Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management not always engaged(in 9 reviews)

  • "The work environment is hostile and by that I mean cursing, throwing/grabbing items aggressively and loudly exclaiming about anything wrong being done(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Awesome Adjustment To Remote Work

      Mar 12, 2021 - Business Development Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Central is a traditionally "old school" company. When covid hit I was nervous how this would affect the work flow. Central has done an amazing job adjusting to the new world.

      Cons

      nothing I can think of. Promotion is up to you.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have all had to make adjustments over the past year and I'm happy to hear you are happy with how Central has adapted to this new way of working. Our CEO, Tim Cofer, has led us to a record year and continues to move the company forward.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Benefits

      May 14, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and profit sharing

      Cons

      Very systems heavy; corporate down

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      NJ Business Unit Needs an Intervention

      Feb 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Neptune, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to the beach and bagel Friday’s.

      Cons

      Can’t speak for the entirety of the company, only the NJ business unit pod, which manages the largest Dog and Cat brands, namely Nylabone, Four Paws and IMS Cadet. The Leadership perpetuates a culture where employees are not to be trusted. This in turn creates an environment with no morale where you will be stripped of basic privileges. You are watched from the time you clock in, how long of a lunch you take, where you park and how productive you are (they have tracking software installed in your machine and regular audits. They will question you on everything you click). Work from home is not permitted in any capacity with no exceptions, even bad weather. We were forced to come in many times during state of emergency (for snow and hurricane-level winds) in addition to being coerced into working at the office throughout COVID despite cases spreading in the office. Most employees lack necessary experience at all levels. There is no praise or appreciation for your work and teams are highly competitive against one another for no reason. You are not given the autonomy to manage anything in your role, and there is a lot of micromanagement and inability to try new things. The brands and products are mostly market leading so it was extremely disappointing to have the company end up being so toxic. Left before the one year mark because of how unhealthy it was to work there. They took a fantastic, fun industry and somehow made it miserable. I urge you to stay away, especially from any Marketing and eCommerce roles.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      At Central Garden & Pet, we are dedicated to creating a strong working culture that is motivated to achieve our company goals, while also helping our employees reach their personal goals and build lifelong careers. We’re sorry to hear that this was not your experience. The statements in your review do not accurately describe the culture of this location and contain some false information. Our New Jersey business has experienced explosive growth and relies on and rewards employees who have a desire to contribute to the organization. Without our talented and committed workforce, we would not be successful. In addition, we take the health and safety of our employees very seriously and have closed the facility when it has been unsafe for employees to travel to work or when COVID issues arose. If you would like to discuss these allegations with our head of Human Resources, please send an email to recruiting@central.com and you can be put in touch with her.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Grand

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is quite grand honestly

      Cons

      Maybe not as grand as they say though

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Hard work no real pay

      May 10, 2021 - Office Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have a job and get a measly paycheck.

      Cons

      Overworked. Underpaid. No appreciation. Only people getting money are higher ups sitting in pretty offices.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Run away fast!!!

      May 5, 2021 - Merchandiser in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to work for nothing I need a job then this is for you.

      Cons

      Terrible terrible company and pay for hard labor and having to breathe in chemicals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall unorganized and hostile environment

      Jan 29, 2021 - Merchandiser in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not many considering the culture is very toxic, management has no control and will curse you out. I almost witnessed a FIGHT!

      Cons

      Territory managers are always talking bad about the company and always put blame on each other, they are very unorganized and unprofessional. Most of them don’t even know how to do basic task, instead they depend on their merchandiser. They should lead out of example, get dirty and do the work so they can learn and teach. District managers are the same size if not worst, they always down talk the company and they encourage employees not to ask questions just do as they are told. This gives the impression that merchandiser should never have ideas or suggestions that will help sales, no growth! No leadership or guidance when it come to COVID-19 protocols and ways of staying safe, PPE is very rare. Last but not leased HR will ways be in favor of territory and district managers, the lower levels employees are treated like trash/replaceable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Your comments are concerning and not representative of the culture of Central or the expectations of our managers. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please contact us at recruiting@central.com to be put in touch with Human Resources.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work life balance is poor. Staffing is impossible

      Mar 22, 2021 - Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Honestly love my team, manager and all.

      Cons

      The position is grossly undercompensated for the responsibility and demand. The company makes great money, you don't.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Central is experiencing rapid growth in all of our business units and we recently acquired 3 new companies! Our approach is not to acquire a company and force change, but rather, learn the new company and have an integration plan that is logical for all parties. This takes time and effort but we have a great team at Central that makes this happen.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      If you want hours it’s here.

      Apr 28, 2021 - Order Picker in Grand Prairie, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of overtime and frequent breaks.

      Cons

      Extremely long days due to being short handed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our volume is up in many of our locations and overtime is required to keep up. Did you know we have a referral program? Refer a friend who gets hired and you can receive $500!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company!

      Apr 1, 2021 - Human Resources in Chilton, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, fun environment, great culture, and awesome benefits!

      Cons

      Like other companies we are short staffed in areas.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the positive review! Our HR team is top-notch and we are thankful for all of them!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 236 Reviews

    Work at Central Garden & Pet? Share Your Experiences

    Central Garden & Pet logo
    or