available. There it is.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty. 7 days is not close to 6 months to a year. Teamwork makes for a good company.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    27 Apr, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. We have a robust AP training program with a high success rate that we continually monitor. As part of the training, we make every effort to have the employee become... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Professional work environment inviting growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great employee morale and fun co-workers

    Cons

    Sometimes waiting for additional projects to get up and running

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    27 Apr, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    From my experience, very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    21 Feb, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great review!


  5. "Stacker in pottery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stacker In Pottery in Madison, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Stacker In Pottery in Madison, GA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Over time is great and I love the work I do and my boss Mr Jimmy is very understanding with alot of things going on

    Cons

    The people that work there are very disrespectful and don't want to help others when needed and do not know how to talk to others and are very negative about the work place

    Advice to Management

    Give discipline and proper consequences when needed even if it means termination and do not pick and choose or choose a friend over another employee

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    27 Apr, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to discuss your concerns with you. Please send your contact information to recruiting@central.com.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Schedule is easy. Work is easy

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care about anyone but themselves. Only way to move up in the company is to be buddy buddy with management.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees complaints. Turnover is very high. Should reflect on management at each facility

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    21 Feb, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry to hear your experience was not positive. If you would like to speak to Human Resources about your concerns, please email us at recruiting@central.com.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere, easy to talk to everyone, and very productive.

    Cons

    Not always up to speed with Technology in terms of data.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

  8. "Full Time Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ft Merchandiser
    Former Employee - Ft Merchandiser

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hours, paid time off, benefits, make own schedule.

    Cons

    No support from territory manager(s). Expect you to take on responsibilities of a manager without the pay. Workload. Years without any raises.

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees when they reach out for help.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not have a good experience. If you would like to speak to our SVP of Human Resources, please send an email to... More


  9. "Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    People
    Hours
    Pay
    Food
    Vending mschine and coke

    Cons

    Poor management
    Too much work

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    21 Feb, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    If you would like to speak with someone about your concerns, please email us at recruiting@central.com.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worth sticking with it through the tougher times a couple years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The people are amazing: genuine, caring, resourceful, and far less political than any other company I've worked for during my 25+ years as a working adult. Work-life balance is better than others in the industry. The CEO is the best change we've had in the 9 years I've been here--a true leader and values-oriented guy. And the products are ones I'm proud to use and to recommend to friends and family. The growth we've seen in the last two years is awesome, and there are LOTS of opportunities for those who work for them.

    Cons

    The company went through some challenging times about three years ago and lost some good people--some who have since returned. But there are still people griping about what happened three years ago.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the 401k match so more hourly employees participate.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the detailed review. Central has gone through some bumps in the past but we have learned from those and are better for it. Thank you for hanging in there during the tough times and... More


Showing 148 of 155 reviews
Reset Filters