Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships(in 13 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is a lot of belittling and down talking from Upper Management(in 7 reviews)

  • "No cons from my experience with Central(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "In a time of crisis they will screw you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Up until this last week I liked my job. It could be stressful but over all it wasn’t a bad place to work.

    Cons

    Your biggest question when job hunting from this moment on should be “how did you treat your employees during the Covid-19 crisis?”. CG&P did not go the extra mile for their employees. They cut hours to the bare minimum so we could “keep our health benefits” but since we still have to pay for those health benefits we are pretty much working for free. They tossed their hourly employees to the wolves.

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2020-03-24

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 25, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Central Garden & Pet deeply cares about each of our employees. Our priority during this unprecedented time remains the health and safety of our employees while we continue to work hard to fulfill our customers’ needs. Unfortunately, in some locations, we had to significantly adjust work schedules in accordance with the business needs as a result of the COVID-19 crisis. Our leadership teams have worked hard to implement creative schedules that would enable our employees to remain eligible for coverage under our health insurance programs. Our intent was to implement and offer schedules that will have the greatest positive impact on as many affected employees as possible during this difficult time. If you would like to discuss this situation in further detail, please contact our human resources department at recruiting@central.com.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent De Surface in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work independently. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some long hours. Physical work in the heat

    Central Garden & Pet2020-01-20

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "It’s a great starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships.

    Cons

    You will sell millions of dollars of product, but do not expect any kind of bonus, other than a “Good Job”.

    Central Garden & Pet2020-01-15

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review - we continually look for ways to reward our employees. If you have suggestions on what we can do better, please talk with your manager or HR.

    Continue reading
  4. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working schedule will allow for 7 days

    Cons

    401k, working with box store employees can be a challenge, no compensation for mileage.

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2020-01-07

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your comments. Our Garden Merchandisers receive an additional per hour amount to cover their mileage. Please talk to your manager or HR for an explanation of the program.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It was at a good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Payroll 

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was in walnut creek

    Cons

    Manager was hard to work with

    Central Garden & Pet2019-12-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry your experience was not more positive. If you have not shared your feedback with HR, I encourage you to do so.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good Mix of Large/Corporate and Small/Local Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most coworkers I work closely with are in the same office. Management is generous with dress code and taking time off. Everyone is generally friendly and the working atmosphere is good.

    Cons

    The company as a whole has a very dispersed hierarchy that makes the largest/enterprise projects (no matter how urgent or agreed-on) take more effort and longer to realize.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-12-09

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review. We continually work on ways to speed up the implementation of company-wide projects. Our matrixed structure poses challenges that we are aware of and work to mitigate daily.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    They help you if you don't understand

    Cons

    Very fast pass but keeps you busy

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2019-10-16

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. if you would like to discuss your suggestions for improvement, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing & Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are easy to talk to. Work life balance (to a degree)

    Cons

    Not a marketing company No merit increases despite achieving individual goals Lack of support for promotion and moves

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-25

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    As a clarification, all employees are eligible for annual increases based on their performance.

    Continue reading
  9. "bets work environment in distribution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    this is a very positive friendly work environment. everyone appreciates each other and helps motivate the team, a true team.

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-14

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Our managers work hard to keep a positive work environment for all employees!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced environment; enjoyable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Planner in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was extensive and very helpful. Hiring process is well thought out and flexible. HR extremely helpful during hiring process and always has an open door. Better than average benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing significant as of yet

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-10

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Welcome to Central! Some jobs take a while to learn - sounds like you are figuring it out!

    Continue reading
Found 196 reviews