Central Garden & Pet Brand Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Central Garden & Pet Brand Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
0 Ratings
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse culture with challenging workloads and opportunity to work in different areas of business.

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities due to the relatively smaller size of the organization.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Small company feel - big company benefits - family oriented culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very supportive internally. Not competitive. Everyone wants you to succeed. Family is first. Small company - so you're expected to go outside the norms of your job... which I love as every day is different

    Cons

    Small company feel, but public company. Therefore, dynamic to corporate is sometimes stressed as they do not know (or do) the best thing for the business

    Advice to Management

    See cons - Invest in the business.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "401K restrictions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have one. Ask about company-wide participation.

    Cons

    All years I've worked here, I've been restricted to the amount of pretax income I can contribute to my plan. I can only contribute drastically less than the the full $17k.

    Central Garden & Pet2015-11-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Ship with no rudder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some staff are very kind

    Cons

    No growth, ever. Senior Management is continually fired or quits as a result of micromanagement of founder/chairman. Some very senior roles are occupied by drones looking over their shoulder. The rest are petty tyrants. Central never gives full bonuses to their management. Merit increases are 2 percent or lower. It's very difficult to motivate staff when they are given an A plus review and a D- salary increase.

    Advice to Management

    How about picking a strategy and sticking with it? How about joining the 21st century and have decent web sites for your products (or if that's too hard, the late 20th century)? How about running the company less like a medieval fiefdom and more like a contemporary publicly traded company? How about taking all the paperwork off the chairman's desk and giving it to the people that are skilled in making decisions... in their area of expertise? If adopted, any one of these suggestions could prevent the inevitable excuse during the annual shareholders meeting of, "We had a challenging year because of grain prices and weather conditions" delivered by the soup (CEO) du jour.

    Show More
    Central Garden & Pet2014-06-16
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Run as fast as you can AWAY from this company. DM's will fire you for being successful!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As long as you are of the "FAITH" you will fit in.

    Cons

    SPYING, LYING and downright dirty ways of running a company. If you do everything right your rewarded with being terminated without any warnings or negative write-ups EVER!!!

    Advice to Management

    You should realize that if it WORKS then you don't need to fix IT.

    Central Garden & Pet2013-12-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Monarchial corporate structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Brand Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who work here. Benefits are mediocre/less than mediocre but they are available. Great place to step your career into the right direction but only a stepping stone, no more than a year or two.

    Cons

    Not a positive work environment with no business plan, no core values, and no growth plan. The people who work here are really good people, but the management has 'ruled' in a way where no employee wants to make a decision. If one does make a decision and is wrong, they are basically shunned in front of the company. This didn't happen to me.

    Advice to Management

    Empower your employees to make decisions to grow the company.

    Central Garden & Pet2013-10-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Central Garden & Pet is not a place any forward-thinking, innovative, or creative person would enjoy working."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Central Garden & Pet did offer me the title I required to move up in the CPG world but that was about the extent to the pros of this company.

    Cons

    The lack of a consistent corporate strategy and vision of growth, innovation, and decision making skills make Central a disorganized, chaotic, and frustrating place to work. If you are an outgoing person who strives to grow in your position, grow your category, and enjoy the feeling of success, then Central is NOT the work environment for you.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a consistent corporate strategy and common vision of growth for both the Pet and Garden sides of the business that all business units and employees can be excited about. The dissatisfaction of senior management has negatively impacted morale, and has resulted in good people leaving or trying to leave the company.

    Central Garden & Pet2013-05-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Central Garden and Pet's pet division needs to figure out their strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multiple locations so depending on the function, you could find a Central location that is close to you

    Cons

    No exposure to the higher level strategy and company direction, lack of business ownership, strong level of micro management, unclear processes, lack of 360 feedback and clear actionable steps to help improve and develop

    Advice to Management

    More transperency with regards to growth strategy and the company direction

    Central Garden & Pet2012-08-28
Found 8 reviews