Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 166 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is a lot of belittling and down talking from Upper Management(in 6 reviews)

  • "Senior management not willing to make the hard decisions to help company move forward(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Central has awesome benefits: tuition reimbursement and opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Need to invest more in technology

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Almost a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. Laid back. Just a handful of co-workers, really you could go the entire shift and not speak to anyone.

    Cons

    14 hour shifts... and mandatory OT?! Holiday season was horrible. They were asking us to work 16 hour shifts and I was night shift. I was not able to get enough rest. And only getting 2 days off working those ridiculous shifts was absurd. Managment didnt show any appreciation for the long hours we put in. No compassion or understanding. We arent robots. They also did not follow their own policies. I was late twice and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow your own company policies! You should also get to know your employees and be available more than just at the beginning of shift when you have your little performance talks and let folks know they have to work OT

    Central Garden & Pet2019-06-09

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    June 23, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback-it has been shared with leadership. If you would like to speak to Human Resources regarding your concerns, please send your contact information to recruiting@central.com.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Please be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Administrative Support - Pet Distribution in Fairfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    M-F 8 to 5 pm

    Cons

    please be careful. I had been with this company longer then I should had. There is a lot of belittling and down talking from Upper Management. When issues arise and office wanted to fix it.... upper management turned a blind eye to it. swept it under the rug until it was to late.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-06-25

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    July 15, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We have taken steps to address the situation you are referencing. If you would like to talk to someone in Human Resources please send your contact information to recruiting@central.com.

  4. "A great down to earth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. Great team atmosphere.

    Cons

    They seem to be going through some short term difficulties.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-04-18

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    June 23, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are continually growing and meeting challenges in our business.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Can you manage yourself and live in a lower cost of living area, this place is perfect for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, most of the winter is down time.

    Cons

    No upward momentum, no leadership or accountability, doesn't pay to cost of living. No development process or plans for increasing revenue or employees to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your Territory Managers that live in very expensive parts of the country, and celebrate their successes instead of rewarding incompetent managers and demotovate those who work hard.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-02-20

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    April 5, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry that your experience has not been positive. If you would like to be put in touch with your HR partner, please send an email to recruiting@central.com with your contact information.

  6. "Really great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Was a great company to work for and was sad to leave but had to for family reasons

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Central Garden & Pet2018-12-16

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    April 5, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Company is not recommended to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Picker/Packer in Fairfield, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work Monday through Friday and overtime.

      Cons

      I was discriminated against certain employees of a different color.

      Advice to Management

      Get your facts straight be for you decide to let an employee go.

      Central Garden & Pet2019-01-17

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      April 5, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

      If you would like to be put in contact with a senior level HR representative, please send an email to recruiting@central.com with your contact information.

    • "Amazing culture!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flat management Let you make decisions Supports ideas Willing to take chances REALLY care about employees Flexible on working from home periodically. Small company business model in a medium size company Very fiscally sound

      Cons

      Lean company Not a lot of resources (this has been a benefit for me)

      Advice to Management

      Create an Employee Stock Purchase Plan for all levels of management.

      Central Garden & Pet2018-12-08

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      June 23, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback. We have recently added a profit sharing bonus for many employees, along with increased the 401k match.

    • "Merchandiser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

        Pros

        Very easy work Decent pay Not tied down to an office

        Cons

        Have to do a decent amount of traveling

        Central Garden & Pet2018-11-05

        Central Garden & Pet Response

        November 5, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

        Thank you for writing a review about your employment experience. A merchandiser role is a perfect fit for those that want variety and don't mind driving to various stores.

      • "Sharp, Thorough, Efficient"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        - Interview process was expedient, with an interview agenda routed in advance and great communication throughout. - Received a lovely welcome package at home after accepting offer. - On-boarding was efficient, with clear communication and easy-to-follow process of reviewing and completing assigned tasks. - Team was welcoming and supportive, with thoughtfully guided on-boarding meetings and access to all the necessary...

        Show More

        Cons

        - Commute from Oakley/Brentwood area has gotten a lot worse lately, making the drive unfortunately longer than anticipated. - Corporate Environment - Business Professional with casual Friday; would benefit from a more casual atmosphere. - Would love to see the company embrace a more flexible work from home policy with teams so distributed across the Country.

        Advice to Management

        Continue to invest in digital and ecommerce resources and technology, and keep empowering the smart individual managers you have hired to successfully drive the business into the future of Garden & Pet commerce.

        Central Garden & Pet2018-10-23

        Central Garden & Pet Response

        November 5, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

        Thank you for taking a time to provide feedback on your interviewing, onboarding and employment experience! Your input has been shared with HR and leadership.

      Found 166 reviews