Central Garden & Pet Merchandiser Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Merchandiser Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
5 Ratings
  1. "Good job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Management, very flexible, great for college students.

    Cons

    Can be boring at times

    Central Garden & Pet2018-09-05

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 19, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoy your job - I've never heard anyone describe a job at Central as boring though!

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Commack, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work whatever hours you want.

    Cons

    Very little pay for the intensity physical labor you have to do. You have to use your own car to drive from location to location. You will also have to deal with mouse droppings, rat droppings and bird dropping on a daily basis. High insurance premiums and high deductible. Raises are based on sales, if you do everything right all year round and your stores don’t have better numbers than last year you won’t get a raise....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like human beings and not just numbers that you can cut when you need to make a budget.

    Central Garden & Pet2018-06-24

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 19, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry to hear your experience was not positive. Please contact us at recruiting@central.com if you would like to discuss your complaints.

  3. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    hours are great-plus no nights or weekends and paid Holidays.

    Cons

    It can be very repetitive and traffic is sometimes rough

    Advice to Management

    there needs to be a structured on boarding to ensure everyone has all the forms filled out correctly.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-07-22

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 18, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I would like to learn more about your onboarding experience - please contact me at recruiting@central.com.

  4. "Merchandiser rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Insurance for family and full time.

    Cons

    Merchandise a store and manager comes in 4 to 5 days later to survey work.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-04-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, great management can get 401k even though part time

    Cons

    The pay isn't that great, I am making the same part time as I was full time

    Central Garden & Pet2017-01-10

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    February 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Promise anything to lure you in then deliver nothing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, lots of travel, good products, variety of projects to work on, lots of face to face interaction directly with clients

    Cons

    Poor regional management, disorganization on a corporate level, promises made at job offer ( like benefits and incentive programs ) don't always materialize or change at last minute.

    Advice to Management

    Don't offer incentive programs and then back out at the end of them. Need better communication between levels of management. Was told a position would be full-time year round only to be told later by higher management that the position was part-time year round, with no benefits and no vacation.

    Central Garden & Pet2016-11-15

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    December 7, 2016Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry your experience was not positive. If you would like to discuss your concerns offline, please contact me at recruiting@central.com and I will connect you with the appropriate person.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, and freedom to work the hours you choose.

    Cons

    Overtime is on an as needed basis and you very rarely get approved for over time.

    Central Garden & Pet2016-09-21

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    November 3, 2016Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our merchandisers are very important to the success of our business!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worked four years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    Great people. Very flexible. Able to create schedule around any issues you have. Etablished teams whom are very positive

    Cons

    Going in to on average 3 stores a day lifting fertilizer changer tiring but gives you a good workout. Having drama from Scott's

    Advice to Management

    Enjoy the flexibility and ability to make your employees happy. Happy employees equals productive employees which in turn nets in more profit

    Central Garden & Pet2015-04-06

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    We LOVE our merchandisers! Thanks for all of your hard work over the past four years.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Disorganized Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser 

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy work, make your own schedule, common sense work, people in the stores are friendly

    Cons

    no organization, no direction, low pay , even management doesn't know what is going on, crazy amount of paperwork for seasonal work

    Advice to Management

    Get a list of products your merchandisers are supposed to take care of.

    Central Garden & Pet2014-03-10
  10. "My experience has been great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, lots of overtime, and benefits

    Cons

    Requires a lot of driving

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Central Garden & Pet2013-09-04
Found 13 reviews