Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and company culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management turned a blind eye to it(in 7 reviews)

  • "No cons from my experience with Central(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    They help you if you don't understand

    Cons

    Very fast pass but keeps you busy

    Advice to Management

    Neebs some improvement

    Central Garden & Pet2019-10-16
  2. "bets work environment in distribution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    this is a very positive friendly work environment. everyone appreciates each other and helps motivate the team, a true team.

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-14

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Our managers work hard to keep a positive work environment for all employees!

  3. "Algona location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Strong work ethic. Transparency has increased, so it feels like there isn't as much favortism as in the past.

    Cons

    Communication between management and staff could use some improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Please improve communication. Sometimes there is confusion amungst the employees.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your insight. Communication can always be better and is something that we continually work on.

  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse culture with challenging workloads and opportunity to work in different areas of business.

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities due to the relatively smaller size of the organization.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-11

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review. Growth may be limited in smaller locations but with over 40 locations in the US, there are opportunities if people are willing to move.

  5. "Marketing & Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are easy to talk to. Work life balance (to a degree)

    Cons

    Not a marketing company No merit increases despite achieving individual goals Lack of support for promotion and moves

    Advice to Management

    Clean up shop and hold respective functional groups accountable

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-25

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    As a clarification, all employees are eligible for annual increases based on their performance.

  6. "Fast paced environment; enjoyable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Planner in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was extensive and very helpful. Hiring process is well thought out and flexible. HR extremely helpful during hiring process and always has an open door. Better than average benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing significant as of yet

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-10

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Welcome to Central! Some jobs take a while to learn - sounds like you are figuring it out!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Everyone seems to be here for short commute and good quality of life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Easy job. Pay is not bad. Everyone leaves on time. If you have given up on learning new and advancement in technology, this is the place for you!!

    Cons

    It is a public company, yet, the founder has all the votes, and his favorites stay in the high up positions. Bad mouthing and gossipping are almost encouraged here. Awful management. Back stubbing culture. 10 days of vacation for the first 5 years. Super old school. Business casual required except Friday. Paper, Paper, and Paper!!! Working remotely is probably decades away.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-24

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Central does offer a more traditional atmosphere but is full of good people who want to do good work and have balance in their lives. Our environment isn't for everyone and I hope that you have found a place that meets your needs.

  8. "Good Company - lots of layers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Hours and work life balance

    Cons

    company is separated by pet and garden upper management not always engaged lots of work with not a lot of time to complete

    Advice to Management

    Overall a good company to work for

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-04

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Yes, our company is made up of separate Garden and Pet businesses but we are all one team with a focus on doing the right thing.

  9. "Dedicated employees!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    At Central you're given interesting projects, stretch responsibilities and supportive management. We are a large company with a small/family company feel. Recent changes to our 401k matching contribution have been great! Our health insurance benefits are very competitive in terms of coverage and cost.

    Cons

    There have been changes recently in some leadership positions, but I am confident our Board and executive leadership will keep us right on track with our short and long term goals!

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We love hearing from happy employees!!

  10. "Employer dedicated to their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Representative in Gibsonton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Central Garden & Pet offers ample opportunities for growth and development along with promotional opportunities. This company is dedicated to its employees and pushes them to strive to be the best that they can be. Central Garden & Pet employees work collaboratively between different departments to make sure the company is reaching its greatest potential.

    Cons

    There is always room for growth and development opportunities no matter where you go.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-16

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 21, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review!

Found 189 reviews