Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 24 March, 2017
117 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
George Roeth
12 Ratings

117 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • There are some great people working here (in 9 reviews)

  • They offer competitive pay and benefits (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • The upper management seems like it is only in it for themselves (in 5 reviews)

  • when there's a problem, no one takes responsibility, they try and shift the blame (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "IT Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet (More than a year)

    Pros

    Diverse business units
    Dynamic and innovative ideals

    Cons

    Chaotic and micro managed
    Central control yet diverse lack of control hard for IT and policies

    Advice to Management

    Empower your staff as good managers do.


  2. "Executive Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Great brand, people, and location

    Cons

    Lots of old school mentality

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the forward momentum!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    16 Mar, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  3. "Payroll Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were good, as well as vacation time earned per year of employmnet

    Cons

    The commute from out of town may be a deal breaker.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "good benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, Pennington Seed was a family run operation where the employees were treated equally. Room for advancement.

    Cons

    No negative information to give

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Pennington Seed has been part of Central for many years and we are happy to hear you enjoyed working there.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "A/R"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A/R Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Former Employee - A/R Specialist in Boise, ID (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love working with numbers.

    Cons

    Managers are micro managers and the pay sucks. If your lucky you will get a 2% raise; but most people didn't get a raise or got 1%. Very unprofessional management. Worst company I've ever worked for in the past 30 years of employment. Be prepared to be looking for new employment within 3 months because the working environment took a nose dive in the last year I was there and my ex-coworkers say it's even worse now.

    Advice to Management

    YOUR FIRED!!!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    16 Mar, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry your experience with Central was not positive. If you would like to discuss your experience, please email recruiting@central.com.


  7. "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, great management can get 401k even though part time

    Cons

    The pay isn't that great, I am making the same part time as I was full time

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  8. Helpful (3)

    "office worker"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jamesburg, NJ (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jamesburg, NJ (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    co-workers are great, 401k, health benefits

    Cons

    Pay scale is very low. Management belittles workers and has no respect for anyone. Several issues have been reported to Human resources in last 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    be respectful to the people that work for you. Making people cry is not good management!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to speak with our SVP of Human Resources, please email me at recruiting@central.com and I can connect you with her.


  9. "Future Perspective"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Transportation Manager in Attleboro, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Transportation Manager in Attleboro, MA (US)

    Pros

    This is a growing Company working to give investors a return on there money. Central Garden distributes a diverse blend of products for the outdoors and for the pets in your life.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons the Company is working hard to grow and offer returns on investment and build security for there employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the employee's well being as well as the customer's as they continue to expand product lines and grow.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The products we manufacture and distribute continue to grow!


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Territory Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager
    Former Employee - Territory Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are fine. Customers are very good to work with.

    Cons

    Terrible management and you can't trust HR. LOTS of favoritism. Frequent unfair work requirements, like working through the weekend with no comp time off and traveling on your own time. Also way more work than one person can complete.

    Advice to Management

    Start with getting an ethical HR person who supports all employees, not just management. Then take a long, hard look at employment practices.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to discuss your experience, please contact me at recruiting@central.com.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "The worst of the worst!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    discount to a local GYM

    Cons

    So far the worst place I ever work!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    2 Feb, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry that you are not happy with your job at Central. If there is something specific that you would like to discuss with our SVP of HR, please contact me at recruiting@central.com and I can ... More



Showing 117 of 122 reviews
Reset Filters