Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 247 of over 269 reviews

3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management not always engaged(in 9 reviews)

  • "The work environment is hostile and by that I mean cursing, throwing/grabbing items aggressively and loudly exclaiming about anything wrong being done(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Unlimited Career Opportunity

      Jul 12, 2021 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Central has been a wonderful company. The leadership is very invested in developing all employees. The CEO truly cares about everyone and welcomes new ideas and is passionate about our consumer, customer, and culture. I am so excited to be with a company who is loves to win, grow every day while being entrepreneurial.

      Cons

      Because Central has so many business units, it can take some time to navigate and learn the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Thank you for the review - we continue to work to keep Central a great place to work!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Sep 13, 2021 - Digital Content Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive salary, great employees, great culture.

      Cons

      Very hands-on work and old systems.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Thank you for the positive review - we continue to work to keep Central a great place to work!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Slat fr

      Sep 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome place to work very nice leadership

      Cons

      Idk why glass door makes me do this

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Thank you for the review - we continue to work to keep Central a great place to work!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Working with Central Pet & our customers within an assigned territory.

      Sep 9, 2021 - Retail Merchandiser in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working conditions are good, ac in the summer & heated in the winter. Most days are spent working independently, putting our products on the shelf & merchandising as well.

      Cons

      The $ hourly rate isn’t great..that’s about my only con. Solid benefit package helps ease the pain.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Thank you for the positive review r - we continue to work to keep Central a great place to work!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Progressive and Generous Company

      Aug 3, 2021 - Human Resources Generalist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always looking for ways to innovate and grow both in business aspects and in their employees. The company is continuously looking to be more sustainable and invest in their employees futures and continue to be competitive in the market.

      Cons

      I do not have any cons for the company at this time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Thank you for the positive review. We strive to keep Central a great place to work!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall an excellent entry level position

      Jul 31, 2021 - Territory Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leadership and consistent training to stay on top of product updates and sales program's.

      Cons

      No time for personal life. Some weekends need to be worked and late nights during busy times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      We are happy you have confidence in Central and our leadership and that you appreciated the trainings provided to help you advance in your career. We are sorry to hear that your schedule was not what you were expecting. While we try to be as open as possible about the anticipated hours of every position, sometimes, given the seasonality of our business, there are instances where it is best to set displays, merchandise and replenish inventory in stores during off-hours and weekends. Maintaining a work-life balance is important to us and we appreciate that you took the time to let us know that this was not your experience. We are committed to creating a healthy working environment and will be looking into how we can address this feedback.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall good job

      Jul 26, 2021 - Mercahndiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with with flexible work schedule.

      Cons

      Lots of down time in winter months.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      “Thank you so much for your sharing your feedback. As Central Garden is a very seasonal business with peak season being spring and summer, there could be rare instances in which there is some downtime during the winter months”

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Avg

      Jul 19, 2021 - Finance Director in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team atmosphere and entrepreneurial environment

      Cons

      Comp typically below market for role

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      At this level position, we strive to be competitive with our total compensation package.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good Company

      Jul 5, 2021 - Assistant Arborist in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Warm, everybody is kind, it is a great environment

      Cons

      Working hour is a bit long

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the kind review but I think you meant this for another company, as we don't have arborists in Hong Kong.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Jun 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room for advancement. Encouraged to improve skills and train. Good pay and great benefits

      Cons

      Communicationbarriers between departments. Lots of great older talent about to age out and retire without enough young talent to take over.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Central Garden & Pet Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the review - we continue to work to keep Central a great place to work!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 247 Reviews

    Work at Central Garden & Pet? Share Your Experiences

    Central Garden & Pet logo
    or